Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Texas Impreza Club
Texas Impreza Club Forum sponsored by Gillman Subaru Houston
and Gillman Subaru San Antonio
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-10-2013, 01:10 PM   #1
T-dub
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 244480
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
'07 WRX TR
CGM

Default Garage lift questions

Has anyone in TXIC ever put a lift in their home garage? I am about to build a house and I am trying to spec out the garage so that it can accommodate a lift in the near future. I have decided on a two post, rotary lift. It seems like 12' ceilings would be needed (or maybe 15'?)along with a minimum of 4" of slab. I'll probably go with the 110V pump. Is there anything else that I am forgetting to account for?

Does anyone know companies that do installation around Houston?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by T-dub; 01-10-2013 at 01:53 PM.
T-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 01:37 PM   #2
iconone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 174883
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Clear Lake Texas
Vehicle:
2005 CGM WRX
2006 Yamaha R1

Default

Jbsteven line one. Jbsteven line one.
iconone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 02:07 PM   #3
RichardM
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39915
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sachse, TX
Vehicle:
2007 Legacy GT

Default

Put in some extra 220V circuit breakers so you can have a welder later. Plan for a drill press maybe. Also make sure you get a fire alarm sensor in the garage.

A lift will work with a 10' ceiling if you are careful.
RichardM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 02:42 PM   #4
T-dub
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 244480
Join Date: Apr 2010
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
'07 WRX TR
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichardM View Post
Put in some extra 220V circuit breakers so you can have a welder later. Plan for a drill press maybe. Also make sure you get a fire alarm sensor in the garage.

A lift will work with a 10' ceiling if you are careful.
If I'm honest, careful is not an adjective that many people would use to describe me.

Last edited by T-dub; 01-10-2013 at 02:58 PM.
T-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2013, 09:04 PM   #5
aggarcia
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 330146
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Texas
Vehicle:
2013 STI Limited
WRB

Default

The lift specs will tell you how much clearance is needed. Lifts with the cables between the posts need less height than the ones where the cable the go over an support attaching both posts. Most lifts are 220V. There are companies that will install your lift. When I was in the restoration business I installed or moved the lift three times. Having them install or move a lift was the best money I spent.

AG
aggarcia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 08:27 PM   #6
junebugfareast
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167468
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: H-Town
Vehicle:
2004 STI
White-ish

Default

Make sure the garage bay is wide enough. Min width on mine was about 135". 12' will do it but I went 13'.

I had the vendor come down from Dallas to install mine. When I heard the shipping weight on the lift, I said screw it and let them do it.

Best investment I ever made.
junebugfareast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2013, 10:37 PM   #7
txjunglist
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11926
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Allen, Tx
Vehicle:
2011 Outback Limited
Dark Grey

Default

if its a 2 post you must have at least 4 inches of concrete for the bases to be anchored to. I used to install them . bad stuff happens if there is less. this is often overlooked. just my .02

Q:
What are the concrete floor requirements of my lift?


A:
2-post lifts (under 12,000 LB. capacity):
Four (4) inches of concrete at 3000 PSI
12,000 pound two-post lifts (and higher capacity):
Six (6) inches of concrete at 3000 PSI is required.
txjunglist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 08:02 AM   #8
jbsteven
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158541
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: THE Joe Dirt
Default

I don't know much about concrete stuff for 2 posts. 4 post lifts don't need any extra thickness concrete.

you can get away with 10 feet of height, everything over that is icing.
jbsteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2013, 04:22 PM   #9
Squidz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 142608
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Cute fuzzy cuddly kitten hell.
Vehicle:
2003 Sonic Yellow
Marginally well behaved.

Default

Just finished spec'ing out the garage for my lift in the new house (they break ground next week).

You want at least 13' inside height. You could get away with as little as 10'...but why put a lift in if you can not lift it all the way? you need 12' wide to clear the posts and have room for the controls on one of them. I added a 3rd car garage with a tandem to my house plan when we spec'ed it out. Just make sure the additional garage space is 12' wide. If you put the lift into a standard size garage, which is usually 18-20' wide, the lift will overlap into the second garage space a bit and make it hard to get into and out of the cars.

Just let your builder know what you are doing...and they will accomodate you. It was pretty easy once i had the lift picked out for the builder/architect to draw up the third garage space to fit the equipment perfectly.

Standard new construction foundation is 4" thick minimum...so no worries there. However, you do have to be aware of where the cables that they stretch through the foundation are...you certainly do NOT want to hit one of those things when you drill into the concrete for your anchors. Simply ask the builder and they will gladly mark the locations for you.
Squidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 07:23 AM   #10
jbsteven
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158541
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: THE Joe Dirt
Default

no anchors are needed for 4 post lifts.
jbsteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 09:39 AM   #11
Wagaru
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 169297
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Vehicle:
1996 Impreza Coupe
96 LSi Sedan/97 Outback

Default

Yeah if you don't mind it slowly sliding into the back wall. Anchor it.
Wagaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 10:09 AM   #12
Squidz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 142608
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Cute fuzzy cuddly kitten hell.
Vehicle:
2003 Sonic Yellow
Marginally well behaved.

Default

Sorry, i thought the OP said he wanted a 2-post.
Squidz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:41 PM   #13
aggarcia
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 330146
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Texas
Vehicle:
2013 STI Limited
WRB

Default

OP stated 2 post lift. Nothing was mentioned about a 4 post unit.

A 4 post unit is pretty unless for working on cars unless you are only working on the exhaust or changing the oil.

AG
aggarcia is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:53 PM   #14
jbsteven
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158541
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: THE Joe Dirt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wagaru View Post
Yeah if you don't mind it slowly sliding into the back wall. Anchor it.
Never had a problem with mine moving.
jbsteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:54 PM   #15
jbsteven
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158541
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: THE Joe Dirt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aggarcia View Post
OP stated 2 post lift. Nothing was mentioned about a 4 post unit.

A 4 post unit is pretty unless for working on cars unless you are only working on the exhaust or changing the oil.

AG
Jack tray fixes that problem.

Just relaying my experience on 4 post lifts.
jbsteven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.