Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-26-2003, 01:01 AM   #1
liigod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30512
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Yonder
Vehicle:
01 2.5rs
black

Default optima in trunk

so i just got a free optima battery... and MAN is that thing heavy. So i wanted to put it in my trunk, and i ahve an 8 gauge wire in the car... i was wondering if i could run the car off of a 8 gauge wire... i have heard 4 gauge is the way to go, but i have an 8 gauge and would rather not go out and uby a 60 dollar monster wire or something and they are pretty beefy and id ont really have much room for them . Can I run just the car off of the 8 gauge? no system or anything that would be seperate.

thanks

colleen.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
liigod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 07:44 AM   #2
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

8 gauge will not be enough to run from the trunk back up to the engine. The OEM starter cable is 4 ga. but that is for a short run of a couple of feet, so if you want to install it in the trunk and have the car start properly, as well as avoid voltage drop for the electrical system, you would have to use the heaviest cable possible. 2 ga. would probably be ok, 0 even better. Also be sure to install it in a proper box with venting to the outside, although Optimas don't normally generate gas they can under some circumstances.
And which one did you get? If it's an equivalent size to the stock battery it should be close in weight. I have a Group 35 Red-top and it weighs about the same as the 35 I took out. If you got a Group 34 then it would be somewhat larger and heavier.

Last edited by Mulder; 01-26-2003 at 03:25 PM.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 02:49 PM   #3
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

you need a minimum of 4 guage wire but my personal reccomendation is 2, 0 or 0/2 guage...remember it has to be able to support 200 amps for up to 15 seconds. that's a lot of power flow and a TON of heat. Heat=Resistance

jeremy
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 04:51 PM   #4
liigod
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30512
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Yonder
Vehicle:
01 2.5rs
black

Default

its a red top, it seems to be a tit bit bigger than the previous battery, thanks guys for your help.
liigod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 05:20 PM   #5
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by liigod
its a red top, it seems to be a tit bit bigger than the previous battery, thanks guys for your help.
it's probably a 34 series which is what i have
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2003, 05:53 PM   #6
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

That would explain the weight. Since you already have it, and it was free, go ahead and make use of it. If you were just going out to buy one I'd say that the 35 is more than sufficient and weighs many pounds less.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 02:15 AM   #7
HndaTch627
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6551
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL
Vehicle:
'01 GC8 Dinged STM
'09 Concours 14 ABS Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mulder
That would explain the weight. Since you already have it, and it was free, go ahead and make use of it. If you were just going out to buy one I'd say that the 35 is more than sufficient and weighs many pounds less.
not to me, i'd rather add a few pounds and get the 800CCA's from the group 34
HndaTch627 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 07:03 AM   #8
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Well, if you really want/need the extra power it's the way to go as long as you don't mind the tradeoff in terms of weight.
I've found the 720CCA from the 35 to be plenty even on cold days like we have here today. Anything is better than the 325 in the stocker.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2003, 11:54 AM   #9
defduane
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17718
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2006 Forester XT
Dark Blue

Default

8 gauge is definitely too small and u don't have to spend a lot on larger gauge wire. Try this place: http://www.knukonceptz.com
defduane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2003, 05:42 PM   #10
armand1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10309
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
'02 OBS 2-tone!
'95 Montego Miata

Default

Also, don't forget that you need to be VERY careful how you route it up front. You need multiple layers of electrical insulation and physical protection against chafing, etc. Since there is no fuse on this monster cable, any place along the run from the battery to engine compartment that the insulation wears through and touches the chassis: * Bang - instant carbeque *!
This is one of the main reasons why car makers put the battery right next to where the starter is...
armand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2003, 07:07 PM   #11
Alan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3601
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tigard, Oregon
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon
BRIGHT BLUE!

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by armand1

This is one of the main reasons why car makers put the battery right next to where the starter is...
Most of them, but there are lots of cars with the battery in back and the engine in front (think BMW) and of course there was the old VW with the battery under the seat, and my Renault Dauphine with the battery in front and engine (what little there was) in back.
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2003, 07:11 PM   #12
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Yep, I had one of those VWs. An excellent place for a battery, especially when they leaked and rotted out the floor underneath. Sometimes the rot was so bad the battery would just fall out. I was fortunate, mine had only a small hole.
Audi used to put them under the rear seat as well, and Porsches used to have them up front. Not sure if either one still does this.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 06:52 PM   #13
Suba_Roo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5691
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Redwood City, CA
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS
Silverthorn

Default

Go to a welding shop and get 2 gauge cable. The stuff they have is inexpensive and super flexible.
Suba_Roo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2003, 07:44 PM   #14
armand1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10309
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
'02 OBS 2-tone!
'95 Montego Miata

Default

Yep, my Miata has it in the trunk, too. The point is, if it's designed in from the start, provision is made to run a monster power cable safely the length of the car; it's a lot trickier to do this properly as an aftermarket mod.
armand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2003, 08:30 PM   #15
Bimmer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4116
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Humboldt County, CA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza TS
White

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Suba_Roo
Go to a welding shop and get 2 gauge cable. The stuff they have is inexpensive and super flexible.
FWIW, I've heard this is a bad idea. AFAIK, welding cable is flexible because the strands of wire are smaller, and this leads to problems in the long run, somehow. You might do a search and see what else's recommended... this topic comes up over and over.

Ben
Bimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2003, 12:27 AM   #16
gator
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 18296
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Francis Creek, WI
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WR Blue

Default

Check summit racing or jegs high performance. They usually carry kits for mounting the battery in the trunk along with the various pieces/parts seperately since they sell alot of drag and circle track stuff.
gator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MO: Fiberglass sub box to fit in passenger side pocket in trunk clbd39 Interior/Dressup/Audio & Security 11 09-08-2007 08:53 PM
Cheap Optimas in PDX! Flowmastered87GL North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 0 02-06-2005 09:24 PM
('93-'01) ??tube in trunk?? what is it? Accurit Impreza Forum 6 04-10-2001 09:44 PM
Light in ashtray and none in trunk? BOB YOUNG General Forum Archive 2 01-10-2001 12:13 AM
Securing sub box in trunk youthanasia Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 1 08-17-2000 01:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.