Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 15, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2002, 10:46 PM   #1
E-Ticket
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4128
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portland, Oregon USA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sport Wagon
Silver

Default Where to tap voltage for Valentine 1?

And yes, I already did a search.... couldn't find anything. But that could be "operator error" as well. <grin> If you of a thread/FAQ, please point in the right direction.

2002 WRX Sport Wagon. Want to hardwire in a Valentine 1 radar detector. Looking for the right point in the fuse panel for the voltage/ground points.

Many thanks! - E-Ticket
=======================
"Leave no turn unstoned.."
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
E-Ticket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 11:00 PM   #2
eightballrj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18520
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: MS
Vehicle:
2005 L GT Limited
Black

Default

This might sound rigged but I just quick spliced mine into the cigarette lighter power wire since i dont smoke. Then i unscrewed a bolt on the bottom of the steering brace(steering column) and removed some paint and used that for a ground. It works great. Enjoy that thing!!!!! I love mine! I hope I helped.

RJ
eightballrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2002, 11:19 PM   #3
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

if you have an auto/dimming compass in the rear view mirror, you can tap the power wire from there.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 01:47 AM   #4
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
??.? @ ???, '09 spec.B

Default

Tap the map lights... I did with my Bel 985. Works great!! make sure you get the constant power and not the switched power.

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 01:51 AM   #5
yonrin kudo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17019
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston-ish, MA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Default

Hi,

I got a V1 a month ago but still havent hardwired it yet heh.

Here's link to check out: V1 Install

Cheers-
yonrin kudo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 07:21 AM   #6
paultg
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 437
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Londonderry, NH
Vehicle:
'91 Miata MX5 (Red)
'09 Impreza OBS (Blk/Gry)

Default

Here is a link to my install:
V1 install above rear view mirror

Paul G.
paultg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 08:41 AM   #7
ScreaminFast
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24399
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Webster, NY
Vehicle:
2003 White WRX
89 240 / 90 240

Default

paul g- do you still get good rear readings because it looks like its pointed up pretty well....
ScreaminFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 08:59 AM   #8
paultg
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 437
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Londonderry, NH
Vehicle:
'91 Miata MX5 (Red)
'09 Impreza OBS (Blk/Gry)

Default

I have a wagon, and I can see the detector from the rear of the car. I haven't had any issues. You can slide the detector in and out of the clip to angle it correctly. The picture might make things look weird, but it's not pointing up when I drive.

Just walk a good 20-30 feet behind the car and make sure you can see it before you complet the install. That's what I did.

Edit: After looking at the last picture I'm pretty sure I have the mount a bit lower (bottom of radar closer to mirror). I keep it just close enough so the mirror doesn't bounce and hit the mirror.

Paul G.
paultg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 09:14 AM   #9
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Here's where I put mine, the bracket is mounted semi-permanently where the useless center visor was, using an already existing plastic push-pin from the headliner-



Lines up in just the right position and has clear visibility to the rear, and is not that easy to spot from outside. The unit slides in and out of the bracket in about 5 seconds.

And the remote display-



As for wiring the adapter is located at the fuse box and the power is tapped from the yellow/red wire that powers the mirror and some other stuff. Ground is direct to chassis through one of the bolts that secure the fuse box.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 09:27 AM   #10
ScreaminFast
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24399
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Webster, NY
Vehicle:
2003 White WRX
89 240 / 90 240

Default

thats cool, i def am considering one, but its ruff to drop 400 bucks on something like that....
ScreaminFast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 09:48 AM   #11
DJWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10340
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

Mulder, could you post those pictures again, I can't get them to come up. Wait, I can see them here in the reply page, but not on the normal thread. Oh well, looks good. How much was that remote display? I've been wanting one of those for a long time.

I hardwired my V1 into the fuse box, I just found a fuse that had power as long as the key was turned on. It's mounted left of my rear view. I just flip my visor down if a cop is behind me, especially at night, which might look a little strange, but I'd rather him/her see that than my V1 exploding.

A side note on radar placement, I think it's ok to not have a perfectly clear line of site out both windows. Radar bounces and scatters off everything. While it is optimal to have unobstructed paths out the windows, it is not necessary. Just my opinion though...

A semi-OT quesiton, is there any advantage to using a three line(6 contacts) phone line for the power line? I'm pretty sure I saw more than four contacts in the detector, but I don't remember for sure. So, am I missing out on any functions by only using a 2 line phone line?

Tim
DJWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2002, 10:06 AM   #12
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Not sure how much the remote display costs these days, check the V1 website for current product and pricing info.
The remote display I have is an older model that included only the display and was smaller than the present one which also has a control knob next to the display. Because of the smaller size I was able to install it inside the dash behind the bezel, but unfortunately the newer one is too large to fit in there.
Yes the unit will still work without a clear line of sight out the rear window but there will be some signal attenuation. It's best to have an unobstructed "view".
As for wiring there are four contacts and the wires provided with the unit are 4-conductor so that's what you should be using. I don't know what the individual pin functions are (power, data etc.) but if you are using 2-conductor wire and it works then leave it alone. It's possible the extra conductors are used for the external accessories that you don't have yet, if you add them you'll find out.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to tap power for Autometer electric boost gauge? daybreak Electrical & Lighting 5 04-28-2003 11:13 PM
Where to tap power for wideband? SonicWRX Engine Management & Tuning 6 12-31-2002 08:56 PM
Where to tap power for wideband? SonicWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 12-27-2002 07:55 PM
Where to tap onto for the EGT N/A Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 5 10-14-2002 10:35 AM
Where to tap in for boost gauge??? WRBLUEWAGON Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 01-18-2002 02:33 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.