Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday December 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2012, 09:11 PM   #1
Pakal967
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333750
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Eastern MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
silver

Default Need to reinstall AP map after dealer installed WQC-39 ECM update?

Heya,

Maybe a dumb question, but I've been running with AP's stage 1 map (and really happy with the difference over stock), when I took my '12 WRX in to the dealer today for unrelated stuff, they went ahead and installed the 'WQC-39' ECM update for some recall without my knowing.

Afterwards, I checked and my Accessport reports that I still have Stage1 93 MTv300 installed, but should I reinstall the map anyway to be sure? or need to worry about any conflicts with what the WQC-39 changed? From what I can tell, I don't need to worry but want to be sure I guess, so double-checking

Thanks,
- Steve
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Pakal967 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 09:46 AM   #2
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pakal967 View Post
Heya,

Maybe a dumb question, but I've been running with AP's stage 1 map (and really happy with the difference over stock), when I took my '12 WRX in to the dealer today for unrelated stuff, they went ahead and installed the 'WQC-39' ECM update for some recall without my knowing.

Afterwards, I checked and my Accessport reports that I still have Stage1 93 MTv300 installed, but should I reinstall the map anyway to be sure? or need to worry about any conflicts with what the WQC-39 changed? From what I can tell, I don't need to worry but want to be sure I guess, so double-checking

Thanks,
- Steve
Hi Steve. The dealership cannot overwrite the AccessPORT v2 install so while they may have attempted to do so, they would not be successful.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 10:37 AM   #3
Pakal967
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333750
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Eastern MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
silver

Default

Cool, thanks for replying so quick and the the weekend to boot!

Thanks,
- Steve
Pakal967 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 11:02 AM   #4
WRXLTD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 136314
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: A$$achusetts
Vehicle:
2014 Grand Cherokee

Default

You took your car to the dealership without UN-marrying your Cobb first?

WRXLTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 11:27 AM   #5
Pakal967
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333750
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Eastern MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXLTD View Post
You took your car to the dealership without UN-marrying your Cobb first?

Yep. Took it in for warranty/problem with the rear window defroster and an oil change, didn't know they were going to do anything else. From the sound of it, doesn't seem like the WQC-39 was that important.

Even so, I've decided not to try to hide anything from the dealer far as what I do with my car; each to their own on that though.

- Steve
Pakal967 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 09:37 PM   #6
hutch959
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 267463
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default

^^^ i like this.
hutch959 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 12:50 PM   #7
08Legacy-GT
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 325949
Join Date: Jul 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Default

Yea i'm not going to bother with it (running stage 2 map from perrin). I'm not overly concerned with emissions (especially with ****ty hondas in willimantic just spewing out oil and god knows what else).
08Legacy-GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:04 PM   #8
Dka67
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 296721
Join Date: Oct 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Montebello
Vehicle:
11 5door
SWP

Default

Deleted
Dka67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 07:42 PM   #9
silverboost0303
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83266
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Springfield, MA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Sedan
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bratte88 View Post
Yea i'm not going to bother with it (running stage 2 map from perrin). I'm not overly concerned with emissions (especially with ****ty hondas in willimantic just spewing out oil and god knows what else).
I'm in the same boat as the OP and am worried they're just going to do it without my knowledge. It may happen to you. My next oil change I may just unmarry it and let them do it. What a PITA this is...
silverboost0303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 11:39 AM   #10
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

With the version 2 AccessPORT (i.e. current version) installed, the dealership will not be able to do any kind of reflash of the ECU. You would have to uninstall the AccessPORT (via "Uninstall" menu) in order for them to be able to do the update.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:09 AM   #11
WRXLTD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 136314
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: A$$achusetts
Vehicle:
2014 Grand Cherokee

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post

With the version 2 AccessPORT (i.e. current version) installed, the dealership will not be able to do any kind of reflash of the ECU. You would have to uninstall the AccessPORT (via "Uninstall" menu) in order for them to be able to do the update.

Bill

Bill,

Any incompatibility issues with the current Cobb v3.10 tune and this new Subaru reflash?
WRXLTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 11:16 AM   #12
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXLTD View Post
Bill,

Any incompatibility issues with the current Cobb v3.10 tune and this new Subaru reflash?
You should not have any issues with re-installing the AccessPORT after the recall update has been performed.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:31 AM   #13
Pakal967
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333750
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Eastern MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
silver

Default

Yeah, I'm not sure the dealership actually installed this update successfully when I took mine in. After I saw in on my receipt, they told me they had done so, but AP still reported that I still had the stg 1 Cobb map installed. So, I'm not even sure they really did do this recall reflash or not. Since it seems a pretty minor update, I'm not too worried about it.

Just to be sure, I went ahead and reinstalled the stg 1 map anyway, no issues doing so whatsoever.

Very happy with the Cobb's stg 1 map btw, much nicer than stock, and awesome customer support with Cobb - even forum posts on holidays!?! Thanks again and hope you all have happy holidays!

- Steve
Pakal967 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 10:34 AM   #14
WRXLTD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 136314
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: A$$achusetts
Vehicle:
2014 Grand Cherokee

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobb Tuning View Post

You should not have any issues with re-installing the AccessPORT after the recall update has been performed.

Bill
Bill,

I was asking more of possible compatibility issues with the new Subaru reflash when running a Cobb v3.10 tune. Is it true whatever new Subaru reflashes on the ECU gets disabled once you re-install the Cobb tune? Does Cobb need to change their current v3.10 tune to compensate for this new reflash from Subaru?

WRXLTD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2012, 11:21 AM   #15
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRXLTD View Post
Bill,

I was asking more of possible compatibility issues with the new Subaru reflash when running a Cobb v3.10 tune. Is it true whatever new Subaru reflashes on the ECU gets disabled once you re-install the Cobb tune? Does Cobb need to change their current v3.10 tune to compensate for this new reflash from Subaru?

The particular coolant logic that is added with the recall is not present in our ECU image which was created prior to the recall. As such, re-installing the AccessPORT will "remove" that particular logic, although the AccessPORT will back-up the new recall image that you have and put it back on when you uninstall the AccessPORT.

In order for us to potentially update our software/firmware and maps for the recall, we first need a copy of the new recall ROM image for every car that is impacted (should be 2011-2012 WRX, STi, and FXT). If you've had the recall done, you can get us a copy of the recall image by re-installing the AccessPORT and then use the "Expose ECU Data" function under the "AccessPORT" menu on the AccessPORT while connected to the car. Use the AccessPORT Manager software to transfer the resulting .rom file from the AccessPORT to your computer. You can notify me in this thread or via PM and I'll give you an email address to send it to.

Until we have a copy of each one, we can't say how difficult this will be to add. It may be that the work involved is around the same level of work as adding new ECUs for software/firmware/maps - which would be a massive effort for 6 ECUs. We would have to weigh the benefits vs. cost of adding it, if that is the case.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.