Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2002, 02:12 PM   #1
jbdadog
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12820
Join Date: Nov 2001
Cool REplace factory guages?

I'm lloking to replace the factory guages with new greddy electric guages. Im going to replace the boost and oil temp. Just wondering if the wiring will match up or if I'll need to completely run new sending units and how hard it would be. An y input would be appreciated!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jbdadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2002, 02:16 PM   #2
NYC TURBO
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25214
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New York City
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Silver

Default

well, I think you can leave the pressure lines from the factory guages, but You will have to run new electrical wires to ensure proper connection for the electric guages since the stock ones are not electric. IMHO, this is not a worthwhile mod since the stock guages, aside from not being ultra bright at night are of decent enough quality to properly tune your car.



Lee
NYC TURBO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 01:48 PM   #3
jbdadog
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12820
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default thanks

Thanks but these guages are for show not for tuning.
jbdadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 02:04 PM   #4
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

The factory boost gauge is mechanical and has a vacuum line run into the car to the back of the gauge. If you replace it with an electric gauge you can use the same vacuum line, just cut it so it ends under the hood wherever you mount the sensor unit for the new gauge.
The factory oil temp gauge is an electric one and the sensor is in the oil drain plug. This sensor may or may not be compatible with your new gauge. You can measure the resistance of both sensors at ambient temperature to see if they match, or just try the new gauge with the old sensor and see if it is accurate. If you need to replace the sensor the drain plug is still the best place for it, so you can either see if Greddy has a pre-made plug/sensor unit available or buy a new drain plug and modify it to accept the sensor.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 06:19 PM   #5
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Default

Wait... are you serious? You just need power and that's it? You're just going to use them for looks?

I'm probably reading that wrong... but I guess if that's all you're doing, then you may want to just use mechanical gauges because they usually only require 12v and that's it - don't need to worry about expensive sending units and all that stuff.
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 08:00 PM   #6
HellWagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16172
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Default Re: thanks

Quote:
Originally posted by jbdadog
Thanks but these guages are for show not for tuning.
If thats the case why not glue egg timers, alarm clocks, or anything else with a dial to the inside of your car.
HellWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 09:25 PM   #7
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Default

I gotta flux capacitor for real cheap if ya want one.



sorry to be an @ss
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 09:58 PM   #8
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

does running hot oil to your dash scare you at all? i am fine with air for boost, but hot oil. if you install them incorectly you could have a major mess. for boost go with mechanical, for water and oil go with electrical, unless you want to run and oil/water feed up to your dash.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2002, 11:32 PM   #9
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Default

but read his original post -- to me it doesn't appear he'll be running ANYTHING in them at all - he could have a mechanical nuclear core gauge, but if nothing is running in it, who cares
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 10:42 PM   #10
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

how bout getting one of these maybe you should run some cool glow in the dark honda signs on your car. lol

if you dont need them thendont waste your money, just by a flesh light.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:29 PM   #11
WorldOne
Vendor
 
Member#: 22731
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB Do-Luck GDA
worldoneperformance.com

Default Disagree

Hello all.....


I think that you are all approaching this guys post with the wrong attitude.

The stock gauges may be 100% functional and they may get the job done just fine. However, lets face it, they are not very attractive to look at. Countless WRX owners have replaced the stock gauges with aftermarket units, and there are plenty of reasons for doing so.

Many do it because they like the functionality of electronic gauges over there mechanical counterparts, many are trying to unify the styling of the interior by adhering to a color, or light scheme, and some would just like more attractive gauges. All of these are perfectly valid reasons to upgrade to new gauges.

In addition the gauges in the WRX are viewed by both driver and passenger very frequently. They sit in arguably the most prominent location on the dash, and I would argue that considering the frequency with which they are viewed, all WRX owners could benefit from a set of more appealing gauges.

Not to mention, mkpa is a absolutely hideous and completely unconventional way to read boost pressure and who honestly needs a voltage gauge anyway? The stock gauge package is adequate at best.

Upgrading your gauges "for show" or for aesthetic appeal is perfectly acceptable and does not fall into the same catergory as altezza tail lights and chrome wheels IMHO. Furthermore, greddy black faced 52mm gauges are about as far from "Bling" as you can get when it comes to aftermarket gauges.

Don't worry about these guys jbdadog plenty of WRX owners have upgraded their gauges for a myriad of reasons and I am sure plenty of them will attest that they are thrilled with their decision.

Its going to be best to run new wiring since the gauges that you are going to be getting are going to be electric. You'll have no use for all of the old mechanical wiring especially the mechanical boost pressure line. Greddy gauges come with all the needed wiring and sending units.

I hope that I have answered all of your questions. If you happen to have any more just let us know.

Take care,

Garret
World One
http://www.worldoneperformance.com
WorldOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:34 PM   #12
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Default

I'm sorry - I've been leading the "prick responses" because I think either I've interpreted something incorrectly, or people keep missing the point:

It is my understanding, and if you READ HIS POSTS, he simply says that the gauges are NOT GOING TO BE HOOKED UP. He said he WILL NOT USE THEM FOR TUNING PURPOSES, THEY ARE ONLY FOR SHOW.

Do you NOW think that's a little strange? Again, I guess if you're showing your car and stuff, it looks cooler with gauges in it, and I guess if you don't drive it much, then it doesn't really matter if the gauges work or not.

Get why we keep doing the "bling" stuff, WorldOne??

In his own words, Thanks but these guages are for show not for tuning.

Edit: and once again, I am quite possibly interpreting his posts incorrectly, but we haven't heard a peep outta him since the most recent post! Hope we didn't scare him away!!
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2002, 11:42 PM   #13
WorldOne
Vendor
 
Member#: 22731
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB Do-Luck GDA
worldoneperformance.com

Default Hmmmmm

Hmmmmm......

I don't gather that they won't be hooked up from his posts thus far. I think that it is piculiar that he says he won't be using them for tuning, but I interpreted "for show" as meaning that he was more interested in the visual appeal of the gauges than anything else, which I think is perfectly normal.

If indeed he doesn't have any plans to hook up the sending units than yes that would be absurd. I think that since he inquired about wiring the sending units in his initial post that we can conclude he is going to hook them up.

To answer your question, I think that aftermarket gauges that are not hooked up definately do fall into the same catergory as altezza light and those flashy valve step cap thingys.

It is funny how such a small distinction in the application of a product can completely change my mind about it.
WorldOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 12:39 AM   #14
CirrusWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 17439
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Yardley, PA
Vehicle:
2002 x2 Silver WRX
Sedan, White WRX Wagon

Default

Now we're talkin! LOL

Yeah - I agree, I hope I (and others) have just been mis-interpreting his meaning. I too wanted my gauges for form and function, so I got the Omori "subaru" look gauges with the yellow needle. Did I pay more for em? You betcha, but they look very nice and stock, BUT they also tell me nice things about what's going on in the engine!!
CirrusWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2002, 06:23 PM   #15
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

if you want some blingin gauges with out the high price chekc these out

http://www.scoobymania.co.uk/site_flash.asp?page=gauges

they are really nice, and only run about 80 bucks a gauge, and not to many people have htem.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want to replace factory head unit, don't want to ditch factory sub nuggetWRX Car Audio, Video & Security 5 05-21-2008 11:48 PM
replace factory boost guage? surfer5567 Electrical & Lighting 8 05-13-2004 07:34 PM
FS: new factory guage pod replaces clock superhawk44 Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 04-14-2004 10:49 PM
Q: Should a Factory Turbo have Factory Guages? (Rex Question) J-Spec General Forum Archive 5 01-15-2001 07:40 AM
Factory Guage Pack (Compass one) LongIsland RS Technical Forum Archive 7 09-17-2000 03:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.