Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-13-2002, 01:43 PM   #1
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default Is there an EE in the house?

I dont exactly know where to put this, but it is performance and subaru related.

I need some help for a project I am working on. I need a simple circuit designed, but I dont know how to do it. If there is an EE or compE in the house that feels like giving me a hand, that would be great.

Feel free to PM or email me.

J
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 01:49 PM   #2
Chav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3269
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS Sedan STM
RSTi

Default

I'm a second year comp e and I might be able to help. Let me know what ur trying to do.

-Chav
Chav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 02:33 PM   #3
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default

any simple ckt or do you have one in mind?

Power Source
Ckt Protection device
Switch
Load
and Ground...

thats a simple series ckt just not illustrated.

Jay McDade
munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 03:21 PM   #4
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

sent you a PM chav

McDade, yep thats a circuit alright.

J
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 03:32 PM   #5
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default

you still didnt answer my question
munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 04:28 PM   #6
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

okay, what I am looking for a voltage clamp, but a clamp that keeps the voltage above a certain level.

It is for an ECU signal so it needs to be isolated and work with a 0-1V signal. I need the signal to stay above .4 V but free to send that analog signal above that point to the ECU.

J
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 04:47 PM   #7
tcs007
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4103
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Menasha
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
Reddish

Default

Jeff-
Let me know if and when you get this thing designed and built. It's the only thing stopping me from getting the you know what.
I'll also ask a buddy of mine if he can help out.
tcs007 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2002, 06:49 PM   #8
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

If it's a sensor that's referenced to ground you could lift the ground side and add a zener diode there, so the signal could never go below that value-
That might not do what you want though, I think it would also affect the signal voltage throughout the range-
Just thinking out loud here, not a real design engineer or anything, just know electronics 'n' stuff-
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2002, 01:39 AM   #9
edekker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 143
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Kanata, ON, Canada
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5RS
Supercharged - and STOLEN

Default

Jeffg,

Try this circuit –




The output shouldn’t go lower than +0.4V, but will track the input anywhere above that (limited by Bat. voltage).

Good Luck.
Regards,
Ed.
edekker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2002, 11:22 AM   #10
jeffg
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2958
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2001 WRX (GC8)

Default

will try out your circuit and let you know how it works.

J
jeffg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is there a biologist in the house? what is this magnified picture of? SjYankee006 Off-Topic 29 09-12-2009 04:13 PM
Is there an Electrician in the house? Home wiring help needed! Samirr76 Off-Topic 19 10-03-2005 08:02 PM
Is there a dentist in the house? CBoldman Off-Topic 3 09-29-2003 10:17 PM
Is there a Shiv in the house? cligedy STi Forum Archive 16 05-04-2003 09:47 AM
Is there a DR. in the House?Ratcheting Diffs tailout Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 2 04-16-2003 08:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.