Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-26-2002, 03:54 PM   #1
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default RS-T's... Vacuum line configuration poll...

How do you have yours run?

Mine:
Brake booster (dedicated port, #4)
Boost Gauge (top of manifold with double T)
BOV (same T as above)
Wastegate (same T as above)
MAP sensor (#3 runner - IMO, bad)
FPR (#3 runner)

Also have to add cruise in the future.



I am looking at more places to add vacuum ports without massively drilling into the plenum. It's obvious to me at this point that pretty much everything needs to get constant pressure like in the manifold rather then the pulsed signals they get on the #3 runner. The only thing I have going for me is that I have a Haltech, so I don't need the stock MAP sensor.

Locations as I see for possible fabricating of ports :
Stock MAP sensor location (fab piece for it).
Removing fitting for PCV and put another between it and the manifold with extra locations.
Drill hole in top of manifold between MAP, coil, and IAC chamber (I have my IAT sensor here already)
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 03:57 PM   #2
Midwayman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1997
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Vehicle:
2006 Acura TL 6spd
STMGM6 alumni

Default

This is going to chance....
Brake booster on #4 dedicated (not messing with that one.)
#3 fpr
#3 BOV, MAP, Wastegate, Boost gauge.

Yah... It needs to change.
-B
Midwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 04:01 PM   #3
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

Let's see:

Brake Booster: stock
Top Manifold: MAP sensor TecII
Uppder Cyl3 Manifold: Boost Gauge, Fuel Pressure Regulator, bypass
Lower Cyl 3 Manifold: uhm..

Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 04:15 PM   #4
wcbjr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4001
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: I love spherical bearings!
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
Obsidian black

Default

Brake booster, brake booster (where else would this go?)
Top manifold: fuel pressure regulator
Intake runner one: MAP sensor
Intake runner two: boost gauge, BOV

Never had a problem with anything, fuel pressure stays rock solid, BOV has always opened and shut when it should, boost gauge is responsive, and Link MAP signal seems responsive and steady.
wcbjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 04:20 PM   #5
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Both you guys forgot wastegate. Revision looks to have his on lower #3.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 04:34 PM   #6
wcbjr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4001
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: I love spherical bearings!
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
Obsidian black

Default

I've got a TiAL wastegate, I just leave the top nipple open. Am I not supposed to?
wcbjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 04:44 PM   #7
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Yes, the top one should be open, but the bottom one should be occupied by a line from the manifold or turbo outlet.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 04:48 PM   #8
wcbjr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4001
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: I love spherical bearings!
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
Obsidian black

Default

Ok, that's what I have. I chose the turbo outlet because the nipple is larger and I could use a bigger vacuum hose. I get absolutely no spiking.
wcbjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 04:50 PM   #9
Midwayman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1997
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Vehicle:
2006 Acura TL 6spd
STMGM6 alumni

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wcbjr
I chose the turbo outlet because the nipple is larger
Okay I need to go look at my nipples now.
Midwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 05:04 PM   #10
skywalker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1990
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

The top nipple is for a dual port solenoid. So you have to hook it up slightly differently. But in the end will keep a more even and steady pressure on for the wastegate. Of course it all depends on the wastegate you are using, I have a crappy one so it really makes no difference. :P
skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 05:11 PM   #11
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

My wastegate is off the turbo nipple.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 07:09 PM   #12
Aspen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 145
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: The Windy City
Vehicle:
Banned to
Housework for Summer

Default

All stock locations since I have the '93 Turbo Intake Manifold.
Aspen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2002, 07:15 PM   #13
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Default

man.. I have no idea. I think I am running most stuff off of the 2 rear vaccuum port on the passenger side of the manifold.

Eric
Eric SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:38 AM   #14
Skidd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1853
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA-TX (Hozer expat)
Vehicle:
GC6 Supercharged
STM

Default

A bump from the dead.

Current Configuration:
Brake Booster - Stock
Aftermarket MAP - #3 (major pressure oscillation)
Boost Gauge - #3
Aftermarket FPR - Top
CBV - Top

I have my aftermarket MAP sensor plumbed into the #3 runner. I see an oscillation going from 2-8psi at WOT. It's causing my EManage to oscillate the fuel and ignition map to match. That's bad!

What I want to do is get one of those multiple-port vacuum fittings.. kinda like this one

But with 3-4 ports and a 1/8NPT end. I saw them at PepBoys for cheap.

Then, run my FPR, CBV, Gauge and External MAP all from the fitting installed at the top of the intake.
I can't see there being any problem with using one fitting with 3 lines from it. The lines will each be only about 6 inches long (except for the long plastic gauge hard-line).

Proposed Configuration #1:
Brake Booster - Stock
CBV & FPR - #3
Boost Gauge & MAP - Top (with 2-way T)

Proposed Configuration #2:
Brake Bootser - Stock
CBV & FPR & Gauge & MAP - Top (with 4-way T)

Any reason why I should not do this? I always hear people say "Don't T the vac line for your FPR or your BOV", but I don't understand why? And, I've read posts waying "Always use a dedicated MAP line", but again, don't know if it's just a "good idea" or a "critical idea".

edit:
Or... perhaps just get/make one of these
http://www.maperformance.com/vibrant...ion-block.html

Last edited by Skidd; 05-29-2009 at 11:44 AM.
Skidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:56 AM   #15
Odyknuck
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 192866
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rome, Ohio
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza
Blue

Default

"T" ing into any device that uses a diapfram with another device will affect the signal the other device sees. "T" ing 2 diapfram devices together can cause osillation between the two devices. Note: Pieso electric type devices are less sensitive to osillation than a diapham due to less air volume being moved.
Odyknuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 11:59 AM   #16
Skidd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1853
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA-TX (Hozer expat)
Vehicle:
GC6 Supercharged
STM

Default

^ Yeah... that's what I figured.
I'm looking into making/buying a vacuum distribution block/manifold now.
They should be a crap load better than multiple T fittings.

edit: Gotta love Google
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=96398
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/cta...emnumber=93979
http://www.northerntool.com/webapp/w...9566_200339566

Last edited by Skidd; 05-29-2009 at 12:11 PM.
Skidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:37 PM   #17
Odyknuck
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 192866
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rome, Ohio
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza
Blue

Default

Skidd, I have a nice Aluminum manifold that was on my VW motor before I switched it out to the Subie. I believe it has 5 1/8" NPT taps on the length and one on each end. If you interested in it give me a call.
Steve
216-695-0733
Odyknuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 01:48 PM   #18
Skidd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1853
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA-TX (Hozer expat)
Vehicle:
GC6 Supercharged
STM

Default

^ Thanks for that offer Steve... but in re-thinking my layout, I'm going to go with

Cruize - #3
FPR & CBV - Top Port
Boost Gauge & MAP at PCV Port with some brass fittings - I've already deleted my PCV from the system anyway. It's a nice big 1/4NPT (I think).

I hope/expect that to fix the oscillation problem. If not, I just might hit you up for that manifold.
Skidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 02:10 PM   #19
Odyknuck
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 192866
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Rome, Ohio
Vehicle:
2006 Impreza
Blue

Default

Cool, let me know if you need it. FYI as I recall the taps on the Intake manifold are metric however you can use SAE NPTs on them. You would be better off chasing them with a pipe tap however not nessasary.
Odyknuck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2009, 03:13 PM   #20
IllNastyImpreza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 36333
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: East Kingston NH
Vehicle:
DIY project: life
I need more TIME!

Default

wow I've never seen this thread before.... Nice bump !
IllNastyImpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 08:24 PM   #21
gumby647
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2532
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando, Fl
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS-T
BRP

Default

If you are seeing a 6 psi swing in manifold pressure something is wrong. There's no way you are seeing that difference just because you're sourcing one of the runners.
gumby647 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2009, 09:11 PM   #22
Skidd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1853
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: SA-TX (Hozer expat)
Vehicle:
GC6 Supercharged
STM

Default

Well, I moved the source to the center port, and saw a 1psi swing. But, it was also Td off with 2 other devices (FPR & CBV). Now, I have my MAP by it's self. I just need to log it's values again. I expect to see little to no swing. Even the stock MAP sensor swings just a little.

Also, the 2-8 psi was the max oscillation. The average was more like 3-6. But, that's still a 3psi change, and resulted in a 3 deg difference in timing. Now, at least it's only a 1 deg affect, and hopefully less.
Skidd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB: Restrictor pill for factory turbo vacuum lines & factory turbo vacuum lines roninsoldier83 Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 4 10-01-2007 09:14 PM
2002+ 2.5 RS location of vacuum lines? bahboy20 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 0 10-09-2004 04:03 PM
Does AZ have the largest ratio of RS-T's Eric SS South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC 4 10-05-2001 01:00 PM
I'm ready for those RS-T's Turbo4me South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC 7 07-20-2001 11:56 AM
Where can I find a small in-line air filter for vacuum line. Tim Prudence Normally Aspirated Powertrain 3 12-04-2000 03:38 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.