Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2003, 12:11 PM   #1
insanesuby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23494
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
Black

Default RS-T with J&S Safeguard

Getting ready to wire my new J&S up was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on were to put the unit? Also so all the wires do not have to be run through the engine bay is it possible to use the wiring harness on the stock ecu? Any other info about the install or configuring I would like to hear.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
insanesuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 12:35 PM   #2
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

The only wire that has to be run into the engine bay is to the knock sensor they provide. Otherwise everything can be tapped in at the ECU.

Not sure about where to put it... I've seen it under the passenger seat many times, though.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 12:57 PM   #3
Graham
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11931
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Winter Park, FL/ SMU @ Dallas,
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS Turbo
257/FMIC/T3-T04S

Default

I had mine mounted in the glove compartment, fit perfect.


Graham
Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 01:42 PM   #4
insanesuby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23494
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Graham
I had mine mounted in the glove compartment, fit perfect.


Graham
I think this is what I am going to try.
insanesuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 02:32 PM   #5
Wedge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2279
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The MIA
Vehicle:
2000 Slingshot
Pastelito Racing

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 8Complex
The only wire that has to be run into the engine bay is to the knock sensor they provide. Otherwise everything can be tapped in at the ECU..
The new model doesn't bring a knock sensor, it taps right into the stock knock sensor wire in the ECU.
Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 02:41 PM   #6
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Wedge
The new model doesn't bring a knock sensor, it taps right into the stock knock sensor wire in the ECU.
Wow... thats news to me. Thanks!
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 08:30 PM   #7
foolio
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9351
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Last Minute Motorsports
Vehicle:
2006 trailblazer SS
black

Default

Mine is under the passenger seat. Glove box would be nice though.

J
foolio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2003, 11:24 PM   #8
Hondaslayer
Purified Dick
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Forester, lifted.

Default

Mines going in the glovebox as well,I have a 2001 so wiring should be the same,Mind showing where and how you tapped the wires for it when your done (if its not too much to ask pix?)



Ben,
Hondaslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 11:50 AM   #9
Joncas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5349
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Central New York
Default

The new one as far as I know still uses the aftermarket knock sensor and it doesn't get connected at all to the factory knock sensor (that is left connnected to the factory ECU).

That being said - my V2 had instructions for my RS that way.

I say put it in the location for the ashtray unless you have the dual monitor - then the glove box. I'm moving mine there now.

(and for those observant people - thats not a subaru compatible J&S - it just so happens I got shipped a single channel unit the first time. Its a dual channel now.)
Joncas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 05:01 PM   #10
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

I put mine hidden in the radio center console.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2003, 06:54 PM   #11
Wedge
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2279
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: The MIA
Vehicle:
2000 Slingshot
Pastelito Racing

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joncas
The new one as far as I know still uses the aftermarket knock sensor and it doesn't get connected at all to the factory knock sensor (that is left connnected to the factory ECU).
Not sure which model you have.....but, according to these instructions it taps in to ECU pinout B136-4.
Wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2003, 02:14 AM   #12
Joncas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5349
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Central New York
Default

Thats weird... mine came with a different set of instructions showing no connection. Just a separate knock sensor.
Joncas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J&S SafeGuard knock sensor with Dual Monitor - Protect Your Motor! crashnscar Engine/Power/Exhaust 4 05-16-2008 04:45 PM
Is there any point in running a J&S Safeguard with a UTEC? legacy2003 Engine Management & Tuning 0 02-10-2006 08:28 PM
Problems with J&S Safeguard lotusTT Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 5 09-11-2003 08:00 PM
Anyone blown their engine with J&S Safeguard installed??? FLaBrit Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 9 08-25-2003 11:16 PM
help with J&S Safeguard 99SubRs Engine Management & Tuning 4 03-16-2003 06:45 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.