Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2013, 03:38 PM   #1
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 04STi JAVA
Vehicle:
EVO Woudve been
Cheaper!!!!!

Default Loosing learning after reading rom

Ok Gurus.....why does my learning view clear and ecu go into learning again after i simply "read" my rom with a tactrix. Its always did it....just tired of a 10 min idle learn after i read my rom. Is there any way to disable this reset?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:02 PM   #2
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 04STi JAVA
Vehicle:
EVO Woudve been
Cheaper!!!!!

Default

Someones got the annnnnnswer...da da da do do do




just waiting patiently lol


Come on tho........Scotty......Unabomber........Dux....any body???? Somebody .........................
So lonely on here lol
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:38 PM   #3
fastblueufo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 212154
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Ed@fastperformancetuning.com
Vehicle:
02 bugeye, manley
ej257, pt5857, MBP on E85

Default

Some ecu's reset learned values after a flash or read and some dont. Nothing you can do about it.
fastblueufo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 08:45 PM   #4
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 04STi JAVA
Vehicle:
EVO Woudve been
Cheaper!!!!!

Default

Exactly who I was hopin would chime in....I didn't wanna misspell your name I was thinkin fastblueforyou...knew that wasn't right lol

Thanks for the info...really sucks tho. After every read or flash, I have to endure about 10 mins of semi ****ty return to idle ****...rev to 3000 back to 1000 over and over. Then learning view clears so I have to check it before even reading my rom or ill loose all my learning info. Wish there was a way around this


And im not buying a accessport either lol

I freakin refuse
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 12:27 PM   #5
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paidfor View Post
...about 10 mins of semi ****ty return to idle ****...rev to 3000 back to 1000 over and over. .... Wish there was a way around this
Sounds like a good tune is your way around it. That's odd, who tuned you? (It seems like you're tuning yourself?). If self-tuned trial and error my be the only way sometimes. There are a lot of knowledgeable people on these boards so make sure you ask questions!

Oh and the support/advice you could get from Cobb (if you got one) may mean more to you then anything
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:13 PM   #6
Black94Snake
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 274499
Join Date: Feb 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: RI
Vehicle:
2007 CGM VF'd WRX
12.70 @ 108.4mph

Default

Why so you keep "reading" your tune? What benefit do you think its giving you?

In all the time I've been tuning, the only time I'll "read" a ROM, is if the car is stock, or I can't remember what the last map I loaded was. Which doesn't happen often due to the naming convention I use.
Black94Snake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:59 AM   #7
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 04STi JAVA
Vehicle:
EVO Woudve been
Cheaper!!!!!

Default

Because i was unsure if i loaded map A or map B...so i read the rom i had on it. It was the right rom (thank God) lol. But i then noticed that my idle was kinda strange. So I checked learning view, and it was cleared.Dammit!! I had forgot that it resets after a rom read. Was hopin i could tune it to NOT go into relearn after a simple rom read. Its pretty stupid for it to reset learning values is it not? Why am i the only one this bothers. Does everybody out there just drive around and relearn trims after every read ? Im waitin on some help from the awesome guys over at Romraider maybe for some new definitions or some helpful insight....hopefully. I just hate the fact that even if i replace the battery...its gotta relearn because or the ecu reset. All Subys arent like this are they?
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 01:36 PM   #8
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paidfor View Post
Does everybody out there just drive around and relearn trims after every read ?
I do....doesn't bother me at all. If you tune everything (fuel trims) in as close to 0 as you can there should be no issue at all. I have no problems with my fuel trims resetting on my.

Something in your tune if off if you have to let your fuel trims learn before the car runs right.
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:59 PM   #9
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 04STi JAVA
Vehicle:
EVO Woudve been
Cheaper!!!!!

Default

Im inclined to believe you..cuz thats what i think too.


Learning view never shows any knock other than a occasional -.7 or so.......AF learned ranges are always between .40 and 1.0......(thats waaayyy less than the rule of thumb 5%)and o in D range.pretty damn good i think. I dunno why the hell it has to learn this way. I mean its not horrible.....just sluggish and idle wants to drop to 500ish before it catches up to the 900rpm target(Just for the first 10 mins after ecu reset(Or after reading rom lol). After 10 mins.........runs better than stock ever did lol. Idk....maybe im chasin a unicorn here. The older(2005ish) Hondas do this after a hard ecu reset. Our HDS software (Honda programming crap)even tells us on the prompt screen that idle may be irradic for the first 10 mins of idle after this reset. I just wish it wouldnt do it lol
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 02:18 PM   #10
Bamofo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159743
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Plymouth Ma
Vehicle:
07 STI Limited
TurboMike Tuned 2.35

Default

There are tables to fix the idle upon reset issues on romraider. mine was terrible. now it doesnt matter if i take the battery off.

Overrun/idle control maps will fix it.

or just wait for learning.
Bamofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 03:35 PM   #11
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 04STi JAVA
Vehicle:
EVO Woudve been
Cheaper!!!!!

Default

^^^Interesting.............



Im lookin into that right now. Thanks Bamofo !!!
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2013, 10:56 PM   #12
NSFW
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140444
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
05 Stage Free LGT
ATP 3076, 6MT, AVO FMIC

Default

You are basically waiting for the ECU to figure out that the throttle needs to be about 3% open in order to idle properly.

Use RR to find out what the idle opening really needs to be, by watching that parameter after the car has learned to idle nicely. Then you can speed that learning process a little bit by setting the idle cell in your DBW throttle table to 3% or whatever the value really needs to be.

Cobb insists that this is a bad idea, and it's better to leave that cell at 0% and tweak some other table instead. I personally can't imagine any drawbacks to putting the idle cell at the actual idle opening, and I can't imagine any advantages to having an unusable value (0%) in that cell. And this works well enough that I haven't bothered with the idle-learning tables.
NSFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 03:18 PM   #13
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: 04STi JAVA
Vehicle:
EVO Woudve been
Cheaper!!!!!

Default

Awsome info......thanks guys!!!!




Nasioc is the best sometimes lol
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.