Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2003, 03:45 PM   #1
RexTastic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 28666
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default Quick Radar Detector Hard wire question

I want to hardwire my detector using the auto dimming mirror harness. Instead of cutting up my regular cord, I bought one that fits from Radio Shack. The cord that goes to the lighter has a fuse in it. Do I still need to add a fuse in line on my wire or is the harness already covered somewhere?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
RexTastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 04:37 PM   #2
mhbrown
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12537
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Vehicle:
'02 WRX Sportwagon
WR Blue Pearl

Default

The mirror harness is obviously fused. My wiring manual is elsewhere; but IIRC, it is a 15 amp circuit.

Your choice. If the detector gets funky, it will take a lot to blow the car's fuse box fuse. The inline fuse is a very low amp and will blow right away without affecting the rest of the stuff in your car.

My take -- be safe and fuse the detector.
mhbrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 04:58 PM   #3
RexTastic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 28666
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/showth...radar+detector

There PlatinumWRX says "If you wire straight into the car's power, you'll get a lot of electrical noise from the alternator and ignition and such. It'll hurt the performance of your detector BIG TIME!" then he goes on suggesting to buy a hardwire kit.

Unfortunately, there is no hardwire kit for my detector so what to do?

If I do hardwire it, I will fuse it just to be safe.
RexTastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2003, 11:56 PM   #4
il96
Gone... But not forgotten
 
Member#: 13082
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Philadelphia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RexTastic
http://www.clubwrx.net/forums/showth...radar+detector

There PlatinumWRX says "If you wire straight into the car's power, you'll get a lot of electrical noise from the alternator and ignition and such. It'll hurt the performance of your detector BIG TIME!" then he goes on suggesting to buy a hardwire kit.

Unfortunately, there is no hardwire kit for my detector so what to do?

If I do hardwire it, I will fuse it just to be safe.
That is B.S. The power you get from the 12V lighter socket is not filetered any better than at any other point in your car. The battery does filtering, so don't worry about it. Many people including myself have their detectors hardwired to various points in the car, none complaining. I would still suggest putting a 3 - 5 A fuse inline with your detector though. This way even if your detector burns it won't take out the whole interior lighting with it.
il96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2003, 11:49 PM   #5
RexTastic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 28666
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by il96


That is B.S. The power you get from the 12V lighter socket is not filetered any better than at any other point in your car. The battery does filtering, so don't worry about it. Many people including myself have their detectors hardwired to various points in the car, none complaining. I would still suggest putting a 3 - 5 A fuse inline with your detector though. This way even if your detector burns it won't take out the whole interior lighting with it.
Thanks for clearing that up. I will put a fuse in line but I have another question. You suggested a 3-5 amp fuse but I just realized that the fuse in the lighter cord is 1 amp. Should I use a 1 amp fuse? The manual says 1 amp fuse only.
RexTastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 12:52 PM   #6
Jack
Add Lightness
Moderator
 
Member#: 13699
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Hopkinton, MA
Vehicle:
2007 Lotus Elise
(From General)

Default

Your radar detector should have come with a fuse already. Use that one. The fuse is protecting you from too much current melting the radar detector wire....which is way smaller than wire in the car. 1A will probably do if you don't have one with the detector.

jack
Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 06:16 PM   #7
RexTastic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 28666
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: IL
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jack ffr1846
Your radar detector should have come with a fuse already. Use that one. The fuse is protecting you from too much current melting the radar detector wire....which is way smaller than wire in the car. 1A will probably do if you don't have one with the detector.

jack
Since I will be using my own wire to power it (I won't be cutting up the one that came with it since I will use it if I have to take a different car), so it won't have a fuse. To be on the safe side, I will add a fuse to my wiring job. I just need to know if 3-5A will do or do I need to go down to 1A?
RexTastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 06:44 PM   #8
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Fuse the wire to the detector with the same value fuse as in the original power wire. If it's 1A, use that.
A good rule of thumb is to fuse a device at twice its expected max current drain. This allows for turn-on surge and peak draw without blowing fuses but ensures that the fuse will blow immediately if there is a problem with the device or wiring.
The manufacturer of the detector has already taken all of this into account so no need to second guess them.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
escort 9500 radar detector hard wire kit Noob Question bnr34rb26dett Electrical & Lighting 11 11-20-2008 09:13 PM
escort 9500 radar detector hard wire kit Noob Question bnr34rb26dett Newbies & FAQs 1 11-12-2008 12:41 PM
Radar detector/ neons...wiring Slamsitin Electrical & Lighting 1 03-10-2004 09:09 AM
radar detector hard wire or other 12v item TRM Electrical & Lighting 2 12-16-2003 09:08 PM
Quick radar detector power question RexTastic Electrical & Lighting 3 03-07-2003 07:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.