Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday October 28, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > General Community

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 07:50 PM   #1
Scooby Newbie
Member#: 5584
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Maine
Default Ethernet hub/switch question

I am upgrading my wifi router to an asus RT-N66U. The plan is to put the router in the basement and activate the cat5e plug that goes up to the office on the 2nd floor. The question is what do I use in the office coming out from the rj45 plug at the wall? If I was just going right to the computer it would only need one ethernet cord, but we have 4 devices that need to be plugged in. Do I just get a switch box and plug the ethernet cable from the wall into that, then all other devices into the remaining ports?

Do I have to use the same manufacturer (asus) for the switch or does it matter? Any recommendations on switch boxes?

I realize the point of a wifi router is to go wireless, but I am in part trying to get rid of clutter currently in the office and move the cable modem and router to the basement. Other wifi devices like PS3 and Tivo will still benefit from the wifi.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jzinckgra is offline  
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-13-2013, 07:57 PM   #2
Scooby Newbie
Member#: 322518
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vermont

I don't think this is the right subforum...

You should put your wifi router in the center of your house on the top floor for optimal signal strength throughout your residence.
Fredward is offline  
Old 03-13-2013, 08:23 PM   #3
Scooby Newbie
Member#: 79617
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Malta, NY
2013 STI 5 dr


Sounds like there's a cable run from the basement thru the wall to the office and you are going to patch that from the router. You can plug in any manufacture switch to that and plug in your devices to the switch.
Radar is offline  
Old 03-13-2013, 08:38 PM   #4
Scooby Guru
Member#: 139955
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
2015 Subaru STI
Stage e


Wes Welker signed a 2yr $12M deal with Denver.

vision.dynamix is online now  
Old 03-13-2013, 08:57 PM   #5
Trust no one
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO


Subaru doesn't make hubs.
Mulder is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.