Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday December 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 10:49 PM   #51
mprezme
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1814
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix
Vehicle:
2013 STI-Hatch*SOLD*

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBrass View Post
I'm using an adapter kit with my ar2 and have retained steering wheel controls, except for the phone steering wheel controls. Those don't work, but fwd/back, mode, and volume +/- all work still.
u head out to any meets? Maybe i can check it out. U got the monitor control active? Love to see it in action. Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mprezme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 11:05 PM   #52
SirBrass
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2013 STi Sedan
Silver

Default

I haven't been to any meets, but that's more due to laziness & life than lack of desire to do so.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:04 AM   #53
azscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115297
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 ej207 vf34
WRB

Default

Quote:
The parameters aren't the issue. It's the sampling rate, accuracy, data readout speed, etc. It's a fun toy, but that's all it is. For anyone wanting to get real dead nuts accurate information on what's going on with their car, Torque isn't the app/product, but for just under $30 as a complete package, it is a good code reader and fun to look at.
Skull - I agree 100% - with exceptions..

When I want to do serious logging and fine tune my map I get out my tactrix cable and laptop, nothing comes close to that.

However, I do believe that the app does have some place for some people. I live in AZ, tomorrow it's supposed to get 118 and running your car at WOT wouldn't be the best idea if the car is already running hot. You can get guages that will do this, but I can also check my coolant temp and IAT and see if I want to "get on it" or not at a quick glance.

Is it the best? No, of course not, but I do think it's going to help me monitor my major parameters and at least give me a good estimate of where I am.

Also, I'm not sure if you're aware, but the app now supports SSM (but only one bluetooth scanner can read SSM - OBDKey), which is much more capable than OBDII and from what I've seen, has the ability to gather just as much info as RR - probably not at the same rate as you just don't have hardwire connection nor the computing speed, but it's much better than standard OBDII and the potential is there (at least that's what I'm telling myself after sinking a couple hundred bucks into this project )

I've been researching my ass off for the last week trying to get the devs the info they need to add more support so that we can in fact see ALL the parameters that ARE there.

It's still just a toy, like you said, but I think it could really be a great tool, in addition to all the other tools already available.

That's my $0.02.....
azscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:08 AM   #54
SirBrass
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2013 STi Sedan
Silver

Default

Agreed there. I'm using it in the interim as a boost & mpg meter (I'm not measuring afr without a dedicated wideband). I'm going with real gauges for when I get my car tuned.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:11 AM   #55
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by azscooby View Post
Skull - I agree 100% - with exceptions..

When I want to do serious logging and fine tune my map I get out my tactrix cable and laptop, nothing comes close to that.

However, I do believe that the app does have some place for some people. I live in AZ, tomorrow it's supposed to get 118 and running your car at WOT wouldn't be the best idea if the car is already running hot. You can get guages that will do this, but I can also check my coolant temp and IAT and see if I want to "get on it" or not at a quick glance.
Meh, set up your car properly and learn to feel what the the car is telling you (this is not directed at you azscooby just a general statement) and you won't need to look at a gauge or scan tool to tell you that you can or cannot go WOT when it's hot outside.

But yeah, it's more cool than not to have Torque on the 7" screen if you already have an android device. I just wouldn't recommend purchasing an android device just to run Torque (which is what I did) or ARL.

Anywho.....this damn radio is sitting here and I have all the harnesses here, I just don't have my soldering iron or heatshrink tubes here. It's killing me, I almost want to go out there and just electrical tape the stuff up to see the thing turn on!
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:38 AM   #56
SirBrass
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2013 STi Sedan
Silver

Default

I use arl because I already have my music app that I love (power amp) & my s3 was the source through aux in on my previous hu for music & audio books. The ar2 + arl just made my phone also a computer source for potential data logging via bt (I use the mx scantool, which is not slow at sampling or sending). Which would be cool. But it was mostly for fun & experimentation.

My primary use of my android phone & arl is for music, spotify, & Pandora (easier to use the android app rather than the separate pioneer interface that they include with the ar hu firmware) while having nav via gmaps (using the ar2's more accurate GPS antenna), and having hands free phone use.

As far as wiring it up, I just used butt crimp connectors. Worked just fine.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 12:52 AM   #57
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBrass View Post

As far as wiring it up, I just used butt crimp connectors. Worked just fine.

Yeah, I'm sure it would be fine, but I'm just so used to doing installs on cars where the can-bus data/diagnostic system runs through the radio. Solder just gives me peace of mind, especially with what the previous owner has going on back there.
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 01:04 AM   #58
habitatxskate
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 197537
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NNJ
Vehicle:
06 WRX
matte black

Default

i have the original one, i'm no help here.
habitatxskate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 02:28 AM   #59
SirBrass
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 207263
Join Date: Apr 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2013 STi Sedan
Silver

Default

Yeah, the original was for the iPhone only. Ar2 + arl + modern phone blows any iPhone + ar2/3 out of the water, jailbroken or not.
SirBrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:24 AM   #60
wrxeter
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 134734
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: IE
Vehicle:
2013 WRX SE
Tangerine Orange Peel

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullV View Post
Yeah, I'm sure it would be fine, but I'm just so used to doing installs on cars where the can-bus data/diagnostic system runs through the radio. Solder just gives me peace of mind, especially with what the previous owner has going on back there.
They make aftermarket units that run the can bus through them? What cool things can they do?

Our harness has a Canh and Canl (and apparently the navi unit makes use of it), but no harnesses ever pin those forward (pin 11 and 12).
wrxeter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:09 AM   #61
mprezme
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1814
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix
Vehicle:
2013 STI-Hatch*SOLD*

Default

Check this out...
http://www.electronicexpress.com/cat...oneer-SPHDA210

Anyone order let me know. i've never ordered from them. use american express nothing can go wrong right?
mprezme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:27 AM   #62
Angelus911
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89967
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sport
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mprezme View Post
Check this out...
http://www.electronicexpress.com/cat...oneer-SPHDA210

Anyone order let me know. i've never ordered from them. use american express nothing can go wrong right?
Reseller ratings look pretty terrible I would pass
Angelus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:50 AM   #63
jaysh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 133200
Join Date: Nov 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Simi Valley, CA
Vehicle:
2013 STi Limited
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelus911 View Post
Reseller ratings look pretty terrible I would pass

Not saying this site is good, but Reseller ratings is a scam. I would use ANYTHING other than reseller ratings to review vendors. They make you pay to reply to negative posts, to implement a survey on your site, and very other shady tactics to "extort" almost. Just my rant, as I work for an online company.
jaysh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:30 PM   #64
Angelus911
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89967
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sport
DGM

Default

Point taken, and paying with a CC really minimizes any risk you may have as well.

I'm tempted just to get the AR3, and worry about any issues later. Doesn't seem like there's going to be a solution for what I want (complete iPhone mirroring) anytime soon
Angelus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 03:37 PM   #65
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mprezme View Post
Check this out...
http://www.electronicexpress.com/cat...oneer-SPHDA210

Anyone order let me know. i've never ordered from them. use american express nothing can go wrong right?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelus911 View Post
Reseller ratings look pretty terrible I would pass
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaysh View Post
Not saying this site is good, but Reseller ratings is a scam. I would use ANYTHING other than reseller ratings to review vendors. They make you pay to reply to negative posts, to implement a survey on your site, and very other shady tactics to "extort" almost. Just my rant, as I work for an online company.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelus911 View Post
Point taken, and paying with a CC really minimizes any risk you may have as well.

I'm tempted just to get the AR3, and worry about any issues later. Doesn't seem like there's going to be a solution for what I want (complete iPhone mirroring) anytime soon
The real issue with buying there will be warranty and customer support from Pioneer. Chances are you won't get any since the vendor is not a Pioneer Authorized Online Vendor.
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:05 PM   #66
Angelus911
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89967
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sport
DGM

Default

Angelus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 04:35 PM   #67
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Actually I take that all back. Electronic Express is an authorized vendor. I would order direct through them.

Last edited by SkullV; 06-28-2013 at 05:25 PM.
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 10:25 PM   #68
Jubert39
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 155598
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vernon Connecticut
Vehicle:
2004 AW Subaru WRX
JDM v7 STI spec-C

Default

Just ordered my appradio3 from crutchfield.com, cant wait
Jubert39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:18 PM   #69
mprezme
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1814
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix
Vehicle:
2013 STI-Hatch*SOLD*

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jubert39 View Post
Just ordered my appradio3 from crutchfield.com, cant wait
how much did u pay?
mprezme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:19 PM   #70
mprezme
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1814
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix
Vehicle:
2013 STI-Hatch*SOLD*

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullV View Post
Actually I take that all back. Electronic Express is an authorized vendor. I would order direct through them.
nice job. i havent done enough research for me to jump on it. for me at this point would be a buy because its a good deal.
mprezme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 11:39 PM   #71
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mprezme View Post
how much did u pay?
Either $399 or $499 depending on which one he ordered. Good luck getting Crutchfield to price match!
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 04:31 AM   #72
stevep360
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 259814
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default

can you turn off that stupid clock on the main screen?
stevep360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 10:24 AM   #73
Angelus911
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89967
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sport
DGM

Default

Ordered the DA210 yesterday from the Amazon link, if anything it's a great deal getting it for the same price as the DA110. Can't wait to get it in about a week
Angelus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 10:38 AM   #74
SkullV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357798
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Angelus911 View Post
Ordered the DA210 yesterday from the Amazon link, if anything it's a great deal getting it for the same price as the DA110. Can't wait to get it in about a week
Bad choice, cancel and order direct from electronic express. Same price and they are authorized!
SkullV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2013, 11:58 AM   #75
Angelus911
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89967
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sport
DGM

Default

They are the seller through Amazon so its a moot point. Plus I get 3x the points ordering through Amazon as well
Angelus911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.