Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Texas Impreza Club
Texas Impreza Club Forum sponsored by Gillman Subaru Houston
and Gillman Subaru San Antonio
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-19-2002, 03:18 PM   #1
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default When we break "gears" what are we actually breaking?And tranny update.

I've heard we break both syncro and actual gear.

The Chalak gear set is JUST THE GEARS, they use the stock syncro's and shafts. Unlike the Kaaz where it's a set of syncro's,gears, shafts etc and all components required to install in stock tranny housing.

So, it really wouldn't be worth it getting just the gears when the syncro's are still stock and we can just as easily break those.

Does this sound right or have I been mislead?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2002, 05:46 PM   #2
gmflex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9796
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas
Vehicle:
2004 STI
WRB

Default

It depends. If you are making a lot of torque, you can actually break the gears, otherwise you would normally break the syncros first. I wouldn't buy just gears.

Jason
gmflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 11:22 AM   #3
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmflex
It depends. If you are making a lot of torque, you can actually break the gears, otherwise you would normally break the syncros first. I wouldn't buy just gears.

Jason

See, that's whats I thought.

Thanks dude!

BTW, I think I'm going to go with Kaaz. Chalak from Austraillia was calling me last night but it was at like 3:30 in the monin'
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 12:36 PM   #4
D_REX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8945
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
MY02 WRX
Blue

Default

You don't actually "break" synchros. Synchros only serve to match your input and output shaft speeds. You can break the dogs, even a synchro box has dogs (this is what grinds when you miss a shift).
D_REX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 12:39 PM   #5
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by D_REX
You don't actually "break" synchros. Synchros only serve to match your input and output shaft speeds. You can break the dogs, even a synchro box has dogs (this is what grinds when you miss a shift).
I know a guy here, name to be unmentioned, but he shreaded his 1rst gear syncro.... along with a few missing teath on first gear....
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 01:58 PM   #6
D_REX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8945
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
MY02 WRX
Blue

Default

You can destroy a synchro, but it's not something that breaks. It's like a clutch, you can slip it all day and destroy it, but it doesn't break.

More than likely Florida Boy's synchro was damaged by the excess metal bits floating around in his tranny. The only time you use the synchro is when you put the tranny into gear.
D_REX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 02:00 PM   #7
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by D_REX
You can destroy a synchro, but it's not something that breaks. It's like a clutch, you can slip it all day and destroy it, but it doesn't break.

More than likely Florida Boy's synchro was damaged by the excess metal bits floating around in his tranny. The only time you use the synchro is when you put the tranny into gear.

Ahhh, I gottcha now. Getting all technical on us and stuff....
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 02:23 PM   #8
jmott
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6713
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston TX USA
Vehicle:
2007 Prius
brown

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GregUnd



Ahhh, I gottcha now. Getting all technical on us and stuff....
if you break the tranny while its in gear, you broke a gear.

you can wear out, and maybe even 'break' a synchro with excecssive powershifting.

everytime you force the car into gear real quick, rather than letting it 'slip' into gear, you are putting some wear on the synchro.

the early 4.6 Mustang GTs had pretty weak synchros, pretty much everyone who drove hard wore them out. Would cause the car to grind a lot on shifts. But the gears never broke.
jmott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 03:53 PM   #9
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jmott


if you break the tranny while its in gear, you broke a gear.

you can wear out, and maybe even 'break' a synchro with excecssive powershifting.

everytime you force the car into gear real quick, rather than letting it 'slip' into gear, you are putting some wear on the synchro.

the early 4.6 Mustang GTs had pretty weak synchros, pretty much everyone who drove hard wore them out. Would cause the car to grind a lot on shifts. But the gears never broke.

Ok, then Kaaz it is.

Nicks mustang was in the shop twice getting new 1 2 3rd syncros...
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2002, 08:46 PM   #10
Blugin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5270
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Arlington, TX
Vehicle:
2008 EvoX MR
Red

Default

Are you totally opposed to a dog box?
Blugin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2002, 10:31 AM   #11
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blugin
Are you totally opposed to a dog box?

For daily driving, yes. For a race tranny, no.

Do you run a dogbox?
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2002, 10:47 AM   #12
gmflex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9796
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Dallas, Texas
Vehicle:
2004 STI
WRB

Default

I drove Blugin's car on dyno day. The dog box really wasn't too bad. I only stalled it a few times

How much are the Kaaz gears/synchros and what are they rated to (torque)?

Jason
gmflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2002, 12:05 PM   #13
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmflex
I drove Blugin's car on dyno day. The dog box really wasn't too bad. I only stalled it a few times

How much are the Kaaz gears/synchros and what are they rated to (torque)?

Jason

One says 450HP and another guy says 500HP easily but that's more than I have planned.


Here are the responses from RalliSpec... scroll to the botom.

HERE
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2002, 03:37 PM   #14
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default

I was mistaking... the Kaaz utilize the stock syncro's. It looks I'm gonna replace the stock 1rst and 2nd gear synco and throw in the Chalak gear set, plus I can get better gear ratio's with them.
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2002, 04:55 PM   #15
rossman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6652
Join Date: May 2001
Location: TLV, TX
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
mbp, wingless

Default

Here is a good explanation of how a transmission works, including synchronizers, gears, shafts, etc...

Ross
rossman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2002, 05:09 PM   #16
couldnthinkaone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2944
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Lake Jackson
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS
Steel Blue Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by D_REX
You don't actually "break" synchros. Synchros only serve to match your input and output shaft speeds. You can break the dogs, even a synchro box has dogs (this is what grinds when you miss a shift).
those "dogs" are actually called "clutching teeth" and you can break a syncro, usually they crack, but it takes a lot to do that.
couldnthinkaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2002, 05:12 PM   #17
couldnthinkaone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2944
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Lake Jackson
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS
Steel Blue Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmflex
It depends. If you are making a lot of torque, you can actually break the gears, otherwise you would normally break the syncros first. I wouldn't buy just gears.

Jason
nope...I just replaced all my gears etc, because I shreaded all the teeth off second gears, drive and driven...of yeah, I drive an RS w/about 200lbs/ft of torque!

scott
couldnthinkaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2002, 05:17 PM   #18
couldnthinkaone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2944
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Lake Jackson
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS
Steel Blue Mica

Default greg

could you shoot me the number for Chalak, I really would like to get ahold of them.

thanks,
scott
281.289.0035 voice mail
couldnthinkaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2002, 10:09 PM   #19
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default Re: greg

Quote:
Originally posted by couldnthinkaone
could you shoot me the number for Chalak, I really would like to get ahold of them.

thanks,
scott
281.289.0035 voice mail
I can only send you his e-mail but he responds in 24hours, he may only call around 2am here from his time zone and all.
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 10:49 AM   #20
couldnthinkaone
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2944
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Lake Jackson
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS
Steel Blue Mica

Default Re: greg

Quote:
Originally posted by GregUnd

I can only send you his e-mail but he responds in 24hours, he may only call around 2am here from his time zone and all.
so...let's have it. can you e-mail/pm me with it?

thanks,
scott
couldnthinkaone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2002, 01:01 PM   #21
GregUnd
Baaleted
 
Member#: 11800
Join Date: Oct 2001
Default Re: Re: greg

Quote:
Originally posted by couldnthinkaone


so...let's have it. can you e-mail/pm me with it?

thanks,
scott
DOH! I forgot about you I'll PM it to you.
GregUnd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are the actual effects of high compression? williaty Built Motor Discussion 22 02-12-2009 04:49 PM
What are we to do? Our cars are about to end their reign... delaner Off-Topic 272 06-19-2006 03:31 PM
N/A land...what are we missing? Reciprocity Normally Aspirated Powertrain 57 03-09-2003 04:12 AM
This Sat or Sunday What are we doing??? RS22b Tri-State Area Forum 7 07-20-2001 08:55 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.