Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2002, 10:17 AM   #1
JohnWad
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 4768
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
Silver

Default UTEC Datalogging Lock Up

Just got the UTEC installed this weekend and WOW! Very impressive versus the Unichip. I am still rich running the Stage 2, but I am having trouble datalogging. Everytime I run datalogging my computer locks up after the screen fills up completely. It still gathers data, but I am unable to pause it, or exit it, and the only way to stop it is to CTRL/Alt/Del out of Hyperterminal. I have an older laptop running Win95 and I think the old beast just can't keep up. Is there a setting that can be changed to avoid this problem? Any suggestions are welcome.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
JohnWad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 11:35 AM   #2
scrmnsmn
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8299
Join Date: Jul 2001
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Midnight Swirl

Default datalogging

I doubt it's your laptop. I'm using a 486 with Windows 95 now, but I was using a 386 with Windows 3.1 previously. It works fine on both, but if I don't follow a specific procedure it will lock up on me. First I boot up the laptop and double click on my hyperterminal UTEC shortcut. Then I turn the key to the on position, bringing up the initial menu. If I'm only datalogging I go ahead and start the car up. If I turn off the key while Hyperterminal is running, it will lock up, and I have to repeat the procedure.

How are you starting the datalogging? Are you using the transfer pull down and the capture text option? Also make sure your settings match those in the UTEC directions.

Chris
scrmnsmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 11:57 AM   #3
JohnWad
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 4768
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
Silver

Default

I have the settings per the instructions. When I want to log, from the main page, goto transfer/capture text and then press 1-6. I am logging the data, I just can't stop unless ctrl/alt/del is hit. I can pause or start as long as the screen hasn't filled up with data though.
JohnWad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 12:54 PM   #4
DarthChicken
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9073
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Hillsboro, OR.
Vehicle:
2006 ariel atom
wrb/bbs gold frame

Default

From the main menu, press 1-6, or "L". THEN do the capture text routine, specifying where you want to download the file to.

Right?
DarthChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 12:57 PM   #5
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

alt-t doesn't get you to the transfer menu?

If that's the case, you have to understand that it has absolutely nothing to do with the UTEC, or your serial connection

It's the simple fact that your computer can't keep up with writting a text file, and driving a serial port.

If you have a 16550 UART onboard, make sure the buffers are set to their highest settings, make sure that your set at 19200, and/or try 4800 and see what happens.

Check resources too.. anything under 60% is going to be bad...

Defrag

Scandisk

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 01:02 PM   #6
sdecker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14717
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Road Atlanta
Vehicle:
2002 WRX, WR Blue
Complete n00b Racing

Default

This is related to the electrical connection of the serial port. Trust me, I go through a similar routing constantly with Sun servers and Cisco routers. You will have to determine which method works and then just stick to it. Generally any deviation from this method will cause a lock up on the port or the device (in this case UTEC).

Go with what scrmnsmn said, that sounds most likely.

Once I get my UTEC (mid-October? ), I'll post the exact procedure but his method sounds pretty accurate according to the crap I have to do every day with serial ports.

Good luck,

Scott
sdecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 01:22 PM   #7
ScoobieSnaX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10844
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: location, location...
Vehicle:
2004 Acura TL Navi
Pearl

Default

Are you using battery power or external power for the laptop?
ScoobieSnaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 02:14 PM   #8
JohnWad
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 4768
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
Silver

Default

Battery Powered. Thanks for the suggestions!
JohnWad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 02:30 PM   #9
epsilon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 24509
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Palatine, IL
Vehicle:
2003 WRX 5MT sedan
WRB RiftsTuned

Default

I would second Jorge's advise and also suggest that you set your serial port's settings (in Windows, not just HT) to N-8-1, hardware handshake. You may also want to try a different terminal emulator (I recall HT was patched at some point back then). Also, applying the latest 95 service pack couldn't hurt.
epsilon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UTEC Datalog Analyzer T-WRX UTEC 11 06-24-2008 08:03 PM
DCCD- Locking up? Brakes Locking? benolium Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 5 10-07-2005 09:28 PM
question bout the utec locking up RACER1269 Engine Management & Tuning 0 01-25-2005 05:31 PM
Stage 2 Utec datalogging scrmnsmn Engine Management & Tuning 4 10-23-2002 06:53 PM
Evaluate my UTEC datalog ScoobieSnaX Engine Management & Tuning 19 10-01-2002 02:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.