Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday November 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2013, 08:31 PM   #1
dburgoon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 310366
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Vehicle:
03 vf37'd WRB
Bugeye

Default Different tuner with tactrix cable?

I just got my cable in today, and I have started tuning with the romraider and have a solid base tune down, but I just do not like how the software is.

My question is, is there a way to use a different software?

I am use to tuning with tunerstudio for the megasquirt and would love if I could use that software!

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dburgoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:34 PM   #2
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

RomRaider or ECUFlash are your options, unless you want to make a new one. What don't you like about it?
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:37 PM   #3
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:48 PM   #4
dburgoon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 310366
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Vehicle:
03 vf37'd WRB
Bugeye

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the suicidal eggroll View Post
RomRaider or ECUFlash are your options, unless you want to make a new one. What don't you like about it?
On tunerstudio I can watch any given table be it fuel, boost etc and see where the car is running on the table, on romraider I cannot, I have to guess where it is on the table, edit it then hope it works.
dburgoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:15 PM   #5
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Since you can't modify the tune in real time, I don't really see where the problem is. Look at your load and RPM in the log, and that'll tell you where you need to modify the tune. There's no "guessing" or "hoping" involved.

I've been using OS for years, and have never felt that my interpretations of the logs or my modifications to the tune would be accelerated by having the software put a little box around the current cell during logging. Most of the time during logging my laptop is sitting in the passenger seat with the lid closed passively acquiring data. If OS had the ability to do real time tuning, then I could see the advantage, since you could hold the dyno at a fixed RPM and load, and modify whatever cell was "boxed" in RR, updating it in real time, and letting you plow through the tune. But since it can't do real time tuning, it really doesn't matter. Make a log at all RPMs and loads of interest, look at the results, and modify the necessary cells in the table appropriately.

Last edited by the suicidal eggroll; 04-06-2013 at 09:20 PM.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:25 PM   #6
K2e2vin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 308481
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT

Default

Map tracing.

I can see where he's coming from; map tracing is just much faster to see where the motor is trending towards(instead of getting your two x and y values, then going down and across). Some of the "open source" Honda tuning programs, and even some for sport bikes have this; it's not real-time tuning but just makes it easier to see where you're at on the table.

Wow, ECUEdit looks awesome! Very similar to other tuning softwares.
K2e2vin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:27 PM   #7
dburgoon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 310366
Join Date: Feb 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ft Myers, FL
Vehicle:
03 vf37'd WRB
Bugeye

Default

Makes since, I guess I'm just not use to not being able to real time tune. I'll get the hang of it soon
dburgoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 09:35 PM   #8
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K2e2vin View Post
Map tracing.

I can see where he's coming from; map tracing is just much faster to see where the motor is trending towards(instead of getting your two x and y values, then going down and across). Some of the "open source" Honda tuning programs, and even some for sport bikes have this; it's not real-time tuning but just makes it easier to see where you're at on the table.
Unless you're going to make about 47 thousand separate 3 second logs (fire up the car, bring it up so that the cell you want is being "boxed" by the logging software, look at the result, shut off the car, attach the test connectors, make the change, flash it, disconnect the test connectors, start it back up, repeat), or use a little notebook and a pen to write down the status in each of the "boxed" cells during the log, what's the point?

Boxing the current cell is only advantageous if there is ONE cell that you're trying to tune or if you are able to do real time tuning on a dyno. If you're doing a road tune or if you're trying to re-tune the car for some modification (downpipe, intake, octane change, etc) which accounts for 99% of the tuning that people do, then you need to make a WOT pull or a long duration log covering multiple RPM and multiple load cells, either way having the logging software highlight the current cell is pointless, since you need to modify all of them.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 02:37 AM   #9
K2e2vin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 308481
Join Date: Jan 2012
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT

Default

The box is usually always moving and it'll usually go across the table(works wells with datalogging); it just gives you an idea of where to start making changes. Of course you will be making changes throughout the map but when exactly do you modify the whole map at the same time? In many situations, localized changes are required...and this does not mean making changes to one cell, restarting, and observing the changes, but still allows you to make multiple changes.

Also, as stated before, this feature is already seen in other non-realtime tuning apps. I'm not saying it's necessary, I'm just saying some people really do find it useful.

Last edited by K2e2vin; 04-07-2013 at 02:45 AM.
K2e2vin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:09 PM   #10
NITROS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41561
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago
Vehicle:
04 GT3076 2.1
Stroker = Broken 3rd

Default

I understand where the OP is coming from. But since live tuning is not available it offers little extra help. Using the airboy spreadsheet will highlight these cells for you, when using timing interpolation.
NITROS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 06:36 PM   #11
quazimoto
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 70395
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Da-boonies,Va
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by K2e2vin View Post
The box is usually always moving and it'll usually go across the table(works wells with datalogging); it just gives you an idea of where to start making changes. Of course you will be making changes throughout the map but when exactly do you modify the whole map at the same time? In many situations, localized changes are required...and this does not mean making changes to one cell, restarting, and observing the changes, but still allows you to make multiple changes.

Also, as stated before, this feature is already seen in other non-realtime tuning apps. I'm not saying it's necessary, I'm just saying some people really do find it useful.
But unfortunately this generally requires a dyno to do. You can't do it driving down the raod. Most people can get very,very consistant and accurate results by doing a few logs,making some minor adjustments,reflashing and then a little "rinse and repeat". Most people don't start from scratch. They start with a base map and tweak it. Just like most professionals do. It saves time. Plus dyno time is not cheap,especially when a problem appears and that time is wasted fixing the car rather than tuning it.
quazimoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 06:54 PM   #12
Bamofo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159743
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plymouth Ma
Vehicle:
07 STI Limited
TurboMike Tuned 2.35

Default

Romraider allows traces on timing and fueling maps... Not just the air boy tool.. It's a check box to follow on each map..
Bamofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:16 PM   #13
SharpTuning
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333363
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cutting Edge, Delaware Valley
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the suicidal eggroll View Post
Unless you're going to make about 47 thousand separate 3 second logs (fire up the car, bring it up so that the cell you want is being "boxed" by the logging software, look at the result, shut off the car, attach the test connectors, make the change, flash it, disconnect the test connectors, start it back up, repeat), or use a little notebook and a pen to write down the status in each of the "boxed" cells during the log, what's the point?

Boxing the current cell is only advantageous if there is ONE cell that you're trying to tune or if you are able to do real time tuning on a dyno. If you're doing a road tune or if you're trying to re-tune the car for some modification (downpipe, intake, octane change, etc) which accounts for 99% of the tuning that people do, then you need to make a WOT pull or a long duration log covering multiple RPM and multiple load cells, either way having the logging software highlight the current cell is pointless, since you need to modify all of them.
It sounds like you've never used ecuedit log link tuning
SharpTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:21 PM   #14
the suicidal eggroll
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 51961
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Broomfield, CO
Vehicle:
2005 STi
2012 WRX

Default

You're right, I haven't. I have, however, made thousands of logs and hundreds of tunes with Open Source and AccessPort, I've used various log analysis programs such as Airboy's spreadsheet, as well as made many of my own in both Excel and IDL, and I have never felt that boxing the cell has added anything to the speed or accuracy of my modifications. In my opinion, unless you're doing real time tuning, it's nothing more than a marketing gimmick. Or a priceless feature for people who never learned how to read a 2d table.

Last edited by the suicidal eggroll; 04-12-2013 at 01:27 PM.
the suicidal eggroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:52 PM   #15
endrswrd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 323908
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Dayton Ohio
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ ltd
ISM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the suicidal eggroll View Post
You're right, I haven't. I have, however, made thousands of logs and hundreds of tunes with Open Source and AccessPort, I've used various log analysis programs such as Airboy's spreadsheet, as well as made many of my own in both Excel and IDL, and I have never felt that boxing the cell has added anything to the speed or accuracy of my modifications. In my opinion, unless you're doing real time tuning, it's nothing more than a marketing gimmick. Or a priceless feature for people who never learned how to read a 2d table.
Seconded. I can tune just fine via log rinse and repeat. Real time tuning is sweet, sure, as it is just so fast, but the same can be achieved by good logging and good filtering. The more you know...
endrswrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 02:57 PM   #16
SharpTuning
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333363
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Cutting Edge, Delaware Valley
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the suicidal eggroll View Post
You're right, I haven't.
Thought so.

Give it a shot, the log link with log data view is invaluable for saving time while flash tuning in a car.

All the spreadsheets are nice and all.. programming VBA macros is a snap, but it's even nicer to not even need them.
SharpTuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.