Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2013, 12:34 AM   #1
wrx1392
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342331
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tehachapi Ca.
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
blue

Default old Cobb stage 2 can it be reflashed?

i have a 2003 WRx with 232,000 miles the cobb reflashed to stage 2 ecu has been working great for 200,000 miles. i just did a rebuild and up grade of the motor and a 16gxt turbo ,i plan on using 750cc injectors and get it tuned. i called yimisport tuners and they had some concerns about the stage 2 cobb reflashed ecu .does any one know if the ecu can still be tuned ,or is it locked up ,or does cobb need to remove the flash? any help would be app.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wrx1392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 01:42 AM   #2
bestfromnw
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 281835
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Vehicle:
2008 STI
1990 mk2 GLi vdub

Default

any shop that protunes subarus can flash it with no problems
bestfromnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 08:33 AM   #3
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrx1392 View Post
i have a 2003 WRx with 232,000 miles the cobb reflashed to stage 2 ecu has been working great for 200,000 miles. i just did a rebuild and up grade of the motor and a 16gxt turbo ,i plan on using 750cc injectors and get it tuned. i called yimisport tuners and they had some concerns about the stage 2 cobb reflashed ecu .does any one know if the ecu can still be tuned ,or is it locked up ,or does cobb need to remove the flash? any help would be app.
Hi there. Awesome to hear you've enjoyed the Accessport over so many miles!

Whether or not the shop can overwrite an existing Accessport install depends on which version of the Accessport is installed to the car and what solution you are going to use for your new tune. The current version of the Accessport is the version 2 device (gray body with color screen). If that is what you are getting the new tune with then you have no issues. The version 2 Accessport, when you go to install it, will recognize and overwrite any previous install regardless of the version of Accessport that was originally installed.

If you have a version 1 Accessport (black body with "black & white" LCD), I would highly recommend upgrading to the version 2 model. We actually have a trade-in program that will give you $200 towards the purchase of a version 2 Accessport when you trade-in your version 1 Accessport (working or not, uninstalled or not). Details here:
http://www.cobbtuning.com/AccessPort...in-s/70459.htm

Our latest and greatest Accesstuner tuning software, which a protuner would use to custom tune an Accessport equipped car, only works with the version 2 Accessport. The version 2 also upgrades you to standalone data logging from the device, live data viewing from Accessport screen from a selection of numerous parameters, free Accesstuner Race end-user tuning software, launch control feature, Speed Density tuning, and more.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:24 PM   #4
wrx1392
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342331
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tehachapi Ca.
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
blue

Default

well i dont have a Cobb access port ...the Cobb stage 2 that i have is the one where they (at the Cobb shop that was in Utah ) took my ecu out of my car and reflashed it.so i need to know if a tuner can over ride that tune with a new one for the larger turbo and injectors im putting on the car.
wrx1392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 12:50 PM   #5
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrx1392 View Post
well i dont have a Cobb access port ...the Cobb stage 2 that i have is the one where they (at the Cobb shop that was in Utah ) took my ecu out of my car and reflashed it.so i need to know if a tuner can over ride that tune with a new one for the larger turbo and injectors im putting on the car.
Ah, I see. That was before the Accessport was introduced. You will have no problem overwriting that with a version 2 Accessport.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 03:32 PM   #6
wrx1392
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342331
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tehachapi Ca.
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
blue

Default

what about other pro tuning mathods will they work also or do i have to use AP ? i dont think they have a tune for what i have ????
wrx1392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 03:47 PM   #7
Cobb Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 4803
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, DFW, Portland, SOCAL
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrx1392 View Post
what about other pro tuning mathods will they work also or do i have to use AP ? i dont think they have a tune for what i have ????
You can get a custom tune via the Accessport just as you can with other solutions. There doesn't have to be a existing map for your combination - the shop that tunes for the Accessport simply creates a custom tune that is loaded to your car via the Accessport (like any other map). So, they create a custom tune whether that is a custom tune via a session with your car on the dyno or it could be an e-tune where the protuner sends you map revisions and you data log and they update the tune via email.

If you are wanting to go with something other than the Accessport, you shouldn't have any problem overwriting the old AccessECU reflash that you have, AFAIK.

Bill
Cobb Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2013, 09:56 PM   #8
wrx1392
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342331
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: tehachapi Ca.
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
blue

Default

Thanks Bill lots of good info .
wrx1392 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.