Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2002, 02:46 AM   #1
xfactor834
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12506
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default Can the UTEC Pull CEL Codes???

It's midnight here and I'm exhausted. I looked at Turbo XS' website and read about the UTEC itself, but couldn't find an answer. I really don't feel like searching and reading the long-ass 300-post thread about the UTEC that was started a month or so ago.

I was just wondering if it could pull codes, just in a case a CEL came up once in a while.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
xfactor834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 08:33 AM   #2
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Afraid not.

Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 09:08 AM   #3
BOP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8681
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: this is pointless
Post

this is pointless

Last edited by BOP; 12-04-2002 at 02:27 PM.
BOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 09:32 AM   #4
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default ok... I'm a post whore... SO?!? ;)

But fear not.... in 2004 Uber-TEC will be out!!!! It'll be so pimped it'll even come with ACU-jack and Auto-Suck!



Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 10:59 AM   #5
JaMa
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5206
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Centennial, Colorado
Default Blocks codes

It may not be able to pull the codes, but as I understand it is able to BLOCK all of the codes to make you oblivious to them - is this true?

Face it - ignorance is bliss and I for one cannot stand the "shines like the sun" MIL light on in my face while I drive, especially at night.

JaMa
JaMa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 11:02 AM   #6
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default Re: Blocks codes

Quote:
Originally posted by JaMa
It may not be able to pull the codes, but as I understand it is able to BLOCK all of the codes to make you oblivious to them - is this true?

Face it - ignorance is bliss and I for one cannot stand the "shines like the sun" MIL light on in my face while I drive, especially at night.

JaMa
You are correct.. it can do that..

BUT... you will NOT know if you have a true CEL until you turn the car off and back on.. it'll keep the light lit for a few seconds.. THEN kill it... so if your racing... and loose something, you will NEVER know until you restart the car..

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 11:46 AM   #7
xfactor834
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12506
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default

So what would be the best tool to combine with the UTEC to pull codes (assuming I don't want to go to AutoZone everytime I throw a CEL)???

It's kinda harsh spending a G on the UTEC and then spending a few extra hundred dollars for a code puller.

xfactor834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 01:04 PM   #8
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

I guess that's relative.... most of us have had OBD-II scanners well before there was a UTEC.. much less the Delta Dash even.

IMO, you didn't buy the UTEC for diagnostic functionality. It is a engine computer.

Not the cadallac of data loggers (DD), or the diagnostic tool from hell (OBD-II.com).

It's like saying... I spent a $1000 on a utec... why should I spend $200 on a boost gauge?

Piece of mind my friend...

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 02:16 PM   #9
roybfr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14456
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: WDM Iowa
Vehicle:
09 BMW 335i Sedan
69/72/01 Corvettes

Default

Jorge

If you are getting a UTEC and already have a OBD-II scan tool do you think that it is worth the extra $300 to get DD for better data logging/viewing? With the UTEC are you still using DD.

Troy
roybfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 02:24 PM   #10
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by roybfr
Jorge

If you are getting a UTEC and already have a OBD-II scan tool do you think that it is worth the extra $300 to get DD for better data logging/viewing? With the UTEC are you still using DD.

Troy
Yes... with the UTEC you are limited to the speed of the port. So there's a big difference in the resolution of the data I capture at 115k BPS, vs. 19.2k BPS

But that's my $.02

for 99% of the individuals out there, the UTEC will be fine for logging..

You'll still need an affordable OBD-II solution (<$150) for code pulling, diagnostics, etc.

Though.. the DD will perform an ECU reset (you know clear codes, AND fuel trims, etc...) where the OBD-II will not... so... OBD-II will still require killing power to the car for computer resets.

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 04:48 PM   #11
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
05 GTO/11 Sonata(!)

Default

I was told by ECUTek that the clear code function and ECU reset are the same thing, and that is why the DD only has a reset capability and no separate clear code command. If this is indeed true then when you clear codes using a scanner you are also performing a reset.
Not stating this as fact, only reporting what I was told. However I do have to put a fair amount of faith in what ECUTek says, they are experts on these ECUs.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 07:20 PM   #12
BOP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8681
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: this is pointless
Post

this is pointless

Last edited by BOP; 12-04-2002 at 02:28 PM.
BOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2002, 11:21 PM   #13
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BOP
Same thing with OBDII.
I'll argue that one till I'm blue in the face.

ECUTEK rides subaru proprietary data network. OBD-II is it's own interface with it's own parameters and outputs.. even the service manuals make that direct distinction between the two... plus I have a lot of seat time, logs, and understanding to say that when I clear a code with OBD-II it does not reset my fuel trims, learned knock, and a bunch of other stuff that I know the DD does using the subaru network reset function.

Peace,
Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 12:08 AM   #14
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
05 GTO/11 Sonata(!)

Default

So the DD reset command will clear both codes and learned data, and the OBDII clear code command from a generic scan tool will only clear codes. Makes sense, I can buy that.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 12:52 AM   #15
BOP
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8681
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: this is pointless
Post

this is pointless

Last edited by BOP; 12-04-2002 at 02:29 PM.
BOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 01:58 AM   #16
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

4: There are different ways of doing this..

DD uses subaru's ECU reset protocol which clears everything, and since learned knock correction is not necessary for OBD-II it couldn't be included. Here's the followup to that.

I have Alex Peppers OBD-II converter for the ISO protocol.. which issues a MODE 4 OBD-II command which does the following:

(quoted from the OBD-II standard)
Quote:
Mode 4 (Clear / Reset Diagnostic information )

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This mode is generally used to reset the MIL indicator (or "check engine light") after the vehicle has been worked on to make repairs, etc. This mode has no PIDs. It consists of the three header bytes, the mode byte (which is 04 hex), and the CRC or checksum byte. The vehicle returns three header bytes, the mode byte (which is 44 hex) and the CRC or checksum byte.
Please note that a mode 4 request will Clear ALL diagnostic data as well as the trouble codes, so be sure you have retrieved any on board test results that you may want to look at before you use mode 4.

Mode 4 causes the vehicle to clear or reset the following data. The modes/Pids that are used to access the data before clearing it are included for reference. Note that some of the modes and pids mentioned may not be supported on a particular vehicle.

Number of Trouble Codes (Mode 1 Pid 1)
All Diagnostic Trouble Codes (Mode 3)
Freeze Frame Trouble Codes (Mode 1 Pid 2)
All Freeze Frame Data (Mode 2)
Oxygen Sensor test data (Mode 5)
On Board Monitoring Test Status (Mode 1 Pid 1)
On Board Monitoring Test Results (Mode 6 and Mode 7)

Here are all the MODE possibilities:

Quote:
MODE 1: Status of onboard tests , Fuel system status, Engine load, Coolant temperature, Fuel Trim (Long and short term), Manifold Pressure, Engine Rpm, Vehicle speed, Ignition timing advance, Intake air temperature, Intake air flow rate, Throttle position, Secondary air status, Oxygen sensor locations, Oxygen sensor voltages, and there are also a few others. Some data items may not be supported by a given vehicle.
MODE 2: This mode retrieves data that is similar to mode 1 above, but it was stored as a "Freeze frame" at the instant that the vehicle discovered a problem and set a diagnostic trouble code (DTC). Not all of the mode 1 variables are included in mode 2.
MODE 3: Reports Powertrain diagnostic trouble codes ("P" codes), including manufacturer specific codes which are reported under this mode.
MODE 4: Clears diagnostic trouble codes. It also clears the result of continuously and non-continuously monitored on board test results (modes 5 and 6), as well as freeze frame data.
MODE 5: Reports On board Oxygen sensor test results.
Some vehicles perform background diagnostics on the various oxygen sensors and this mode reports the results. Some of them are generic, but SAE also included provisions for manufacturer specific tests. Some vehicles use mode 6 to report these results.
MODE 6: Reports On board (non-continuously monitored) test results. This mode reports the results of various tests that the vehicle has performed. The interface will report any available data and format it in the SAE defined method, but many of these tests are manufacturer specific, so our PC software cannot interpret them for a specific vehicle. It will display the test value, and the upper and/or lower limit that the vehicle reports.
MODE 7: Reports On board monitoring results for continuously monitored systems. These are basically similar to mode 3 trouble codes, but they are set after a single driving cycle. They are useful to see if the vehicle has detected any problems after repairs have been made.
MODE 9: Mode 9 reports various data such as the vehicle's VIN number and calibration data. The current software attempts to retrieve the VIN number, but other functions appear to be manufacturer specific and are not querried.

So, if SFT is possibly determined in part by the oxygen diagnostic data cleared by mode 4 then that could affect fueling. But, as I had imagined, there is no support for any sort of learned knock correction with OBD-II. So you can clear a check engine light, and not go through the ardous task of relearning what your car likes with your mods.

Cheers,
Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 09:27 AM   #17
Carlo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 18376
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 367 WHP / 460 at the Crank!
Vehicle:
367 WHP!
460 HP at the crank!

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mulder
I was told by ECUTek that the clear code function and ECU reset are the same thing, and that is why the DD only has a reset capability and no separate clear code command. If this is indeed true then when you clear codes using a scanner you are also performing a reset.
Not stating this as fact, only reporting what I was told. However I do have to put a fair amount of faith in what ECUTek says, they are experts on these ECUs.
With Delta Dash you are correct. There is no clear code option. The way you clear the codes is to reset the ECU. Many other OBD-II tools will allow you to reset the CELS but not reset the ECU.

Carlo
Carlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 09:30 AM   #18
Carlo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 18376
Join Date: May 2002
Location: 367 WHP / 460 at the Crank!
Vehicle:
367 WHP!
460 HP at the crank!

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TurboXS (Pete)
Afraid not.

Pete
(TurboXS)
Hey Pete, being able to turn of the CEL/MIL is a blessing and a curse. Would it be possible in a later release of the software to be able to enter 3 to 5 codes that can be ignored but be able to show everything else?

The main "problem" code is the cat effeciency code from running only one cat in the system. By being able to tell the UTEC to only ignore a couple codes we can ignore codes like this but still be notified of other problems.

I would love this. It should not slow the code/processing down hardly at all if you only had to check for a couple codes to ignore.

Carlo
Carlo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 10:39 AM   #19
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Carlo


Hey Pete, being able to turn of the CEL/MIL is a blessing and a curse. Would it be possible in a later release of the software to be able to enter 3 to 5 codes that can be ignored but be able to show everything else?

Carlo
Unfortunately this is not possible with the current revision board.

We are always developing our products though.............

Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 10:43 AM   #20
crazyhorse
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19502
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2010 Impreza with no
scoop. =(

Default

Seeing as the unit is plugged up to the ECU.. it can't be that hard to pull the engine codes. If it's blocking them obviously basic support for them is already in place, or it just takes over the light controls. Is there any chance you guys might integrate the ability to pull codes? Even if it's just to see what codes were blocked by the unit, I think it would be great.
crazyhorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2002, 12:50 PM   #21
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

I can answer that one...

typically the way it works is that all I/O comes via the datalink connector... the question is (as Pete mentioned) does the UTEC simply pass those connectors on through the harness? If that is the case, then there is no PHYSICAL ability to do this.

..... YET...

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can the UTEc clear CEL codes? scutzi128 UTEC 7 11-02-2007 08:19 AM
HELP: where can I borrow a CEL code reader or get the code pulled for free? anonymous_wolf Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 5 08-11-2005 01:40 AM
Who can pull CEL codes Bad Dogg Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 8 08-28-2003 09:42 PM
Can anyone in Ottawa pull CEL codes? goobie Canada Region Forum 4 08-12-2002 01:27 PM
Who can pull CEL codes? Concillian Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 31 01-21-2002 12:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.