Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2012, 05:42 PM   #1
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default 2002 ECU in 2004 WRX Carberry Precursor 0.00 volts. Please help!

Random, random question...

I'm trying to set my car up for carberry ultimately. I don't have the tgv deletes at the moment and I'm putting in a built motor in the next week or 2. Thus I don't want to completely load carberry because it will not work until I use the TGV deletes. May be irrelevant but a necessary bit of info.

I'm trying to get this ecu in and just replace the tables with the ones from my current tune (maf tune). I can work it out from there (assuming it works). I've used jumper wires on the flash block and the test connectors are connected and working. I've checked it twice with my old ecu and I can write maps and crank the car. No problems.

With this 02 ecu though... I can read the LV and also read the entire map with ECUflash. I just can't write to it! I get the following output:

[17:27:05.640] J2534 API Version: 04.04
[17:27:05.640] J2534 DLL Version: 0.50.2598 Jun 26 2009 15:02:29
[17:27:05.640] Device Firmware Version: 1.10.3020
[17:27:08.421] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[17:27:09.656] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[17:27:10.890] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[17:27:12.125] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[17:27:13.359] denso02_bootloader_cmd_start
[17:27:13.781] kernel get version
[17:27:13.796] found oecu kernel!
[17:27:13.796] kernel already resident - skipping kernel load
[17:27:14.000] kernel get version
[17:27:14.015] kernel version is : OpenECU Subaru HC16 Kernel V1.06
[17:27:14.015] reading kernel comm buffer size
[17:27:14.031] comm buffer size set to 512
[17:27:14.031] reading kernel flash buffer size
[17:27:14.031] flash buffer size set to 4096
[17:27:14.031] -- flashing image to ECU memory --
[17:27:14.437] -- comparing ECU flash memory pages to image file --
[17:27:14.437] seg start len ecu CRC32 img CRC32 same?
[17:27:14.765] FB01 00000000 00004000 19358932 9E7D9C31 NO
[17:27:15.078] FB02 00004000 00004000 7FEB9078 8F606882 NO
[17:27:15.406] FB03 00008000 00004000 C949D99B 0216DE1B NO
[17:27:15.718] FB04 0000C000 00004000 A7B2322D D3FE83A7 NO
[17:27:16.046] FB05 00010000 00004000 F6AE956A 3ED4232E NO
[17:27:16.359] FB06 00014000 00004000 92ED48B7 9B898AB6 NO
[17:27:16.687] FB07 00018000 00004000 56326D4C 939D0A27 NO
[17:27:17.000] FB08 0001C000 00004000 1675D4F1 C58ED7E8 NO
[17:27:17.328] FB09 00028000 00004000 FAD7363A A033E210 NO
[17:27:17.640] FB10 0002C000 00004000 20EA7AF5 34E6EF09 NO
[17:27:17.953] reading ecu programming voltage
[17:27:17.968] programming voltage is 0.00 volts
[17:27:17.968] programming voltage is out of range!
[17:27:17.968] interface close
[17:27:17.984] interface close

Any advice is so greatly appreciated.. Is it a bad ecu? If so, why would it let me read and not write? I've also bought some wiring to do the 12v fix from another source (good or bad? which wire would I jump it to since the flash blocks are different from the 02 to the 04)? Just trying to see if anyone has ever seen this before. Please help!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 04:33 AM   #2
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Bump! Anyone?
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:32 AM   #3
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Are you using a genuine Tactrix cable or a cheap VAGCOM knock off? The ECU isn't bad,you just are not getting any voltage for flashing. FYI I am pretty sure you can flash the Carberry ROM straight to your 04 ECU.
quazimoto is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:45 AM   #4
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quazimoto View Post
Are you using a genuine Tactrix cable or a cheap VAGCOM knock off? The ECU isn't bad,you just are not getting any voltage for flashing. FYI I am pretty sure you can flash the Carberry ROM straight to your 04 ECU.
It's a Tactrix 2.0. Where should I send the voltage? I've checked the voltage at both jumper wires and I'm getting 4-5 volts on both. I'm almost certain that the 04 usdm ecu will not support carberry but I could be wrong. Thanks for the response!
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 08:49 PM   #5
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Evening bump! I've tried jumping 12v to both lines on the flash block. No luck there. Also tried jumping 12v to the black/white wire on the obd2 port per another thread I read. Still telling me 0 volts. Any help is greatly appreciated!
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:22 AM   #6
Carbibbles
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 292996
Join Date: Aug 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: South Bend, IN
Vehicle:
02 wrx

Default

Are you able to flash a standard MAF rom to the 02 ecu? Also make sure your flash block jumper wires are making good contact.
Carbibbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 11:35 AM   #7
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carbibbles View Post
Are you able to flash a standard MAF rom to the 02 ecu? Also make sure your flash block jumper wires are making good contact.

I'm not able to do that . That's what I've been trying to do all along. I'm trying to get a maf/standard tune on the wrx so that I can drive it for the next few weeks until I can install my new motor. Still no luck. I've checked the flash block but I'm only getting 5v there. I'm assuming it doesn't matter for the 04/05 ecu because it flashes every time.

I've read using a jumper wire from a 12v source should do it but I've tried to both wires to the flash block but still nothing. Still giving me zero volts. I'm tempted to go through the pinout on the ecu then sending it directly there when the ignition is on.

I've seriously found very little to nothing on this problem. People usually get whatever their voltage is at the flash block (mine is 4.5-5v) but my ecuflash reading is still 0.00... I can't tell if it's pulling this number from the ecu or from the obd port. I would assume the wires are connected to the same place on the ecu.

Maybe it's a bad ecu? I just wouldn't think that I could read the image perfectly, read the learning view, and test write. Just doesn't make sense.

Regardless, thanks for your response!
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 02:46 PM   #8
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ed@fastperformancetuning.com
Vehicle:
02 billet crank
pauter rods, pt5857, E85

Default

That ecu is a plug and play for an 04 wrx. Your voltage should be in the 12 volt range. Make sure you jumped the correct four wires across the jumper block. They jump up and down and not side to side. Recheck all your plugs to the ecu for any fubars there.

Btw, the carberry won't flash to an 04 up ecu because the flash method is different.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 03:01 PM   #9
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastblueufo View Post
That ecu is a plug and play for an 04 wrx. Your voltage should be in the 12 volt range. Make sure you jumped the correct four wires across the jumper block. They jump up and down and not side to side. Recheck all your plugs to the ecu for any fubars there.

Btw, the carberry won't flash to an 04 up ecu because the flash method is different.
That's what I was thinking. I've checked all of that. I'm not getting 12v at the flash block. The troubling thing is like I said above: the 04 ecu will plugin and reflash with no problem. Where as the 02 tells me there's no voltage at all. If I check the flash block. I'm getting 4-5 volts on both connecting wires. Checked the ecu pins. Connected and reconnected the ecu just to be sure. Still no resolution.
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 08:56 PM   #10
bebesito21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176128
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I <3 E85
Vehicle:
5862 ...baby boosted

Default

^bump. We tried his ecu in my car today. I have an 02 ecu running car berry and flashing just fine. We put his ecu in my car and get the same 0.00 volt issue. With my ecu it works fine. My bet is his ecu is bad.
bebesito21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 09:22 AM   #11
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

After last night I've realized that the rom size on the ecu is 160kb. How this is possible, I'm not sure. I received the ECU this way ... I've pulled the stock ecu from Romraider. It will not flash up. If I pull the map from the ECU, it opens fine in ECUflash but if I try to open it in Romraider it throws errors. Specifically that it's missing tables.

I've been told that it could be my cable. Although, working with the 04 ecu, I will test this.
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 10:24 PM   #12
unknown001
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 156326
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Mobile
Vehicle:
2011 RA
03 bugiftw for the track

Default

Are you using the latest version of Ecuflash? Some issues with voltage errors were solved in this latest build. I experienced something similiar with an 03 ecu in an 05 and using 1.44 fixed it.
unknown001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 11:22 PM   #13
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by unknown001 View Post
Are you using the latest version of Ecuflash? Some issues with voltage errors were solved in this latest build. I experienced something similiar with an 03 ecu in an 05 and using 1.44 fixed it.
That's another lead! I'm running 1.42.2595. I checked the cable. No dice there. Still can't flash. 0.00 voltage. I'll test updating the software this weekend. That would be awesome if it fixed my issue.

Thanks for the input. It's greatly appreciated.
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 06:36 PM   #14
WRick
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86107
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: 10% REAL FRUIT JUICE
Default

the 04 wrx ecu WILL BRICK if you try to flash ( successfully I imagine ) CB on it...
WRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2013, 07:57 PM   #15
bebesito21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 176128
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: I <3 E85
Vehicle:
5862 ...baby boosted

Default

^not at all what he's doing
bebesito21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 02:53 PM   #16
jthatch12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321715
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly/SJ
Vehicle:
03 Big 16G WRX
PSM

Default

Is an 02 ECU plug and play with 04? My initial thought would be no. The flash block isn't even similar. The 03 and 04 ECU flash blocks are identical. I'm not an expert at this but this would be my initial question OP
jthatch12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:31 PM   #17
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthatch12 View Post
Is an 02 ECU plug and play with 04? My initial thought would be no. The flash block isn't even similar. The 03 and 04 ECU flash blocks are identical. I'm not an expert at this but this would be my initial question OP
02-03 do share the same ecu even though the flash blocks are different.
You can install an 02-03 into an 04-05 and flash it.
Nuke209 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:33 PM   #18
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthatch12 View Post
Is an 02 ECU plug and play with 04? My initial thought would be no. The flash block isn't even similar. The 03 and 04 ECU flash blocks are identical. I'm not an expert at this but this would be my initial question OP

I'm pretty sure they should be but you bring up a great question. As long as the car goes into test mode and the ecu sees that it's in test mode it should work. I've seen several run this setup without an issue w/ the flash block but that was my initial thought.

Thanks for the reply. I may check out the flash block setup as opposed to an 02 setup. Still think it's a bad ecu.
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:33 PM   #19
WRXt4cy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 172698
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Des Moines, IA
Vehicle:
11 STi Dom_3.5 E85
02 v8 Spec C E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jthatch12 View Post
Is an 02 ECU plug and play with 04? My initial thought would be no. The flash block isn't even similar. The 03 and 04 ECU flash blocks are identical. I'm not an expert at this but this would be my initial question OP
I think it should be but I've been wanting to confirm this myself. The 03 WRX's use the same 4 pin flash plug that 04/05 WRX's use but all the 03's I've encountered have ECU's that identify as 02 WRX.
WRXt4cy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:33 PM   #20
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuke209 View Post
02-03 do share the same ecu even though the flash blocks are different.
You can install an 02-03 into an 04-05 and flash it.
Awesome. Thanks for clearing that up.
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2013, 03:38 PM   #21
jthatch12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321715
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly/SJ
Vehicle:
03 Big 16G WRX
PSM

Default

Learn something new everyday
jthatch12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 03:55 PM   #22
DZXN
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 306186
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Costa Mesa
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX
PSM

Default

Have you tried the mad mod on the VagCom? It will get the voltage to the ECU. http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...&postcount=190
To get power to the ecu you will need to jump the pins inside the cable at the ODB end. It is shown in the pictures, the white wire from 2 to 9 and 1 to 7 if i remember correctly. The 02 ecu is kinda a pain.
DZXN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2013, 04:25 PM   #23
kaleonearth
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 274436
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampa, FL
Vehicle:
2011 STI
Grey

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DZXN View Post
Have you tried the mad mod on the VagCom? It will get the voltage to the ECU. http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...&postcount=190
To get power to the ecu you will need to jump the pins inside the cable at the ODB end. It is shown in the pictures, the white wire from 2 to 9 and 1 to 7 if i remember correctly. The 02 ecu is kinda a pain.

I have a tactrix op 2.0 but I do have a spare bfm cable I could try this with. Thanks for the suggestion I'll probably try it!
kaleonearth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.