Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 27, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2001, 08:38 PM   #1
Scooby Newbie
Member#: 2699
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sebastian ,fl, Home of the old people
2001 2.5 RS- ?????

Post Reset on ECU?

In a week or two Iam getting a cobb intake for my 01 and I have a borla header and borla cat-back on it know so how would I reset my ECU?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
pimpomtic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 02-28-2001, 08:42 PM   #2
Scooby Specialist
Member#: 1454
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wyoming
2000 2.5 RS-T


Disconnect your negative battery terminal(the black wire going to the battery) for about 30 minutes, then connect it back. I believe it takes a 10mm socket.
preza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2001, 09:23 PM   #3
Scooby Specialist
Member#: 2736
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles, CA US
2001 Impreza 2.5RS
Aspen White


If you've got an alarm, don't forget to somehow mute the siren when you reconnect the battery. Once you reconnect, it sets off the alarm. Then, turn on your car and let it idle for about 20 - 30 mins. w/o pressing the gas. Once that's done, turn it off. Then turn it on and drive around. That's it!
ivbdn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2001, 10:56 PM   #4
Scooby Guru
Member#: 2692
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal

How about resetting without removing total power, I have radio presets, cd presets, bosst controller setting and ttimer settings
anyway to remove a fuse to the ecu or something?
kaos200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2001, 07:48 AM   #5
Scooby Guru
Member#: 873
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Just outside of Houston TX
2014 GLK/allroad
Datsun 71 240Z & 68 2000


You dont have to reset your ECU, ever if you dont want to. It just helps speed up the process. The ECU will learn the new intake without being reset. If you dont mind driving around for about 15 minutes to allow the computer to learn the new settings, then you dont have to unplug anything. The computer works on constant feedback from the emission controls. It will detect something has changed and adjust it for you.

The ECU reset is just to "speed up" the process. If you would rather keep all your settings. Dont reset the ECU.

SCRAPPYDO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2001, 08:02 AM   #6
Scooby Specialist
Member#: 3231
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: colorado springs colorado usa
88 626 Turbo


maybe write down the settings and then do the reset??
bratmantlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2001, 11:13 AM   #7
Scooby Newbie
Member#: 4553
Join Date: Feb 2001

In order to reset the CPU, you'll have to diconnect the neg terminal for about a hour if not more. You'll know its reset when your clock start at 12:00. The system has a battery backup that will hold the data for about an hour while bat is disconnected. Then I recommend letting your ride idle for 10-15 min. Then drive it like a wuss for a few days to get a good air/fuel mixture.

This is what I had to do.

ps: if you reconnect your bat and punch the gas, the CPU will since all the air-think its the norm and you'll have horable gas milage for awhile till it fixes itself.
akacuron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2001, 05:05 PM   #8
inpreza kid
Scooby Specialist
Member#: 3334
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

if you don't reset its ok but it just takes longer for the ECU to learn the mods you put on. over time the ecu will learn to deal with the but if your looking for instant results then you should reset.
inpreza kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2001, 08:16 PM   #9
Scooby Specialist
Member#: 439
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: yyz


I don't know, you all say negative terminal, how about disconnect positive terminal?? Any reason why not?

etam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2001, 10:18 PM   #10
Scooby Newbie
Member#: 2644
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA USA

Disconecet the negitive and you don't have to worry about grounding the pos and arc welding your wrench to the body.
Scooby2 is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
You know how your lights blink on and off when you reset your ecu? eurojax Off-Topic 7 01-17-2006 08:15 AM
How do i reset my ECU on my 02 WRX? BlackedOut REX General Community 1 07-23-2005 11:13 AM
Reset the ECU after full STI exhaust install on 04 FXT? shinyhappyzealot Forester Forum 3 03-03-2005 03:00 PM
ECU Reset on STI, Jerry C STi Forum Archive 10 08-05-2003 03:05 AM
ECU Reset on CAI Install?? DustinR Normally Aspirated Powertrain 8 10-30-2001 04:14 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.