Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday May 7, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Built Motor Discussion

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2014, 07:21 PM   #51
chris keefe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 270312
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Ashland MA, Walpole MA
Vehicle:
2005 WRX STI
CGM

Default

Subscribed! great write-up! informative with good intent to fix a problem. well done! Definitely puckered as I have a full GSC drivetrain going into a customers sleeved 2.34L destroke build.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
chris keefe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 08:10 PM   #52
mopar3.0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 261696
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: st johns nl
Vehicle:
2004 wrx
red

Default

I just put crower(not bc's) 272's in my 2.0 and used the oem clearances.

I haven't found any failure issues with a 2.0 but it seems the ej20 needs to be idle around 1200 rpm to idle decent,
could the extra oil pressure be saving the cams in those engines?
mopar3.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 10:01 PM   #53
Wellyea
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287314
Join Date: Jul 2011
Vehicle:
08 Sti
Aspen White

Default

They probably switched foundries, or have a new cam manufacturer for the blanks.

Hopefully they have markings that can be identified by whatever changed.


In aircraft engines continental and lycoming will give compenents new part numbers when they switch something up, and subsequntly the faa will determine cause of failure and issue an airworthieness directed to rip the engine apart and determine what part number or serial number was installed if people are having problems with a new batch. Everyone in the aviation community bitches when an AD comes out because they have to dump money to pay someone to inspect what they have and correct a problem that hasn't surfaced necessarily in their engine yet... Its funny for me to see all of you struggling and ranting about what changed.

I have had two sti's with gsc s2 cams and have never had a problem, I suspect they changed where they are getting their blanks from, or are outsourcing to a different company.
Wellyea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2014, 11:53 PM   #54
Cefaln452
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255736
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati
Vehicle:
2004 STi
JavaBlackPearl

Default

Good thing I haven't bought any cams yet.
Cefaln452 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 12:54 AM   #55
pet3r
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 283134
Join Date: May 2011
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
2008 STi AW
550whp - 530wtq

Default

Glad to hear people are researching. Just put in GSC S1 cams and beehive springs in my latest build. 3k miles so far and seems good. No noises that I'm aware of, idle is great and making power.

Brad Penn break-in oil. Ran at 2k rpms for 20 mins, then changed oil. Another change at 300 miles, then switched to Rotella T6 at ~950 miles. Was planning on sending in a sample of oil for analysis soon. Did lots of engine breaking, starting turning up power around 600 miles.

Hoping I'm not playing russian roulette here
pet3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 01:39 AM   #56
NSFW
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 140444
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Near Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
05 Stage Free LGT
ATP 3076, 6MT, AVO FMIC

Default

This thread is relevant to my interests.
NSFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 02:32 AM   #57
murrdogg24
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 50586
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SanDiego N OahuNorthShore brah
Vehicle:
04 WRX
Flappy bird edition

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wellyea View Post
They probably switched foundries, or have a new cam manufacturer for the blanks.

Hopefully they have markings that can be identified by whatever changed.


In aircraft engines continental and lycoming will give compenents new part numbers when they switch something up, and subsequntly the faa will determine cause of failure and issue an airworthieness directed to rip the engine apart and determine what part number or serial number was installed if people are having problems with a new batch. Everyone in the aviation community bitches when an AD comes out because they have to dump money to pay someone to inspect what they have and correct a problem that hasn't surfaced necessarily in their engine yet... Its funny for me to see all of you struggling and ranting about what changed.

I have had two sti's with gsc s2 cams and have never had a problem, I suspect they changed where they are getting their blanks from, or are outsourcing to a different company.
It's funny to see people struggling?? what kind of sick person are you?
murrdogg24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 04:09 AM   #58
s622
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342177
Join Date: Dec 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
2006 WRX STI
Compound/Sequential turbo

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bariga View Post
dom this is better version of your post

http://www.gizoogle.net/index.php?se...le+Dis+Shiznit

****ing amazing

Quote:
While I cannot drop a rhyme fo' tha other builders, I know we is not tha only buildaz dat do thangs erectly. Yet somehow tha cam manufacturers straight-up have tha balls ta point tha finger at all tha buildaz whoz ass have had dis issue. Guys, I guess we all bustin it wrong.
Quote:
While I cannot speak for the other builders, I know we are not the only builders that do things correctly. Yet somehow the cam manufacturers actually have the balls to point the finger at all the builders who have had this issue. Guys, I guess we're all doing it wrong.
s622 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 06:03 AM   #59
Recoil
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 278895
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Olympia, WA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
PSM

Default

Any opinion out there on Delta?
Recoil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 11:24 AM   #60
mopar3.0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 261696
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: st johns nl
Vehicle:
2004 wrx
red

Default

i just cut my oil filter apart after about 3 tanks of gas, spotless thank god!
mopar3.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 11:46 AM   #61
ericz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224467
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Vehicle:
2005 CGM STI
93 4Runner 1JZ swap

Default

The current data shows most failures occurring by no more than 1500 miles. All the guys with 2500+ miles can most likely stop worrying.
ericz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 01:12 PM   #62
boostdr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 345836
Join Date: Feb 2013
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
99 GC8 Tarmac Race

Default

I ordered my Kelford 274/270 199-E cams in September. They got there new batch in mid January when they sent out mine. Hopping these are the revised blanks.

Will check my GC8 tomorrow and see how they look. Have done approx 10hours

Running 10-40 penrite 10-10ths full zinc

Matt
boostdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 08:27 PM   #63
sidewayz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5810
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Easton PA
Vehicle:
2001 S366 2.5RS

Default

just finished up a customers car with GSC stg2.....customer is now scared ****less...and with every right to be so
sidewayz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 08:48 PM   #64
Rogue_P
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 371737
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Boulder/Nashville
Vehicle:
2003 **** Your
Fake Parts

Default

So, just keeping a tally:
GSC Cams: Suspect
Kelford Cams: Suspect
BC Cams: Suspect
Crower Cams: Suspect
Cosworth: Possibly suspect
Jun Cams: Unknown, possibly suspect

Are there any EJ Series cams on the market at any price that are not sketchy?
Rogue_P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 08:51 PM   #65
user1029
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57064
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
2008 STi IAG built
HTA86, Meth, 272s, Cos IM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue_P View Post
So, just keeping a tally:
GSC Cams: Suspect
Kelford Cams: Suspect
BC Cams: Suspect
Crower Cams: Suspect
Cosworth: Possibly suspect
Jun Cams: Unknown, possibly suspect

Are there any EJ Series cams on the market at any price that are not sketchy?
Just for the sake of covering every aftermarket cam,
Piper cams: unknown, possibly suspect

yeah OEM
user1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 08:54 PM   #66
user1029
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57064
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
2008 STi IAG built
HTA86, Meth, 272s, Cos IM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by murrdogg24 View Post
It's funny to see people struggling?? what kind of sick person are you?
The best tears come from years of saving for a built longblock only to have it grenade in 1500 miles due to faulty cams
user1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 08:56 PM   #67
user1029
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57064
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
2008 STi IAG built
HTA86, Meth, 272s, Cos IM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mopar3.0 View Post
I just put crower(not bc's) 272's in my 2.0 and used the oem clearances.

I haven't found any failure issues with a 2.0 but it seems the ej20 needs to be idle around 1200 rpm to idle decent,
could the extra oil pressure be saving the cams in those engines?
hmmm My idle is set to 1000 rpms with Kelfords 272s and they are still running
user1029 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 09:07 PM   #68
FATgc8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98838
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: phoenix,AZ
Vehicle:
2005 STi
CGM

Default

Wow this sucks, I have a set of GSC s2 cams that im going to be putting in my built motor and am now having second thoughts. Is there some type of marking/stamp of which type of gsc cams are coming apart? Does anybody know if GSC and Kelford are coming forward with this problem and resolving this issue any time soon?
FATgc8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2014, 09:17 PM   #69
mopar3.0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 261696
Join Date: Oct 2010
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: st johns nl
Vehicle:
2004 wrx
red

Default

its very common in v8 engine to have to raise the idle to keep the valve train lubricated.
mopar3.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 03:50 AM   #70
spoolinsti05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108051
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 TickingTimeBomb
Jr tuned TT Sleeved

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FATgc8 View Post
Wow this sucks, I have a set of GSC s2 cams that im going to be putting in my built motor and am now having second thoughts. Is there some type of marking/stamp of which type of gsc cams are coming apart? Does anybody know if GSC and Kelford are coming forward with this problem and resolving this issue any time soon?

Only if you can check production date I'm guessing I got mine in 2011 think they might have been from the or 09. Still doing good.
spoolinsti05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 11:11 AM   #71
Shortpersonbk
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 319017
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
12 sti 700+whp
it wants to be a evo

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mopar3.0 View Post
its very common in v8 engine to have to raise the idle to keep the valve train lubricated.
Dom opinion????

Any chance these failures started occurring as tuning options/injectors became better allowing for lower smoother idles on bigger cams?
Shortpersonbk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 01:17 PM   #72
KillerBMotorsport
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 198281
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Virginia
Vehicle:
2005 WRX/STi
WRB of course

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mopar3.0 View Post
its very common in v8 engine to have to raise the idle to keep the valve train lubricated.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shortpersonbk View Post
Dom opinion????

Any chance these failures started occurring as tuning options/injectors became better allowing for lower smoother idles on bigger cams?
I'll toss mine in just for fun... idle ~1,200 RPM with the kelford Bs. Stock heads ~1,000. You can see oil pressure near zero at the last cam port once clearances grow beyond stock with some screaming hot oil, at stock idle.

Just my 2 cents.
KillerBMotorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 02:09 PM   #73
nate_fisher
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 270482
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: albany ny
Vehicle:
2011 turbotek fxt
11.85@117 4eat xt record?

Default

Thinking of going with tomei poncam or procam camshafts not decided yet but i know alot of people over seas that run them with out any complications. Thoughts?
nate_fisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 03:50 PM   #74
Flat 4 Motorsport
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 295846
Join Date: Sep 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Crook County, Illinois
Vehicle:
WRX FP HTA GT3076R
Sexual Chocolate

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nate_fisher View Post
Thinking of going with tomei poncam or procam camshafts not decided yet but i know alot of people over seas that run them with out any complications. Thoughts?

I installed a set of DAVCS Tomei procams in a customers GR and those had the AVCS holes drilled incorrectly.
Flat 4 Motorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2014, 04:20 PM   #75
DisoDisp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 187648
Join Date: Aug 2008
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Finland
Vehicle:
2007 WRX

Default

as stated before, tomei use the same blanks as everyone else.
DisoDisp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.