Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2003, 03:36 AM   #1
Cusco
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6220
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Gresham, OR
Vehicle:
99 ej25sett/TEC II
-:GaraGe ChimEra:-

Default Turbo kit+TEC II+gauges+radio=excessive battery draw?= no spark???

Has anyone experienced not being able to start their cars because the TEC, the turbo kit, and all the guages inside are drawing too much power that there is not enough juice to make the spark plugs spark? I have a Optima RED top battery which is 2 weeks old and I htink has 12.8V? cold cranking power. I also have stock pulleys except foir the trigger wheel is attached to crank pulley and a fuel pump pulley is off the same belt as the AC pulley.

Causes for problems:

1. Need a better battery as in more cold cranking power?

2. Bad starter?

3. Bad alternator?

4. Any other elec. probs that coudl cause excessive draw??

Take in to consideration that this is a MY99 2.5RS

Thanks

John
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by Cusco; 01-05-2003 at 04:01 AM.
Cusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 05:04 AM   #2
Drac9
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9861
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Vehicle:
1999 2.35 RS-T w/NOS
Hybrid Rally Blue Pearl

Default

Does it crank? If it cranks it's not the battery or the starter or the alternator, unless it is cranking ungodly slowly. Check the voltage output on that battery, it should be around 12 volts. I would check to make sure that the coilpacks are ok and that the plug wires and plugs are fine.
Drac9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 08:24 AM   #3
Cusco
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6220
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Gresham, OR
Vehicle:
99 ej25sett/TEC II
-:GaraGe ChimEra:-

Default I think everythign is in workig order

Drac9-

AS far as I know everythign is okay. I have custom cut magnecore wires which are I think about a year to two years old and I think free from abrasion or damage. The TEC coilpacks seem to be responding well and I dont see sany damage or anythign of that matter,. What exactly do you mean check the coil pack? for errors or something? the plugs I replaced about 3 weeks ago and the car just started today so I have only fired them a little over 10 times? could I have fowled them up already seeing how I hear peopel tuning and starting the tEC system tend to fowl plugs very often durign the first month or so???

John
Cusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 11:32 AM   #4
Austin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7089
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Western Wa
Default

John - gauges and radio have very little current draw. CD players, or large amplifiers (when turned up/making bass) will draw some current, but the radio doesn't.

I don't think you've fouled your plugs yet - not after having only run once on them. You said you started your car once already? Did it die? Did you shut it off? Describe how it started, how you shut if off, and what you've done to it between then and now (now that it won't start).

Also describe how it won't start now - does it turn over/crank? Like Drac said, if it's turning over, it's not the battery. Unlike Drac said, however, it could be the alternator. With a fresh 12v battery, it's possible to start and run the car for several hours without an alternator - all power the car needs is being drawn from the battery. You don't use the alternator to start the car - it only provides power once the engine is turning.

To see if you've killed your battery, do this -
Turn all loads off - radio, dome light, ignition, everything.
Use a multimeter and check battery voltage - this is unloaded voltage.
Now turn on your headlamps (high beams), A/C blower motor on high.
Use a multimeter and check your battery voltage - this adds a bit of load to the battery. If you've dropped more than .5 or so volts, then your battery is discharged. It's not dead, though - you can still charge it back up. If you have no other battery charger, use jumper cables from a running car.

Your battery voltage should be 11.5v to 12.5volts unloaded. As soon as your car's running, the alternator/voltage regulator begin to supply power to the car and to charge the battery. System voltage should be 13.5-14.5 volts. (test at ~2000 rpm)

If, when the engine is running around ~2000 rpm, your system voltage is 12 volts or less, then your alternator is likely crapped out.
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 12:55 PM   #5
tom@kartboy
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 67
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
1999 Outlasting
the competition.

Default

question fo you
where did you get your switched power for the tec ? i had something close to the same problem. turned out when the key was in the ON position it was seeing 12V+ but when it went to start the Voltage would go to Zero!. i used the plug for the washer bottle (second plug) after that i used a Multi Meter and probed around till i found a sutable powersource.

tom@kartboy.com
tom@kartboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2003, 05:49 PM   #6
Cusco
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6220
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Gresham, OR
Vehicle:
99 ej25sett/TEC II
-:GaraGe ChimEra:-

Default switched battery

I got the IGN switched battery from teh stock coil pack harness. it is the solid yellow wire. I just vampire clipped the yellow wire and routed it to the "swbat", just like SCC did it. As a matter of fact thats what I looked at to find out where to tap the power.

John
Cusco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2003, 01:29 PM   #7
cammy712
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6576
Join Date: May 2001
Location: McMurray, PA, USA
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 2.5 RST
Black

Default

Make sure that the power source you are using does not shut off when the motor is being cranked. That would cause no power to the ignition
cammy712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2003, 01:43 PM   #8
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Default

What makes you think the plugs are not sparking?

I've noticed that in colder weather, the car is just plain harder to start. This I've countered by enriching the cold start fuel enrichment parameters and adjusting the warm start enrichment parameters. Now the car starts fine. The Tec2 as I recall only needs 9 volts to operate properly. With a new Optima you should be fine.

Your switched power location should be find. That is what I'm using (was for the Tec2) for the Tec3. Make sure you still have a good contact with that tap. They do not always make a good reliable contact.

The next questions are: How are your grounds? Do you have sufficient grounding to the block and to the Tec2? Do you have your Red Top in the trunk or in the stock location? How many miles are on your stock altenator?

I replaced my altenator at 65,000 miles due to voltage regulator issues.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2003, 02:18 PM   #9
zaidallas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4106
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Expected whp/torque at 25 psi : 450
Default

Check spark in plugs : pull one plug out , pull the fuel pump relay out or fuse to turn the fuel off , keep the spark plug inside the spark plug wire and ground the plug to the body of the car and crank it to see if there any spark coming out . Do that for every plug to make sure there's spark. If you have spark , then make sure you have fuel .
zaidoun
zaidallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2003, 03:57 PM   #10
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

what is the ground from the tec 2 connected to battery or frame?
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved:Almost_there_1-Rotated Turbo Kit, TBE, TGV's, Gauges, EBC, etc PICS INSIDE Almost_there_1 Scammer Central 39 03-18-2009 02:45 PM
'01 rs 2.5 minnam turbo kit, tec II bmandu Engine/Power/Exhaust 1 02-09-2008 12:48 PM
Vishnu turbo kit, tec II, and Acc. for 2.5rs preza Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 7 06-09-2004 11:39 PM
RS Turbo Kit - Stage II jid2 Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 02-02-2004 11:03 AM
Shiv's 2.5 rs turbo kit and tec II kit preza Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 10-08-2003 11:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.