Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday September 3, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
New England Subaru Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2012, 09:46 PM   #1
bighappyblocker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331807
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westfield
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default Cobb Access port

Hey I have a question.

I have an 04 WRX with a catless invidia downpipe that will not pass inspection due to it throwing a Check Engine Light for an o2 sensor.

I was told that if I get a Cobb AP I can just map it to stage 2 and it will be fine the CEL won't get thrown anymore (which would let me pass inspection hooray)

So here's my question can I use someone else's AP or do I need to buy my own to make it work. Also if you can use it on more than one car does anyone have have one I can use?

Thanks in advance
-Ed
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bighappyblocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:49 PM   #2
robitrice1921
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 254569
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: N. Central MA
Vehicle:
2005 LGT
Blue

Default

gotta buy ur own that is not married too another car. if you can get to a local tuner they could shut the code off as well
robitrice1921 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 09:55 PM   #3
bighappyblocker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331807
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westfield
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default

So marriage lasts forever meaning you can't get a divorce(unmarriage?) but I've seen used ones for sale
And do you know the general rate for a tune for just that code being gone forever?
bighappyblocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:15 PM   #4
BlazeRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 268354
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
02 WRX 05 LGT
Slow Automatics

Default

You should really have a full tune done or buy an accessport. With an accessport, it installs and uninstalls (marries, unmarries) from one car at a time. Meaning it can be used to program only one car, until the program is taken off the original car, which only then it can be used program another.

I wouldnt recomend you drive catless without a full tune for it.
BlazeRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2012, 10:34 PM   #5
bighappyblocker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331807
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westfield
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default

Okay it came catless from the dealer but I have the stock downpipe... I'll bring it back tomorrow to have it swapped back they already said they would in the meantime I save up for an access port before reinstalling the catless I have unless you think I should just get a full tune over an access port (Sorry for formatting I switched to my phone)
bighappyblocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 10:38 AM   #6
WRXSleeper
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43853
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Methuen, MA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Sedan Stg 2
Platinum Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bighappyblocker View Post
Okay it came catless from the dealer but I have the stock downpipe... I'll bring it back tomorrow to have it swapped back they already said they would in the meantime I save up for an access port before reinstalling the catless I have unless you think I should just get a full tune over an access port (Sorry for formatting I switched to my phone)
If you live in MA and you bought that car from a dealer and you cannot get it to pass inspection due to a CEL then they are obligated to fix that. Have them swap it out for now. My guess is the previous owner had an Accessport and unmarried it before trading the car in.

These days a tune from a good tuner is cheaper and better than an Accessport. Search the forum for a reputable tuner near you there are many to choose from.
WRXSleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 11:12 AM   #7
Wicked Innovation
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 265606
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Manchester, NH
Default

If you have a cel for the rear o2, for example P0420, that can be fixed when tuning the car.

I wouldnt bother with an accessport. We and many other shops tune Subarus without one, and save you a ton of money at the same time. For example out street tuning starts at only $200.

Wicked M@
Wicked Innovation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 05:46 PM   #8
bighappyblocker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331807
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Westfield
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default

I went to the dealer unannounced today (they were a little blindsided today) with my stock down pipe and had them swap it for me and then clear the codes. Driving halfway home I got another CEL so I turned around apparently it was an EGR sensor and they fixed that too! However I had them drive it around town for me to see if it would pop again as to not have me halfway home again then just need to turn around. They put about 30 miles with no light then I got an additional 60 on the way home and still no light

I intend on either getting a tune or an accessport (I think my closest reputable tuner is ECS) after putting the catless downpipe back on. However if tunes are much cheaper I should probably just schedule for that.

Thank you for all your help so far and I hope to gain knowledge about my car as I drive it and learn little things as I go. As for right now I fix computers not cars but who knows what will change in time!

P.S. My dealer is in CT but they are nice enough to make sure it will pass in MA for me
bighappyblocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 10:45 PM   #9
paintballjunkie87
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342713
Join Date: Jan 2013
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
Java Black Pearl

Default Question using stock map.

If I have a VF39 with stock piping all the way through, is it Ok to use the stock map until I get bigger piping? Also, I have STi injected along with the malbro fuel pump.. Any advice?
paintballjunkie87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:44 AM   #10
vision.dynamix
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2015 Subaru STI
Black, like my soul.

Default

At least he searched? Maybe?
vision.dynamix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:45 AM   #11
nhmtns
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94283
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Mt. Washington Valley, NH
Vehicle:
'05 OBXT Stage 2
Min bil är svart

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bighappyblocker View Post
So here's my question can I use someone else's AP or do I need to buy my own to make it work. Also if you can use it on more than one car does anyone have have one I can use?
Imagine how little money Cobb would make if 20 friends could all whore out one AP to reflash all their ECU's.
nhmtns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 08:52 AM   #12
Loyale93
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 91347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Vehicle:
'13 XV Crosstrek,
1050 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballjunkie87 View Post
If I have a VF39 with stock piping all the way through, is it Ok to use the stock map until I get bigger piping? Also, I have STi injected along with the malbro fuel pump.. Any advice?
What car are you driving? Is it a Dodge? If so, then yes, you can just use the stock map. If you filled out your profile, we'd know the answer to this question.

I'll let the Walbro pump slide, even though I had a good joke about cigarettes queued up.

As to the real question, read your Cobb map notes. Call Cobb. Talk with your tuner. If you're sticking with the stock factory ECU, you really shouldn't be changing much of anything without a tune, except maybe a CBE or ABE. And definitely not changing out the turbo, injectors, or fuel pump without a tune.
Loyale93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:22 PM   #13
BlazeRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 268354
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
02 WRX 05 LGT
Slow Automatics

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintballjunkie87 View Post
If I have a VF39 with stock piping all the way through, is it Ok to use the stock map until I get bigger piping? Also, I have STi injected along with the malbro fuel pump.. Any advice?
Yeah, you need a tune. Preferably by a professional, at least with an AP.
BlazeRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:24 PM   #14
BlazeRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 268354
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
02 WRX 05 LGT
Slow Automatics

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loyale93 View Post
What car are you driving? Is it a Dodge? If so, then yes, you can just use the stock map. If you filled out your profile, we'd know the answer to this question.

I'll let the Walbro pump slide, even though I had a good joke about cigarettes queued up.

As to the real question, read your Cobb map notes. Call Cobb. Talk with your tuner. If you're sticking with the stock factory ECU, you really shouldn't be changing much of anything without a tune, except maybe a CBE or ABE. And definitely not changing out the turbo, injectors, or fuel pump without a tune.
^^ Yes, this. But to be clear fuel pumps alone are fine with no tune
BlazeRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2013, 02:54 PM   #15
MarkTheShark
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 154093
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Leominster, MA
Vehicle:
04 Forester XTi
10 Saab 93ss

Default

I would only drive it that way if it's going to be a one time thing to your tuner. Even if you do that, keep throttle light and out of boost.

If that's not the plan then just wait to install everything at a time when it can be tuned immediately after.
MarkTheShark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.