Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2002, 07:53 PM   #1
garie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26607
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon

Default samco i/c hose install. do i need to use hose clamps??

Hi, i just got my samco i/c hoses in the mail....and i noticed that they dont come with hose clamps. Do i need to get hose clamps? or will the hoses stay secure by themselves? thanks. any help would be great..cuz im going to the hardware tool morrow to pick up tools and stuff....so if i need hose clamps..pls tell me..thanks!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
garie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 08:05 PM   #2
SQUAD_907
Totally Biased
Moderator
 
Member#: 10104
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: 907
Vehicle:
WOW! JUST WOW!
I make posts disappear

Default

just use the old clamps...
SQUAD_907 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 08:51 PM   #3
inthememof911
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 14055
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: subyland
Vehicle:
2013 Mustang GT
-RIP bug eye-

Default

Of a course you do.

Just like the other guy said, use the stock clamps.
inthememof911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 09:38 PM   #4
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
05 GTO/11 Sonata(!)

Default

Yes, re-use the existing clamps.
Some of the clamps are the spring-loaded type and are best removed/installed with a tool made for the purpose or alternately, pliers that can get around the tabs and compress them fully to release the clamp tension.
The toughest one to deal with is on the bypass (BOV) valve hose. It's easier if you unbolt the valve from the I/C, then remove the I/C from the car. Once it's out you'll have more room to get to the clamps on that hose.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 11:22 PM   #5
Akiata
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 297
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Wa
Default

Well, I replaced all of the clamps. Cheap insurance. And now I have extra clamps if something goes wrong.

You should replace the bypass valve hose spring clamps with new ones you can screw on and off, it will make life easier.

p@
www.achtuning.com
Akiata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 11:54 PM   #6
Gargantua
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15090
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Eureka California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX sedan
Silver

Default

I personally am not a fan of the stock clamps. I like the traditional type with the screw and threads that run along side the clamp itself.

ditto to the bypass clamp. I am not as mechanically inclined as alot of you guys are and got frustrated taking that almost impossible upside down clamp off.

Pay a few bucks and get rid of those stock clamps.

Last edited by Gargantua; 12-12-2002 at 12:00 AM.
Gargantua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 08:40 AM   #7
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

The BOV return line spring-clamp is a real pain in the butt. Here's a tip from some previous NASIOC thread though which worked very well for me when I did the work:

- Douse spring-clamp area with WD40. While that's penetrating...

- Get a coat hanger and use needlenose pliers to create a hook/loop on one end (a tight one, not a big sweeping one). Try to make the hook in one or two bends so you don't weaken the metal too much

- Insert hook into spring-clamp tab (hard to see)

- Lean over the engine bay and pull straight up on the hanger. Do this until the spring-clamp tabs are up top where you can get to them instead of turned down into the engine.

- Fight with the clamp now that you can work with it, get hose off

- When you replace the BOV line finally, use a worm-screw hose clamp instead of that spring POS.

OR...

Leave the BOV return line stock! There's no reason at all to replace it really. Same with the throttle body connector hose. The main thing you care about is the Y hose.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2002, 12:27 PM   #8
digitaltekniq
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18029
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ATX
Default

Hehe - that looks like my post after I did Vishnu IC hoses.

Agreed, the spring clamp is a complete PITA, but I didn't bother replacing mine, after my IC has been off like 6 times (don't ask) I think I've got the technique down. Now that I think about it a worm gear clamp might be nicer - not to mention more "consistent" with the rest of the clamps.

Cheers

Rich
digitaltekniq is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do i need to use dino oil for turbo swap??? why??? Mike7 Newbies & FAQs 5 05-07-2009 09:08 AM
Do I need to use crossovers? 63Alpine Car Audio, Video & Security 3 01-08-2004 12:59 AM
Help! FAST! Do I need to use gasket sealer, when replaceing my head gaskets?! wighti Tri-State Area Forum 5 10-05-2003 10:19 PM
do I need to use a crossover? Alex L Car Audio, Video & Security 3 06-02-2002 12:56 AM
Do I need to use fuel pump? m750 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 2 05-11-2001 12:22 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.