Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2014, 09:23 PM   #101
quantum13
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 389143
Join Date: Apr 2014
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW TEXAS
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffsun View Post
so with an aftermarket HU, you will lose the song info screen on the small screen above only? Would it affect the other screens like trip, wheels, reverse etc.
yes, you lose the song info on the upper screen. no, it doesn't affect other screens. it's just like it is on the limited; we dont have the audio screen on the MFD either b/c the factory nav displays the song info
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
quantum13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 08:59 AM   #102
yg17
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 382533
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO
Vehicle:
2015 WRX 6MT ltd+nav
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed77 View Post
Some pioneer radio's have a trick, you do some touch screen pattern (think old school game pad sequence lol) but this does not work on all models.

The NEX4000 for example, the one I installed, this trick didn't work so for a few bucks I got my bypass on eBay and it worked perfectly.
To do the bypass on the NEX models, all you have to do is ground the parking brake wire and then touch and hold in the lower left corner of the screen for about 10 seconds or so. You don't need any bypass modules.
yg17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 10:38 AM   #103
Redeemed77
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 378138
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
CWP

Default

I read on AVIC...that forum, Im forgetting the exact name I think that on the NEX4000 model that didn't work.

The touching screen trick, but maybe Im wrong?


Sent from my iPhone using NASIOC
Redeemed77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 10:57 AM   #104
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

It's a motion control bypass. As I understand it, it is something that is tied into the the GPS of the 5000NEX and up. For the 4000NEX, you do need the bypass module.

The bypass also has to be done with the unit off. It's about an inch up and an inch in from the lower left hand corner as well. There are a couple of youtube videos on how to do it.
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2014, 11:55 PM   #105
Mrlaigle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357654
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny0723 View Post
Has anyone done it? I want to get a new WRX with factory nav, HK, and push start but it must be ordered. I'm thinking of just getting a limited model and do the nav after market. Any insight in where the GPS receiver would be mounted? Could it be combined with existing shark fin antenna? Or would it be another bulky unit mounted on my windshield? I've seen kits that supposedly retains functionality of the steering wheel controls... Any one have experience with this and can share insights and pics?


GPS receiver went right on too of the unit in the dash. Gets perfect reception.
Mrlaigle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 09:33 AM   #106
yg17
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 382533
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO
Vehicle:
2015 WRX 6MT ltd+nav
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by millertime359 View Post
It's a motion control bypass. As I understand it, it is something that is tied into the the GPS of the 5000NEX and up. For the 4000NEX, you do need the bypass module.

The bypass also has to be done with the unit off. It's about an inch up and an inch in from the lower left hand corner as well. There are a couple of youtube videos on how to do it.
Ah yeah, forgot the 4000NEX doesn't have GPS.

The bypass trick worked on my 5000NEX. I just hope Pioneer doesn't remove it in the CarPlay firmware update.
yg17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2014, 09:44 AM   #107
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yg17 View Post
Ah yeah, forgot the 4000NEX doesn't have GPS.

The bypass trick worked on my 5000NEX. I just hope Pioneer doesn't remove it in the CarPlay firmware update.
Well I imagine if they do, worst case is we have to buy an install the bypass module. Not too big of a deal.
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 04:01 PM   #108
Hermanbaggins
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 294286
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: lala land
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
White

Default

Any ideas on how to connect the OEM mic into a after market radio?
Hermanbaggins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2014, 07:39 PM   #109
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermanbaggins View Post
Any ideas on how to connect the OEM mic into a after market radio?
From everything I read, it can be done, but it is a huge pain and not really worth it.

There isn't a pre-made harness that makes it "plug and play"
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 01:48 PM   #110
cpages2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4711
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Vehicle:
2014 Corvette
Stingray

Default

So I ordered my AVIC-6000NEX, Metra kit, USB converter and the 20 Forward harness/Axxess from AE64.

Hoping to do the install this weekend, just not sure how long it takes David to send out his harness.


Few questions for the folks who did install;

1) Is there a guide anywhere that shows how to pull out old deck. Looking mainly for trim removal instructions.

2) With the Axxess kit, I assume the small MIC/Headphone looking wire will plug into my head unit?
cpages2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 02:54 PM   #111
quantum13
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 389143
Join Date: Apr 2014
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW TEXAS
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpages2 View Post
So I ordered my AVIC-6000NEX, Metra kit, USB converter and the 20 Forward harness/Axxess from AE64.

Hoping to do the install this weekend, just not sure how long it takes David to send out his harness.


Few questions for the folks who did install;

1) Is there a guide anywhere that shows how to pull out old deck. Looking mainly for trim removal instructions.

2) With the Axxess kit, I assume the small MIC/Headphone looking wire will plug into my head unit?
can you provide link to what you got at AE64? curious to know how it goes...wasn't clear on whether a harness from AE64 would work for people who already have HK/nav
quantum13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 03:00 PM   #112
cpages2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4711
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Palm Harbor, FL
Vehicle:
2014 Corvette
Stingray

Default

I ordered:

http://ae64.com/20-pinfwdharness.htm

and

http://ae64.com/ASWC-steering-wheel-interface.htm


He has notes on the install if you have HK/NAV, I do not so I was not worries.


My only gripe with AE64 is he is very slow to respond and has the strictest ordering procedures. I am worried because I added the 20 pin standard + VSS for my head unit but when I got my order confirmation from Paypal it just says Standard (no VSS). I e-mailed right away but no response, so we shall see. I am hopeful all goes ok.
cpages2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 05:00 PM   #113
Subiflowlife
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 388047
Join Date: Apr 2014
Vehicle:
2015 Wrx
White

Default

Hey anyone know of the upgraded speakers are amped? Any asking cause I saw this power pack from alpine that sits behind your dash and amps your mains
Subiflowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 05:15 PM   #114
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subiflowlife View Post
Hey anyone know of the upgraded speakers are amped? Any asking cause I saw this power pack from alpine that sits behind your dash and amps your mains
Are you talking about the H/K speakers or the Kicker speakers?

If you have the H/K speakers, then yes they do have an amp.
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 05:20 PM   #115
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpages2 View Post
So I ordered my AVIC-6000NEX, Metra kit, USB converter and the 20 Forward harness/Axxess from AE64.

Hoping to do the install this weekend, just not sure how long it takes David to send out his harness.


Few questions for the folks who did install;

1) Is there a guide anywhere that shows how to pull out old deck. Looking mainly for trim removal instructions.

2) With the Axxess kit, I assume the small MIC/Headphone looking wire will plug into my head unit?
1) http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2430330

Yours will be a little different as you have auto climate, so there shouldn't be any cables, just a plug. This should should help with everything else though.

2) Yes, as you can see in that build log, there is a "headphone" style plug on the back of the radio. Read the install directions for your radio, it will show you exactly which one to plug into.
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 06:44 PM   #116
Subiflowlife
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 388047
Join Date: Apr 2014
Vehicle:
2015 Wrx
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by millertime359 View Post
Are you talking about the H/K speakers or the Kicker speakers? If you have the H/K speakers, then yes they do have an amp.
Gonna be honest not sure. Not the kicker sub for sure. I got the upgraded speakers with the tweeters. So I'm guessing they are the h/k? I don't have the touch screen! Simple terms I guess I'm looking for if the door speakers are amped.
Subiflowlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 07:16 PM   #117
Redeemed77
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 378138
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
CWP

Default

Question, since I installed my first radio in my 2015 WRX, did you all just plug in the stock antenna cable or did you add a part or adapter?

I ask because 2 stations are pretty consistent on HD yet all the others barely stay on HD for more than 2 seconds. Did I mess up something? Is using the stock antenna cable wrong or could it be lose? Is there something wrong with my radio?

(D) All of the above

?????? Lol
Redeemed77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 07:22 PM   #118
yg17
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 382533
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO
Vehicle:
2015 WRX 6MT ltd+nav
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum13 View Post
can you provide link to what you got at AE64? curious to know how it goes...wasn't clear on whether a harness from AE64 would work for people who already have HK/nav
Halfway down the page.....

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2644217
yg17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 08:00 PM   #119
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subiflowlife View Post
Gonna be honest not sure. Not the kicker sub for sure. I got the upgraded speakers with the tweeters. So I'm guessing they are the h/k? I don't have the touch screen! Simple terms I guess I'm looking for if the door speakers are amped.
If you don't have the touchscreen, then you shouldn't have the H/K.

So answer to your question, no they shouldn't be amped, and yes you can use that Alpine powerpack.

If you don't have the Kicker speakers, I would honestly look into some new speakers as well.

Big questions are, what is your budget and what are your plans/expectations for your stereo.
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 08:01 PM   #120
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed77 View Post
Question, since I installed my first radio in my 2015 WRX, did you all just plug in the stock antenna cable or did you add a part or adapter?

I ask because 2 stations are pretty consistent on HD yet all the others barely stay on HD for more than 2 seconds. Did I mess up something? Is using the stock antenna cable wrong or could it be lose? Is there something wrong with my radio?

(D) All of the above

?????? Lol
Did you wire up the antenna booster when you did the swap?
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 11:27 PM   #121
Redeemed77
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 378138
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2015 WRX
CWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by millertime359 View Post
Did you wire up the antenna booster when you did the swap?
Bosterwhatchamacallit? Explain a bit more...please
Redeemed77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 11:52 PM   #122
quantum13
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 389143
Join Date: Apr 2014
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW TEXAS
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
DGM

Default

thanks for replying. that's actually why i asked - because his harness says its not for cars with nav...was hoping he made a harness for those of us WITH nav


Quote:
Originally Posted by cpages2 View Post
I ordered:

http://ae64.com/20-pinfwdharness.htm

and

http://ae64.com/ASWC-steering-wheel-interface.htm


He has notes on the install if you have HK/NAV, I do not so I was not worries.


My only gripe with AE64 is he is very slow to respond and has the strictest ordering procedures. I am worried because I added the 20 pin standard + VSS for my head unit but when I got my order confirmation from Paypal it just says Standard (no VSS). I e-mailed right away but no response, so we shall see. I am hopeful all goes ok.
quantum13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2014, 11:55 PM   #123
quantum13
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 389143
Join Date: Apr 2014
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW TEXAS
Vehicle:
2015 WRX Limited
DGM

Default

i have been following this thread also. it is more relevant to me, so i can see why you posted the link but i have not see anyone there specifically link to the right AE64 harness, only the Metra harness you put in your (very helpful) first post. if i'm missing something, a post # would be helpful

Quote:
Originally Posted by yg17 View Post
quantum13 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 08:33 AM   #124
yg17
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 382533
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: St. Louis, MO
Vehicle:
2015 WRX 6MT ltd+nav
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by quantum13 View Post
i have been following this thread also. it is more relevant to me, so i can see why you posted the link but i have not see anyone there specifically link to the right AE64 harness, only the Metra harness you put in your (very helpful) first post. if i'm missing something, a post # would be helpful
The Metra harness works fine if you have a Nav unit. You can source everything for swapping out factory nav with aftermarket nav without going through AE64.

The only thing his harness might have which the Metra one doesn't is VSS and parking brake, neither of which are required for aftermarket nav units to function.
yg17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2014, 08:35 AM   #125
millertime359
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 393302
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Holland, MI
Vehicle:
2014 Impreza Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed77 View Post
Bosterwhatchamacallit? Explain a bit more...please
http://ae64.com/20-pin-pinout.htm

If you look at this pinout, pin number 9 is for an Antenna Booster Amplifier. I'm not certain what head unit you put in, but you read the install directions, there should be a wire on that harness that tells you to wire it in if you have an antenna booster or power antenna.

Hope that makes since.
millertime359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.