Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday December 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-18-2013, 01:46 AM   #26
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

4. Torque App Gauges

Testing it out before I hard wire everything in. Still have to come up with what gauges I want to run.



This simple work around lets you use a junked Galaxy S phone, Video in signal, and a BT OBD dongle to use your screen as a gauge pack. I think this looks awesome, especially as an iPhone user, I have always been jealous of the Torque app. It looks like you can find Galaxy phones on craigslist for ~$50 or less with broken screens. Since I would leave it in the dash, I don't care if the screen really works. I will most likely be trying this one next.

http://avic411.com/index.php?/topic/...a/#entry250052

The original Galaxy S phone had analog video out through a 4-pole headphone jack. All subsequent Galaxy S phones used HDMI, which is a pain to convert to analog signal. I have found that only the Galaxy S Captivate from AT&T or the Galaxy S Vibrant from T-Mobile will allow this video out. The CDMA Galaxy S phones (Fascinate, Mesmerize, Showcase on Verizon, US Cellular, C Spire respectively) have this video out disabled.

You will need this cheap simple eBay cable HERE to run video out through the 3.5mm headphone jack.

Thinking about it more, the options are endless with an Android phone hooked up to the A/V in on this unit. Imagine getting emulators to run and connecting to the phone through a BT game pad. I really going to have some fun with this.
THIS link has some good info on vehicle specific use for an old Android phone.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by JSchell1309; 08-07-2013 at 01:41 AM.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 02:13 AM   #27
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

saved.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:56 AM   #28
Trustkevin13
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259184
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Subaru WRX
Silver

Default

I need to see this once I'm over there! Great write up! Looks pretty awesome with the gauges, wonder if I could pull that off on my Rosen nav.
Trustkevin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 02:11 AM   #29
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trustkevin13 View Post
I need to see this once I'm over there! Great write up! Looks pretty awesome with the gauges, wonder if I could pull that off on my Rosen nav.
Thanks man! Yeah the write up took a while to organize all my crappy pics and try to get everything down in writing before I forgot most of it. I now have a greater appreciation for what Overland04 does around here.

I'll try to make a KC meet up once you are out here. I have been so damn busy lately. Apparently all my friends think it's a great idea to get married a few years after college.

If the Rosen has A/V in or even a backup camera in, I'm sure you could hack something together.

I have more to do, I just received the phone today so I was excited to try it. I am going to use Tasker to fully automate the phone. I'm going to hard wire the phone behind the pioneer and use Tasker to power the screen, turn on BT, and turn on the Torque app once it senses power. Once I turn off the car and it loses power Tasker will shut everything off and turn the phone to stand by mode. This should allow the phone battery to last over a week or two. I drive every day so keeping it charged shouldn't be a problem.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 02:19 PM   #30
stiggysaurus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338225
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 08844
Vehicle:
2013 GR STi
WRB

Default

which BT OBD dongle are you using? i love this thread lol
stiggysaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2013, 10:50 PM   #31
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiggysaurus View Post
which BT OBD dongle are you using? i love this thread lol
Thanks, write ups aren't my thing. I like to just jam through an install and always forget to document it. This was my first try haha.

I ordered a cheapo one on amazon, found it in my order history. I ordered from "Gadget Zone" vendor on there fulfilled by Amazon

Super Mini ELM327 V1.5 Bluetooth OBD2 OBD-II CAN-BUS Auto Diagnostic Scanner Tool:Amazon:AutomotiveSuper Mini ELM327 V1.5 Bluetooth OBD2 OBD-II CAN-BUS Auto Diagnostic Scanner Tool:Amazon:Automotive
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2013, 12:52 AM   #32
stiggysaurus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 338225
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: 08844
Vehicle:
2013 GR STi
WRB

Default

thanks! any tips on finding a used x9310?
stiggysaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 12:28 PM   #33
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stiggysaurus View Post
thanks! any tips on finding a used x9310?
Check eBay, that's where I picked mine up. Also the X930 and the x940 should work just the same. They are all the same models with software being the separation between them. With the software update I did, mine is essentially an X940 now. I am not 100% sure as no one else has tried it yet.

If you can find a good price on any of those 3 models I think it's worth a shot.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 03:03 PM   #34
evilspoons
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 321311
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
2012 STi 5-door
World Rally Blue

Default

The X930 is exactly the same as the X9310, there aren't even any software differences. The difference is that they ship it to OEMs instead of end users and it doesn't come with some of the accessories.
evilspoons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 04:16 PM   #35
luan87us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335013
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2013 Premium WRX 5dr
WRB

Default

I wish the USDM Fujitsu Ten OEM Nav unit was this cool. Update costs $150 since it didn't come with the car.
luan87us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2013, 08:59 PM   #36
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilspoons View Post
The X930 is exactly the same as the X9310, there aren't even any software differences. The difference is that they ship it to OEMs instead of end users and it doesn't come with some of the accessories.
This is what I had thought. I'm pretty sure you had said this earlier in the thread as well. I want to say that AVIC411 has said the X940 is electronically the same unit, just shipped with the 2012 firmware. I would be interested in seeing if a X940 is plug and play like this as well.

Like you said, I am confident the X930 is. I jumped on the X9310 since it was the exact OEM model shipped with the car and it had the best chances of working.

Quote:
Originally Posted by luan87us View Post
I wish the USDM Fujitsu Ten OEM Nav unit was this cool. Update costs $150 since it didn't come with the car.
See if there is a fan site for that radio. I got most of these things off of the AVIC411.com. Lot's of smart people on there doing cool things. The update was also a $150 charge if you want to go the OEM route. Some guys found a way around it and it's pretty simple to hack on. The 2012 update really just upgraded the TomTom maps and made them usable. Before the update it was hit or miss if it would find an address. The update is so much quicker. I don't know that it's worth the $150 though.

I rode in my buddies XV Crosstrek this weekend and liked the Fujitsu Ten radio a lot. Biggest annoyance is not being able to input an address while we are moving. Definitely need to figure out the handbrake override for that unit.

Last edited by JSchell1309; 08-13-2013 at 09:06 PM.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2013, 09:50 AM   #37
luan87us
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335013
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: SL,UT
Vehicle:
2013 Premium WRX 5dr
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchell1309 View Post
See if there is a fan site for that radio. I got most of these things off of the AVIC411.com. Lot's of smart people on there doing cool things. The update was also a $150 charge if you want to go the OEM route. Some guys found a way around it and it's pretty simple to hack on. The 2012 update really just upgraded the TomTom maps and made them usable. Before the update it was hit or miss if it would find an address. The update is so much quicker. I don't know that it's worth the $150 though.

I rode in my buddies XV Crosstrek this weekend and liked the Fujitsu Ten radio a lot. Biggest annoyance is not being able to input an address while we are moving. Definitely need to figure out the handbrake override for that unit.
Nope no fansite unfortunately. Subaru recently released a 2013 Q3 map update for the FT HU and it is $150. I can do w/e I want while driving . With the FT you need to disconnect the VSS signal. I never connect my VSS signal to the HU when I install it. It supposed to help the Navigation works better when you have low/bad signal quality. However I think mine works just fine without it. I'm not sure if you need to ground the handbrake signal because I never did that and mine doesn't lock out when I have my handbrake down. I really like this unit too especially for the price I got it for. I've been trying to figure out how to play DIVX video on it as well. First few files I tried only give me audio and a green screen.
luan87us is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 03:55 PM   #38
heavyD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 194216
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Vehicle:
2013 STI Sport-tech

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchell1309 View Post
It was extremely simple and worked perfectly.

An alternate way is to purchase the eBay SD card. I believe all the seller has done is download these files onto a 4 gig card and sells it to you. Once you put the files on the card it really is stupid proof.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/141000792606...84.m1497.l2649
I did this upgrade a few days ago and unless you own an Android phone it's not really much of a noticeable upgrade outside of the updated maps. I'm kind of surprised how little difference there is between the X930BT and X940BT.
heavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 04:07 PM   #39
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by heavyD View Post

I did this upgrade a few days ago and unless you own an Android phone it's not really much of a noticeable upgrade outside of the updated maps. I'm kind of surprised how little difference there is between the X930BT and X940BT.
Agree, the maps are actually usable in Kansas City now. The back roads are still not the best. Checking in on AVIC411 every now and then to see if they have released the North American 2013 upgrade yet.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:55 PM   #40
phenryiv1
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 91212
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Martinsburg, WV
Vehicle:
2011 WRX 5DR
Satin White Pearl

Default

Maybe I missed it in all of that but...part number and/or cost for the Pioneer/Subaru harness through Subaru of Canada?
phenryiv1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 06:52 PM   #41
KManZ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220694
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Fairfax, VA
Vehicle:
2012 STi
Satin White Pearl

Default

Just bought one of these brand new off of eBay Now just need to finagle the Pioneer/Subie harness from Canada...
KManZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2013, 08:30 PM   #42
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phenryiv1 View Post
Maybe I missed it in all of that but...part number and/or cost for the Pioneer/Subaru harness through Subaru of Canada?
It's in the first post under components. It's also the same part number that is on the sticker in the picture of the harness. P/N SWI-PSUBFSTI/EX

It was $90 + shipping and they don't ship to the US.

Quote:
Originally Posted by KManZ View Post
Just bought one of these brand new off of eBay Now just need to finagle the Pioneer/Subie harness from Canada...
Good deal man. If you need anything just post in here or shoot me a PM. Also verify with Pioneer of Canada that it will work in a WRX. I don't see why it wouldn't but doesn't hurt to ask.

Last edited by JSchell1309; 09-07-2013 at 01:17 AM.
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2013, 01:32 PM   #43
KManZ
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 220694
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Fairfax, VA
Vehicle:
2012 STi
Satin White Pearl

Default

Good stuff, thanks man! I have an STi, so no worries there. And, some co-workers are going to Canada on business soon, so there's my chance to acquire the harness
KManZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:23 PM   #44
Jose99
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164319
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lakehurst NAS, NJ
Vehicle:
2013 STi/05 Rs
Silver Bullet

Default

Just read the entire thread, Looks great!. I just picked up a used X9310BT from ebay for a good price with everything including the metra sswc. It looks mint now I just need to order the pioneer/subaru harness.
Jose99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:40 PM   #45
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Thanks! If you have any questions feel free to post them up or PM me.

Good luck, glad to see others trying this!
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:54 PM   #46
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jose99 View Post
I just picked up a used X9310BT from ebay for a good price with everything including the metra sswc. It looks mint now I just need to order the pioneer/subaru harness.
If that X9310BT really came with Metra's Axxess ASWC (or ASWC-1) module, you don't want the Canadian plug-and-play Pioneer/Subaru harness. The plug-and-play harness is integrated with (hard-wired to) a PAC SWI-PS module.

I suggest you buy a plain replacement AVIC-X930 power/speaker harness (if your eBay HU doesn't already include one), and combine that with my 20-pin harness and your ASWC's harness. Yes, you'll have to do a little soldering or crimping, but it will cost you less than the Canadian harness (especially since you're in the US), and you'll have a better, update-able SWC interface module that will also work with different HU brands and cars.
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 11:57 PM   #47
Jose99
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 164319
Join Date: Nov 2007
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lakehurst NAS, NJ
Vehicle:
2013 STi/05 Rs
Silver Bullet

Default

^ pm me about the harness please would like to know more. Thanks
Jose99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 12:14 AM   #48
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchell1309 View Post
2. Handbrake Bypass:

[link to wretched YouTube video that everybody finds/posts]
...
This is on the Pioneer RCA Cord CDP1375. You need to remove the pin and yellow wire [with black stripe] and move it UP one slot. Here is the the harness with the pin moved to the correct spot.
...
See this guide for instructions on how to extract and insert a pin/wire into the Pioneer AVIC's RCA harness plug without destroying it.

When you do this mod, you do not need to ground the AVIC's parking brake lead. That may have been required for the earliest AVIC models, but everything since at least the Z120 / X920 and later do not need that. Many of my customers have confirmed this.

Just insulate the end of the AVIC's brake wire, and ground the bypass wire.

Also, AVIC models that were intended for markets outside of the USA and Canada (e.g., Europe, Australia, etc.) may not need the bypass hack. On those HUs, you can simply ground the AVIC's parking brake lead. Try it and see.

Incidentally, I have factory-made wires with the proper pin to fit the AVIC's RCA harness, so you won't even have to extract their mute wire. I only sell these with other items (or as a pack of 10 or more for installers or a group-buy).
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 01:26 AM   #49
JSchell1309
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321321
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: KC,MO
Vehicle:
'11 STI Hatchback
Dom 1.5XTR, E85

Default

Thanks, updated original post. I may have to try that method out if I ever tear into the radio again. Seems the grounded way is working, is it negatively affecting anything as it is?
JSchell1309 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 06:44 AM   #50
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSchell1309 View Post
I may have to try that method out if I ever tear into the radio again. Seems the grounded way is working, is it negatively affecting anything as it is?
On the new '50 models (Z150, X950, X850), it will cause a warning message to pop up ('parking brake not connected properly') whenever you play a DVD, and possibly at other random times. On the previous models, it doesn't hurt, it's just an extra unneeded step.
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.