Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday May 5, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2002, 01:14 PM   #1
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Question Generic Hooking up Gauges question (omori)

Hi - Got my omori gauges ready to go, but I don't have the time to run the lines today for oil pres, oil temp, and EGT. The 3 are going in the factory 3 gauge pod, and I'm tapping power/ground/lights off the clock harness.

Once all the wiring is complete, can I hook up my gauges and try them out without having them hooked up to their respective sensors? (Ye s- I hope they all read 0!!)

I don't see how it could cause a problem doing that (as I think a number of people have done that before) but I just wanted to make sure it won't cause them to short out or blow up (yes, joking) because they don't see their respective sensors.

Won't be able to get to the sensors until tomorrow, but again, don't know how much time I have, so I have to do this in little spurts, hence the reason I want to try just the "gauges have power and light up" part tonight, but I also need the car to drive.


Thanks much,
your electrically-challeneged friend,
/<
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2002, 01:19 PM   #2
Zola
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16876
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Paul, MN
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

You won't hurt anything by doing all the wire-tapping first. They will light up. Make sure you disconnect the negative battery terminal before doing any electrical stuff.

One of my 3 gauges still isn't hooked up (EGT, because I haven't bought an uppipe yet) and it has light and power.
Zola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2002, 04:26 PM   #3
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Default

Got em done - thanks -- also, because I don't have the prob installed, the poor EGT gauge goes all the way up to the max!! (Of course, this might change once the car is actually turned on, but I doubt it will until I put the prob back on).

thanks,
Kyle
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2002, 11:12 PM   #4
willdaddy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15840
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
'84 Benz 300D Veg Powered

Post egt gauge probe hook up

I did the same thing you did, get them all installed get the sensors done later.

I got tired of seeing my EGT gauge swing all the way to the max everytime, so I just hooked up the probe and tucked the cabling up under the steering wheel until I can get my manifold tapped. I kept thinking it wasn't a good thing for it to hammer the max setting each time I gave it power, I doubt it would damage anything but it didn't look good.

Now my EGT gauge stays at the min reading all the time, it doesn't quite get over 400 under my dash

Plus, this means that when I go to install the probe I don't have to pull the gauges to get the wires all hooked up.
willdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2002, 02:08 PM   #5
2.0 guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5670
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tualatin, OR
Default

My Omori oil pres. gauge was not hooked to a sensor for about a month while I sourced out parts to make the sender fit into the rear oil plug.

I got sick of looking at the red light while the gauge sat at 0.

Then, the day before I installed the sender, the wiring harness that I had tucked away under the hood came loose, caught on some moving part, and ripped. So, I had to use good ol RadioShcak connectors to make the harnesses connect...

if its not one thing, its another... but it does work great.
2.0 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 06:51 PM   #6
protocol_droid
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13219
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SD, CA
Vehicle:
01 Audi S4 Stg 3
Nogaro Blue

Default

Hey guys, how's the lighting at night time. Dim,partial or fully lit numbers? I'm assuming you guys have the green backlit.
protocol_droid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2002, 08:53 PM   #7
2.0 guy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5670
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Tualatin, OR
Default

mine are as bright as the stock cluster. I have mech. boost, and elec EGT and elec Oil Pres. The mechanical gauge dims with the rheostat, the elec. ones do not...

at full bright, its very evenly lit...

2.0 guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 04:16 AM   #8
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

i ran all of the wires through the firewall and soldered my connections inside the car. the probes went on after i hooked everything up, i just zip tied the wire that conencts to the probe in the engine bay to make it as simple as possible once i was able to get my manifold tapped and my oil sandwich adapter. my greddy gauge just stayed at 0 and blinked the warning light when i didn't have a probe connected. probably just senses an open circuit and flashes the warning light
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2002, 10:59 AM   #9
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Default

Cirrus's Instructions for a non-n00b install.

Because I'm a n00b, I had to go through this stuff so you shouldn't have to!!

Lesson #1:
When assmebling the oil-pan drain bolt with the probe, do not over-tighten the assembly, or else you'll break the sensor and have to call up Omori begging for one to be sent overnight priority because you were a gorilla

Lesson #2:
When installing the gallery-plug for oil pressure, do NOT forget to put the crush washer on. Especially if it's after you have completely replaced and tightened the intercooler and then curse yourself for being an idiot

Lesson #3:
When attempting to put the crush washer on (after re-removing the IC) do NOT drop it in the mysterious void known as the engine compartment, as the engine compartment gnomes will quickly seize it and hide inside the downpipe

Lesson #4:
Always remember to ask for 1 spare crush washer in case you lose one


So now I am waiting on my UPS dude to bring me a new bolt and temp sensor, and hopefully, I won't break it this time!! Once that's done, I'll put oil back in (very important step) and fire it up and check for leaks, and report back here. Thanks for the help all!

Also, just as an aside, Omori-NA ROCKS!!! I called them up at about 2:30 yesterday afternoon, explaining my predicament. The guy on the phone (believe his name was Greg) was TERRIFIC. He helped me out, gauranteed the part would be here overnight (and UPS tracking says it will *knocking on wood*) He charged me a "good will customer service warranty" fee - which is like half the price of a new setup, since I completely admit I was the one who broke the bolt and over-torqued it.

See ya in a few.
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What gauge wire do I need to hook up a gauge? boosted06 Electrical & Lighting 1 10-06-2007 06:50 PM
help hooking up gauges scubaru8 Tri-State Area Forum 3 08-15-2006 01:51 AM
How to hook up gauge lights? ScoobieSnaX Electrical & Lighting 11 05-06-2003 09:57 PM
Anyone know how to hook up autometer vacuum gauge? Aspen_2.5RS Interior & Exterior Modification 3 05-29-2001 09:29 PM
oil pressure gauge hook-up markoe78 New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 2 04-10-2001 05:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.