Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday November 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-01-2002, 09:07 PM   #1
Tronner
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12845
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2008 BMW 335xi
Sparkling Graphite

Default Which Palm Pilot do I need to control UTEC?

Can anyone tell me what features I need in a Palm Pilot in order to be able to fully control the UTEC software?

Are there certain ports it has to have? Or certain programs or interfaces?

Or, is a notebook of somekind cheaper or better?

I'm not very familiar with Palm Pilots, so I could use a little help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Tronner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2002, 09:48 PM   #2
paul99se
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17822
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Default

And Palm that you can find a serial cable for should work. There are a couple of Terminal programs out for Palm.

The Vx that I have works, and I'm sure the newer m series would work too.

It seems that using a Palm would be a bit of a pita for anything other than logging... entering a bunch of params on a Palm stylus does not sound like fun.

I'm using a laptop... it's bigger but the screen is easy to read and I can graph the logs in Excel right in the car.

-Paul
paul99se is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2002, 10:04 PM   #3
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

I have tested the UTEC with a Palm M100. The Palm M100 comes with a plug in serial cable instead of a cradle. I have tried various VT100 emulator programs but the ones I have tried seem to have limitations which may prevent you from using all the features of the UTEC.

We have tuned using the Palm when our laptop died, but it is slow and can be tedious.

I recommend a laptop. Because we only need a terminal program almost any laptop should work including very old ones.

Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2002, 01:55 AM   #4
thebusiness999
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3767
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: back in Los Angeles!
Vehicle:
2008 BMW 135i !!!
Jet Black

Default

Would programming UTEC with a WindowsCE based PDA be any easier than using a Palm software PDA? OR is it jsut the higer speed of the laptop that makes them more convenient?
thebusiness999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What type of giant robot do you want to control/pilot? edkwon Off-Topic 252 10-14-2009 09:16 AM
What do I need to do to become a helicopter pilot out of highschool? ilovemybike Off-Topic 57 02-25-2008 02:57 PM
Selling 2.5 wrx to Canadian. Do I need to detune a UTEC map for 91 Highbred Built Motor Discussion 6 07-12-2007 12:06 AM
I seem to be missing a swaybar- which parts do I need to install one? azn2yunr Brakes, Steering & Suspension 13 10-05-2005 01:46 PM
What do I need to run UTEC Scoobyracer1 Engine Management & Tuning 9 02-03-2005 10:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.