Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2013, 01:57 PM   #1
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default 2011 wrx AFR problem

Hi ! First I ' am from Chile and i like very much this forum... and sorry for my inglish is bad.

Well my problem is my afr with stage 2 , custom tune 19 20 psi peak, down to 14 at the line. ... with the notebook connected my afr is fine! 10.6 - 11.1 max. But disconnect the notebook my afr is 11.7!! ( full boost ) why is that ?? Leaks ? Downpipe? Please help...

Mod list:

Process west tmic
Synapse diverter valve
Air intake k&n short ram
Downpipe tsudo bellmouth catless
Catback invidia n1 dual
Stock header wirh uppipe
Wideband innovate mtlx
Custom tune 19 20 psi Degree of advancement 18 20.

Please help me from Chile... subaru fan.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 03:06 PM   #2
Mr Wrex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 332887
Join Date: Sep 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Orange County, NY
Vehicle:
2012 WRX stage 2+
DGM (sedan)

Default

When you disconnect your notebook, what are you using to read the AFR 11.7?
Mr Wrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:19 PM   #3
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Wideband innovate mtlx ( air fuel ratio ) ...

Notebook connected ( 10.6 - 11.1 afr ) full boost

Notebook disconnect ( 11.7 afr ) full boost

This is strange...

11.7 afr is dangerous...
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:26 PM   #4
APM Tuned
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 282460
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Elmhurst, IL
Vehicle:
2005 Evo-STI
R.R.-WRB

Default

11.7 is dangerous if the tune isn't set up for it, that's all up to the tuner.

Maybe the map isn't flashed in? hmm, kinda odd.

-Mark
APM Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:40 PM   #5
Cathexis
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335445
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashland, VA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX - BLK STIG
Stg. 2 - 287whp/317wtq.

Default

Who did the custom tune? They need to be contacted immediately!
Cathexis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:40 PM   #6
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APM Tuned View Post
11.7 is dangerous if the tune isn't set up for it, that's all up to the tuner.

Maybe the map isn't flashed in? hmm, kinda odd.

-Mark
My tuner let it in 10.6 - 11.1 max.... But is strangely changed the number without the notebook.
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:47 PM   #7
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathexis View Post
Who did the custom tune? They need to be contacted immediately!
We found five times to set up the afr.
And I set up the afr in 10.6-11.1 always..

Is the map? Or leaks ?
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 04:57 PM   #8
findurpath
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 277487
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bozeman, MT and Lakewood, WA
Vehicle:
2006 CGM WRX Limited
6sp, 18G, Phatron tuned

Default

I don't see how hooking up the AFR gauge to a notebook would actually change the actual AFR...

The wideband and it's 02 sensor is a "standalone" system, apart from the ECU. So whether a notebook is plugged into the gauge or not, should have no impact on the actual AFR's. I have a feeling it might be related to the gauge itself not reading correctly either when notebook is plugged in or when it is not. I hope it's not the first possibility.
findurpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 05:17 PM   #9
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by findurpath View Post
I don't see how hooking up the AFR gauge to a notebook would actually change the actual AFR...

The wideband and it's 02 sensor is a "standalone" system, apart from the ECU. So whether a notebook is plugged into the gauge or not, should have no impact on the actual AFR's. I have a feeling it might be related to the gauge itself not reading correctly either when notebook is plugged in or when it is not. I hope it's not the first possibility.

It may that the gauge has problems be?
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 06:07 PM   #10
findurpath
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 277487
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bozeman, MT and Lakewood, WA
Vehicle:
2006 CGM WRX Limited
6sp, 18G, Phatron tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowrx11 View Post
It may that the gauge has problems be?
That's what I think. How would the ECU know if you've plugged a notebook/laptop into the Innovate gauge?
findurpath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 06:41 PM   #11
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by findurpath View Post

That's what I think. How would the ECU know if you've plugged a notebook/laptop into the Innovate gauge?
Is a good question.....
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 07:10 PM   #12
dstroy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 283711
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Newport
Vehicle:
2012 STI sedan
Black with scratches

Default

It's the gauge. Try a different one.
dstroy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 07:42 PM   #13
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dstroy View Post
It's the gauge. Try a different one.
I will buy a new one and tell how I was!

Thanks.
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 09:27 PM   #14
skatinboarding
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 233960
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2011 WRX HATCH
WHITE

Default

I know this might sound crazy but I had a similar problem with the innovate lc1 and it turned out to be a crappy grounding spot. Check your ground wires to the kit.
skatinboarding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 10:03 PM   #15
Schikane
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337700
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

Try an AEM UEGO WB gauge. I have read a few posts about this same problem with Innovate LC-1 gauges.
Schikane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 11:27 PM   #16
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schikane View Post
Try an AEM UEGO WB gauge. I have read a few posts about this same problem with Innovate LC-1 gauges.
Ok thanks !! Aem is my next upgrade... innovate never more.
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:41 PM   #17
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Today i have this problem !! Brake sensor failure ?
But now disappeared... strange :/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Plco...e_gdata_player

Read the comments.
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:07 PM   #18
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Video with my afr full boost!
What do you thing ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9wh...e_gdata_player
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 12:05 PM   #19
darksurfing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269804
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Stgo, Chile
Vehicle:
1997 Sti V-Limited
rally blue

Default

try using a different wideband and then let us know if the results are the same or not. I would do what you were told mate haha check if there's a crappy grounding spot. Often bad grounds have a lot to do with the car electronics. My dad's altezza was running like crap. But honestly, the car wouldnt even starts some times. And it ended up being a crappy grounding spot. Hopefully that your issue and not the wideband. Over here in chile these things are expensive. Take care mate see you around!
darksurfing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:09 AM   #20
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rowrx11 View Post
Video with my afr full boost!
What do you thing ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x9wh...e_gdata_player


What do you think?
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 09:17 AM   #21
nismopowerdqg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 312580
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2010 WRX SWP@310/334
Cobb/Torqued Performance

Default

Innovate LC-1 is by far one of the worst gauges ive had, always go AEM UEGO. Switch gauges and go from there.
nismopowerdqg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 09:19 AM   #22
nismopowerdqg
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 312580
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2010 WRX SWP@310/334
Cobb/Torqued Performance

Default

also is your bypass valve recirculating back into the intake like it should? or is it venting 50/50 into the atmosphere? it seems like it leans out a more between shifts.
nismopowerdqg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 05:26 PM   #23
APM Tuned
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 282460
Join Date: May 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Elmhurst, IL
Vehicle:
2005 Evo-STI
R.R.-WRB

Default

It should run richer between shifts since the air is being evacuated instead of plumbed back to the system if anything.

I wonder (very odd question), any way you have a ground loop that's causing electrical malfunctions when there is a draw from the laptop? It can also happen when there is too much voltage and the voltage drops from the lap top taking juice....

If by some chance you have electronics in the car like audio or whatever (aftermarket), ensuring that everything is routing as it should be might make a bit of a difference...just in case.

Other than that, look into a new gauge but my thought is that you're having the issue from electrical draw more than a gauge.

-Mark
APM Tuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 08:17 PM   #24
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nismopowerdqg View Post
also is your bypass valve recirculating back into the intake like it should? or is it venting 50/50 into the atmosphere? it seems like it leans out a more between shifts.
Synapse Engineering Diverter Valve... in pull mode a+b . Is not a 50/50..
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 11:03 PM   #25
Rowrx11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338312
Join Date: Nov 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APM Tuned View Post
It should run richer between shifts since the air is being evacuated instead of plumbed back to the system if anything.

I wonder (very odd question), any way you have a ground loop that's causing electrical malfunctions when there is a draw from the laptop? It can also happen when there is too much voltage and the voltage drops from the lap top taking juice....

If by some chance you have electronics in the car like audio or whatever (aftermarket), ensuring that everything is routing as it should be might make a bit of a difference...just in case.

Other than that, look into a new gauge but my thought is that you're having the issue from electrical draw more than a gauge.

-Mark
Everything stock ( audio etc )
I will change the clock... I'm afraid to break the engine.

Gear 2 - 3 = 11.7
Gear 4 - 5 = 11.3 -4

Is danger i think.
Rowrx11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.