Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday March 3, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2013, 11:40 AM   #76
sketcheroo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 339856
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Premium
Satin White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emfennell23 View Post
I recently got this system installed in vehicle and looking for best way to bypass parking brake to view DVD while in motion. Do I need to purchase anything additional to accomplish this or can the wiring configuration be altered to get it working??
I'm using this with great success:

Amazon.com: Parking Brake Override Bypass Fully Automatic Video in Motion for Pioneer Models AVH-X1500DVD AVH-X2500BT AVH-X3500BHS AVH-X4500BT AVH-X5500BHS: Everything ElseAmazon.com: Parking Brake Override Bypass Fully Automatic Video in Motion for Pioneer Models AVH-X1500DVD AVH-X2500BT AVH-X3500BHS AVH-X4500BT AVH-X5500BHS: Everything Else
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sketcheroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 09:46 AM   #77
joxxer42
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 355321
Join Date: May 2013
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Ltd Hatch
DMG

Default

Thanks for the great writeup (it was especially helpful seeing what the back of the trim piece looked like to better know how to yank it off), I installed essentially the same setup a couple weeks back.

I will say I've never had as much extra space to stash wires and boxes in this car, or had an easier time w/ the trim removal and installation. Had no issues with the steering wheel controls or the harness I ordered from SVXdc (very quick turnaround and shipping, definitely recommend).

One thing I'm pretty disappointed in though is the SiriusXM audio quality with the adapter I purchased (Sirius SXV200v1). It's noticeably poor fidelity compared to the Bluetooth and/or HD radio signals. Not sure if it's due to the adapter or something on the radio.

I'm going to try the latest firmware update to see if it helps anything, but this almost has me sore enough to try another radio if I'm not able to remedy it (I live off Howard and the music stations ).

Anywho, thanks again for the solid writeup!
joxxer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2013, 01:34 PM   #78
evilspoons
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by joxxer42 View Post
One thing I'm pretty disappointed in though is the SiriusXM audio quality with the adapter I purchased (Sirius SXV200v1). It's noticeably poor fidelity compared to the Bluetooth and/or HD radio signals. Not sure if it's due to the adapter or something on the radio.
Satellite radio sounds like crap, that's all there is to it. I've had three satellite radio systems in two cars and they all sound terrible. There simply isn't enough bandwidth in their signal to broadcast 100+ channels and have any of them sound decent. The less-popular stations are worse off than the main ones, as they are allocated even less bandwidth.

The best way to make satellite radio sound "better" is to downgrade your audio system enough that your crummy speakers hide the crummy satellite radio sound.

I simply started streaming radio off my cell phone and gave up on satellite. Sirius gave me a free 2-week trial and I think I turned it on for 15 minutes in that entire time period, no way they're getting any money from me.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 02:05 PM   #79
vuskeedoo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 312613
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Anaheim, CA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Prem. Stg 2
SWP

Default

I'm about to pick up this headunit, install Alpine Type-S speakers, and Alpine MRP-F250 AMP. Does anyone know(or have instructions) on how to connect the amp to the head unit?

I've been looking around crutchfield and google searches, but I dont have any concrete info.
vuskeedoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 02:31 PM   #80
jester8798
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 277915
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MI
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Premium
SWP, TP Stage 2

Default

Hey joxxer,

Did you get the phone controls to work with your aswc?
jester8798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 03:40 PM   #81
vuskeedoo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 312613
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Anaheim, CA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Prem. Stg 2
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jester8798 View Post
Hey joxxer,

Did you get the phone controls to work with your aswc?
all new 2012' 5500BHS should auto-detect the buttons/
vuskeedoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 06:16 PM   #82
jester8798
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 277915
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MI
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Premium
SWP, TP Stage 2

Default

I would think mine is a 2012, I just installed it a few months ago. All the other buttons work except the three Bluetooth ones.
jester8798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 06:43 PM   #83
evilspoons
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vuskeedoo View Post
I'm about to pick up this headunit, install Alpine Type-S speakers, and Alpine MRP-F250 AMP. Does anyone know(or have instructions) on how to connect the amp to the head unit?

I've been looking around crutchfield and google searches, but I dont have any concrete info.
RCA cables between amp pre-out jacks on the back (FL, FR, RL, RR), and the remote turn-on wire to the amp's remote turn-on input. Set your gains properly, and you're done with the HU<->amp interconnections.

If you also have a sub amp (or are running channel 3 & 4 bridged to power a sub) you need to turn on sub output and choose a xover & hpf as appropriate, but I'm guessing you're just running four speakers.

Obviously the amp also needs its own power and you need to hook the speakers to the amp, but that's another story entirely.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2013, 07:56 PM   #84
GreenEggs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 351926
Join Date: Mar 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Olathe, KS
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
DGM

Default

Thanks for your guide, man! It was useful with my install. Here is mine...

Pioneer AVH-X5500BHS, Onxy bezel, Axxess ASWC-1, parking brake bypass, from SVX: 20-pin forward harness, AUX adapter to factory, USB connector DIY cable to retain factory.

BTW, I noticed Axxess has a USB cable to the factory connector. I didn't know that when I made mine. Link here.


I really like how this onxy frame looks. Pricey at near $100 but looks good. Fits the other dark colors great instead of silver and looks factory
GreenEggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 02:56 PM   #85
graniteststi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 356774
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Grantham, NH
Vehicle:
2014 STI 5D
PBP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vossatron View Post
You need one of these

http://www.iaperformance.com/product...jbavikvobg5qp5

Also, to install it, you use the metal brackets off the stock unit and not the plastic one used with the stock bezel.

By install "it," do you mean the bezel itself or the head unit? Just making sure I don't have to source the brackets for the head unit separately if I go with this JDM bezel.
graniteststi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 04:45 PM   #86
drewhumphrey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 352025
Join Date: Apr 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indiana
Vehicle:
2008 Outback Sport
Spark Silver Metallic

Default

I just helped put one of these in my friend's Camry. Really nice, especially with aftermarket speakers and subwoofer.
drewhumphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 04:48 PM   #87
drewhumphrey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 352025
Join Date: Apr 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indiana
Vehicle:
2008 Outback Sport
Spark Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vuskeedoo View Post
I'm about to pick up this headunit, install Alpine Type-S speakers, and Alpine MRP-F250 AMP. Does anyone know(or have instructions) on how to connect the amp to the head unit?

I've been looking around crutchfield and google searches, but I dont have any concrete info.
You just run RCA wires to the amp from the head unit and match channels. Lots of online videos.
drewhumphrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2013, 02:39 AM   #88
BellyUpFish
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357348
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
2010 Limited WRX
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BellyUpFish View Post
Does anyone know if the stock Subaru SAT antenna can be used with the head unit?
Anyone?
BellyUpFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2013, 08:34 PM   #89
Motoxdude6
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 344454
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: lubbock, tx
Vehicle:
2011 wrx
WRB

Default

im about to order this, but the version right below this, basicly the same thing except the screen is 6.1" and not 7". aside from the head unit itself, what other components are required to install properly? ( not the tools, just the park brake bypass, ect) im not to sure what a AWCS is, or whatever
Motoxdude6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 02:25 PM   #90
evilspoons
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BellyUpFish View Post
Anyone?
I don't think so. Subaru of Canada uses the Pioneer antenna with the X9310BT.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 06:53 PM   #91
CowboyD Eng6ine
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 365893
Join Date: Aug 2013
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Bear, Delaware
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Stage 1+
WR Blue

Default

Everything still working right? I am about to buy a Kenwood DDX770 and do this myself to save a few hundred.

How did the wiring of the parking brake bypass go? Is that all part of what wires into the 20pin harness and no need to route it to anywhere? ae64.com has the 20pin combo harness with everything wired up and looks like it would go into the back of the HU just plug and play, anyone have experience with this?
CowboyD Eng6ine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2013, 07:46 PM   #92
GReddy5
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 24071
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Hatchback
Satan White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CowboyD Eng6ine View Post
Everything still working right? I am about to buy a Kenwood DDX770 and do this myself to save a few hundred.

How did the wiring of the parking brake bypass go? Is that all part of what wires into the 20pin harness and no need to route it to anywhere? ae64.com has the 20pin combo harness with everything wired up and looks like it would go into the back of the HU just plug and play, anyone have experience with this?
For the Kenwood deck, I believe all you have to do is to attach the parking braking wire to the ground wire of the harness. That's how I had my Kenwood DDX418 hooked up.
GReddy5 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 04:42 PM   #93
joxxer42
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 355321
Join Date: May 2013
Vehicle:
2013 WRX Ltd Hatch
DMG

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jester8798 View Post
Hey joxxer,

Did you get the phone controls to work with your aswc?
Sorry for the fashionably late reply, but yes, all the steering wheel controls were programmed successfully.
joxxer42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 05:03 PM   #94
gianttcr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108790
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, but Im over it
Vehicle:
2002 WRX 2.2 Wagon
PSM

Default

Yeah, these new Pioneer head units are awesome! There was a day, you wouldn't touch a Pioneer head, and stuck to something high end, like Eclipse (8v out was nice) or Clarion (if you get one that worked), but I bought a AVH-4500 on advisement, and the only reason I keep rebuilding my nightmare stroker project is to be able to drive and listen to this unit! I used the bypass as well, and also got a $20 EBay back up camera, which is awesome. A couple of glitches once in a while with Pandora but otherwise this thing is awesome.
gianttcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2013, 06:32 PM   #95
jester8798
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 277915
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MI
Vehicle:
2011 WRX Premium
SWP, TP Stage 2

Default

Thanks joxxer, looks like I'll need to try and reprogram things again.
jester8798 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 04:01 PM   #96
smith8917
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 373057
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Vehicle:
2014 WRX Hatchback

Default

Great writeup! I plan on getting one of these HUs but wanted to see what everyone's experience is with the USB side. I plan on throwing an old IPOD into the glovebox connected via USB and mainly use that for my music. Is scrolling through the artists as painful as it is on the OEM HU? How's the experience choosing different songs/albums within the same artist? Does anyone use the special iPhone cable?

Are you all happy with this new HU as the only audio upgrade in your WRX? I had planned on adding an amp as well and am thinking this HU upgrade might be enough power... Thoughts?
smith8917 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:14 PM   #97
evilspoons
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

The Pioneer is one of the better units as far as iPod control is concerned. It lists all the artists/albums very quickly, you scroll through, touch an artist, it lists all the albums by that artist, etc.

The only real issue with my X930BT is the resistive touchscreen. If you are trying to scroll through a long list I find you end up accidentally activating entries in the list instead of continuing to scroll. It could really use a "page up"/"page down" button. Perhaps this X5500 is better at that.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 01:04 PM   #98
Obsidian2007sube
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 363190
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2013 Wrx Hatch
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

Just chiming in on this post, i have a 2013 wrx hatch with the AVH-1500DVD in at purchase of the car. I can't play dvds, , while at the dealership a guy came up to me and said there a code or something to disable the lock on playing dvds/videos while in motion. I get that , but how come I can't view while in park with E-brake engaged? Better yet, the key turned to start position but not running?
Obsidian2007sube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2013, 02:16 PM   #99
evilspoons
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

Your e-brake signal probably isn't hooked up properly. That is the only thing governing the lockout of DVD playback (the stereo has no idea what your ignition is up to).
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 01:57 PM   #100
Abtechjr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377253
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default

I just installed a avh-x3500bhs in my 2013 wrx, using this forum as a guide. Everything works/sounds great except for the hdradio . When I go to the radio screen nothing shows up, no frequencies or anything. I did double check the wiring but is there something specific i should be looking for? Any help would be greatly appreciated
Abtechjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.