Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2013, 03:16 PM   #1
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default Gas question!

So I have a 2013 wrx with stage 2 protune for 93 octane. My dad took my car for the day and he decided to put gas in it, but he put 91 in instead of 93. It had half a tank and he filled it so it now has half 93 and half 91 in it. How bad is this for my car?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:20 PM   #2
rexspeedworthy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26965
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Independence, KY
Vehicle:
2011 WRX
DarkGray

Default

Stay outta boost. Drive this tank in valet mode... or better yet, let your dad switch cars with you till he drives the out the entire tank...with no boost. There's a sticker right on the gas door.
rexspeedworthy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:21 PM   #3
Amazing Asian
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259589
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 Saabaru 9-2X
Deep Blue Metallic

Default

Just baby it and take it easy till you refill it back with 93. Don't get sucked into the octane booster products either.
Amazing Asian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:22 PM   #4
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexspeedworthy View Post
Stay outta boost. Drive this tank in valet mode... or better yet, let your dad switch cars with you till he drives the out the entire tank...with no boost. There's a sticker right on the gas door.
What does a sticker have to do with anything? He got it filled at a service station, therefore he didn't read any stickers lol.
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 03:33 PM   #5
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amazing Asian View Post
Just baby it and take it easy till you refill it back with 93. Don't get sucked into the octane booster products either.
Ok that's what I figured. Thank you!
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:02 PM   #6
paulpat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 237145
Join Date: Feb 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: 562
Vehicle:
02 WRX
12 FXT

Default

there is a sticker that says premium only. its not bad. bad. CA has only 91....
paulpat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:06 PM   #7
Mr Wrex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 332887
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Orange County, NY
Vehicle:
2012 WRX stage 2+
DGM (sedan)

Default

91 just detonates faster than 93, but as long as he wasn't going WOT and shifting that thing like a racecar, you should be fine. Smack him and make sure he never uses anything but 93 ever again. EVERRRRR.
Mr Wrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:06 PM   #8
snowboarder2587
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322407
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Greenville SC
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Limited
Plasma Blue Pearl

Default

Are you protuned through an AP or opensource? If the AP then (depending on your mods) you can put the cobb stage 2 for 91 on it until this tank is empty and then switch back when you refill 93
snowboarder2587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:10 PM   #9
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2014 Porsche
GT3 (Currently on Fire)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexspeedworthy View Post
Stay outta boost. Drive this tank in valet mode... or better yet, let your dad switch cars with you till he drives the out the entire tank...with no boost. There's a sticker right on the gas door.
Stop.

OP, on your AP you can go in and retard timing upto X degrees. (I believe 5) Do that and you'll be fine. Or you can flash over a 91 octane map if you are THAT worried about it. However half a tank of gas isn't going to kill your car.
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:42 PM   #10
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HinshawWRX View Post

Stop.

OP, on your AP you can go in and retard timing upto X degrees. (I believe 5) Do that and you'll be fine. Or you can flash over a 91 octane map if you are THAT worried about it. However half a tank of gas isn't going to kill your car.
Thank you. I'm open source tuned but ill just be sure to take it easy until this gas is run through.
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:44 PM   #11
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Wrex View Post
91 just detonates faster than 93, but as long as he wasn't going WOT and shifting that thing like a racecar, you should be fine. Smack him and make sure he never uses anything but 93 ever again. EVERRRRR.
Haha I already told him my car only takes 93 but I'm not gonna smack him because he was generous enough to fill my tank so I guess it's the thought that counts lol.
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:44 PM   #12
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snowboarder2587 View Post
Are you protuned through an AP or opensource? If the AP then (depending on your mods) you can put the cobb stage 2 for 91 on it until this tank is empty and then switch back when you refill 93
Open source tuned so I can't switch maps at will unfortunately.
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:49 PM   #13
luan87us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335013
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2013 Premium WRX 5dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13_DGM_Hatch View Post
Open source tuned so I can't switch maps at will unfortunately.
one more reason for me to go with Cobb instead of a pro-tune. Less hassle.
luan87us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 04:56 PM   #14
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2014 Porsche
GT3 (Currently on Fire)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luan87us View Post
one more reason for me to go with Cobb instead of a pro-tune. Less hassle.
Both open source and AP's have their advantages and disadvantages.
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:24 PM   #15
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by luan87us View Post

one more reason for me to go with Cobb instead of a pro-tune. Less hassle.
You could always get a protune using the accessport. Best of both worlds.
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:46 PM   #16
flukewrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 75081
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13_DGM_Hatch View Post
Open source tuned so I can't switch maps at will unfortunately.
Are you sure about that? I thought that was one of the reasons to go with an Open Source Tune so that you could easily switch maps as need be.
flukewrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:51 PM   #17
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2014 Porsche
GT3 (Currently on Fire)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flukewrx View Post
Are you sure about that? I thought that was one of the reasons to go with an Open Source Tune so that you could easily switch maps as need be.
You can switch maps fairly easily on both, AP being the easiest. Open source you need a tactrix cable, which OP might not have.
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:53 PM   #18
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HinshawWRX View Post

You can switch maps fairly easily on both, AP being the easiest. Open source you need a tactrix cable, which OP might not have.
Yeah I don't have a tactrix. If I did would it be fairly easy to switch maps via laptop?
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:08 PM   #19
Mr Wrex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 332887
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Orange County, NY
Vehicle:
2012 WRX stage 2+
DGM (sedan)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 13_DGM_Hatch View Post
Yeah I don't have a tactrix. If I did would it be fairly easy to switch maps via laptop?
Of course. The COBB AP is nothing more than a cable and a mini-computer, which is the same as the tactrix and a laptop. Just download COBB Tuner Race beforehand.
Mr Wrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 06:43 PM   #20
13_DGM_Hatch
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 331661
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Utica, New York
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
Dark Grey Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Wrex View Post

Of course. The COBB AP is nothing more than a cable and a mini-computer, which is the same as the tactrix and a laptop. Just download COBB Tuner Race beforehand.
Yeah that makes sense. Thank you.
13_DGM_Hatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:23 PM   #21
BlazeRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 268354
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
02 WRX 05 LGT
Slow Automatics

Default

yes, stay out of boost and get 93 in immediately. Reset the ECU once 93 has been put in as well.
BlazeRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:13 PM   #22
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2014 Porsche
GT3 (Currently on Fire)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazeRex View Post
yes, stay out of boost and get 93 in immediately. Reset the ECU once 93 has been put in as well.
An ECU reset will do NOTHING. He can still hit boost, the ECU will compensate. Stop giving bad advice.
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:33 PM   #23
BlazeRex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 268354
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Massachusetts
Vehicle:
02 WRX 05 LGT
Slow Automatics

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HinshawWRX View Post
An ECU reset will do NOTHING. He can still hit boost, the ECU will compensate. Stop giving bad advice.
LOL? when the car has learned knock correction, resetting the ecu once fresh 93 is put in will reset that back to zero. Not sure how that's bad advice?...
BlazeRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:38 PM   #24
wrX-MEN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 330488
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: PacificNW
Vehicle:
03 WRX
WRB

Default

Just don't drive crazy! and like what everyone else is saying stay out of boost! drive around for couple of hours non stop and it wouldn't take long to empty the tank of the subie since gas mileage is around 19-22mpg
wrX-MEN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 12:01 AM   #25
mclrn227
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83441
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Joliet, IL
Vehicle:
2013 5DR WRX
SWP

Default

Wait, someone pumped the gas for him? Is this 1950?
mclrn227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.