Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 07:24 PM   #1
chris07sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 177312
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Aspen white

Default GoPro for dash cam

First off, I know I am probably not the first to ever do this, nor do I think this is perfect, but it works for me. I have wanted a dash cam due to the obvious reasons trending on the dash cam threads but realized after researching that they are all pretty cheap quality and often times overheat, stop working, do not recognize SD cards, etc., unless you spend $250-$300. I already had the GoPro Hero 2 laying around and figured I could save money for a little inconvenience (lack of loop recording). I started playing around with using my GoPro as a dash cam and realized the only thing that bothers me is having to reach up and push the button to start/power/record every time. Then I came across the WiFI BacPac. I purchased it for $50 off of Amazon and downloaded the free GoPro APP on my iphone. I can now have complete control of my GoPro from my phone. I can power on/off, record, preview what the camera is looking at, and change any settings you want. You can also delete video clip from your phone instead of hooking it up to the computer. This was my work around for loop recording. Just thought I would share the steps I took for completing this. In the future I may hardwire the GoPro so that I never have to charge it.


1. All the pieces I used


2. Connect WiFi BacPac to the Go Pro and Update.




3. Go into wifi settings on GoPro and select phone/tablet.


4. Go into phone settings and select the GoPro


5. Now you can open the GoPro App and play with the preview and settings. Go to Up/down and switch it to down.











* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
chris07sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:26 PM   #2
chris07sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 177312
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Aspen white

Default

6. Swap out the backside of the GoPro with the new one (larger)






7. I used this mount that had double sided tape to mount to the windshield instead of a large suction cup. Just personal preference.




8. Put together ready to install on the windshield. You can see why you had to go into settings and change it to "down", since the camera will be upside down when mounted.







9. Figure out where you want it on the windshield






Its really easy to install and most people wouldn't need any step by step. But this just shows the tips and settings I used. Once again, it does not loop record or start automatically when car is started. But I saved myself money bought and purchased the wifi Bacpac that I can use for multiple things.
chris07sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:33 PM   #3
jamal
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 71875
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Montana
Vehicle:
98 2.5GT
my wheels fit

Default

That makes me want the wifi thing. Changing settings looks so much easier.

They also have phone apps meant for this. I have one called dailyroads voyager that uses the g-sensor to detect when to save video (or you can press a button). Otherwise it just does a loop and continually overwrites the old stuff.
jamal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 07:55 PM   #4
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

A Contour camera would make for an even better camera than a gopro. better form factor, and it does have a one-button start record.

Sadly both pieces of crap, don't support continuous recording nor auto on/off with 12V power. I say piece of crap lightly only because my first request would be simple to implement, the 2nd would not be, requiring hardware.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 08:06 PM   #5
BigRob74
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 305107
Join Date: Dec 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2012 wrx
360/386 E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamal View Post
That makes me want the wifi thing. Changing settings looks so much easier.

.
yup. i think i am ordering mine tonight..lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by teiva-boy View Post
A Contour camera would make for an even better camera than a gopro. better form factor, and it does have a one-button start record.
you can change the setting in the gopro for one touch recording as well
BigRob74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:46 PM   #6
chris07sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 177312
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Aspen white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jamal View Post
That makes me want the wifi thing. Changing settings looks so much easier.

They also have phone apps meant for this. I have one called dailyroads voyager that uses the g-sensor to detect when to save video (or you can press a button). Otherwise it just does a loop and continually overwrites the old stuff.
I thought about using an app, but wanted more of a dedicated camera. I also didnt want the battery draw on my phone. the wifi thing is definitely easier to adjust settings on the fly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigRob74 View Post
yup. i think i am ordering mine tonight..lol



you can change the setting in the gopro for one touch recording as well
i recommend the wifi pac even if you dont use it like i did, it has many uses. and like you said there is onetouch recording on the gopro.


I am thinking about hardwiring, and does anyone know if there is a hardwire kit, or can if I can just use the USB plug. If you would please provide some insight. thanks
chris07sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:10 AM   #7
WREXMachina
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 275929
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teiva-boy View Post
A Contour camera would make for an even better camera than a gopro. better form factor, and it does have a one-button start record.

Sadly both pieces of crap, don't support continuous recording nor auto on/off with 12V power. I say piece of crap lightly only because my first request would be simple to implement, the 2nd would not be, requiring hardware.
Go pros were never meant to be dash cams. They are for recording action sports and sticking cameras where they usually can't go, for a reasonable price.

For the cost of a go pro, used or not, you can get a very competent dash cam with automatic overwriting, and auto recording start and stop via a switched power source. The more complicated it is to start and stop recording, the greater odds you won't be using it during the one time you need a video recording.
WREXMachina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 08:34 AM   #8
STiHokie48
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207736
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
05 Matte WRB STi
Honda CBR600F2

Default

I use my Iphone for a dash cam. Downloaded the app called "Witness" and have a mount that holds my phone so the camera is facing right over the hood scoop. Also have a charger routed up behind the CD Player and comes out through the clock pod. The app records in 10 minutes segments, and it saves 10 segments at a time and just continues to overwrite the oldest ones. If anything happens, you just click save and it saves the current clip. It also keeps track of your speed and G-forces.
STiHokie48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:40 AM   #9
chris07sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 177312
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Manhattan, KS
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Aspen white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WREXMachina View Post
Go pros were never meant to be dash cams. They are for recording action sports and sticking cameras where they usually can't go, for a reasonable price.

For the cost of a go pro, used or not, you can get a very competent dash cam with automatic overwriting, and auto recording start and stop via a switched power source. The more complicated it is to start and stop recording, the greater odds you won't be using it during the one time you need a video recording.
This is true, for the price you definitely can get a decent dash cam. However, I already had a GoPro and didnt want to spend 250-300 on a good dashcam.

Quote:
Originally Posted by STiHokie48 View Post
I use my Iphone for a dash cam. Downloaded the app called "Witness" and have a mount that holds my phone so the camera is facing right over the hood scoop. Also have a charger routed up behind the CD Player and comes out through the clock pod. The app records in 10 minutes segments, and it saves 10 segments at a time and just continues to overwrite the oldest ones. If anything happens, you just click save and it saves the current clip. It also keeps track of your speed and G-forces.
This is the app I tried, it works pretty good. But I didnt like the fact it doesnt have a wide angle.
chris07sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 02:13 PM   #10
WREXMachina
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 275929
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris07sti View Post
This is true, for the price you definitely can get a decent dash cam. However, I already had a GoPro and didnt want to spend 250-300 on a good dashcam.



This is the app I tried, it works pretty good. But I didnt like the fact it doesnt have a wide angle.
If you aren't hard up for GPS and accelerometer readings, you can get on for about $60. 1080 recording, auto on and off, and auto overwriting of files (fills up the card and then deletes the oldest file).

I have a go pro and love the hell out of it, but they really don't make good dash cams.
WREXMachina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 03:20 PM   #11
Ricoculus Prime
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 241784
Join Date: Mar 2010
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Sedan
DGM

Default

I have a GoPro that I've used as a dash cam a few times. I also have my phone mounted on my dash near my steering wheel. When the wifi bacpac app finally came out I thought it would be perfect for me because of where my phone is placed. It is, IF I don't have a need for a data connection on my phone at time.

Driving around my hometown, phone connected to the GoPro via wifi, I was fine. Everything worked. When I was out of town recently I had my GoPro mounted to the windshield of my rental car to record me driving up to and over the Golden Gate Bridge. With the phone connected to the bacpac I found that I wasn't able to use my phone's nav or any data features.

That's just something I didn't think of until it happened to me. I solved it by stopping, loading the wifi bacpac app onto my company iphone, while using my android phone for navigation.
Ricoculus Prime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 12:22 AM   #12
shahabshaukat
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 343446
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Loxahatchee, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Blue

Default

Great thread, I will now put my old go pro to work!
shahabshaukat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:57 PM   #13
tmburke
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342345
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn & SW CT
Vehicle:
2008 WRX Hatch VF-52
SSM

Default

It wouldn't be that hard for GoPro to write a firmware add-on that does this, would be a great feature
tmburke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.