Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-10-2003, 04:58 PM   #1
Impreza Rider
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 756
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashburn, Va
Vehicle:
2003 Legacy L wagon
2009 Kawasaki C14

Question Anyone else besides Graham Goode make a speedo recalibration kit?

I just swapped a cluster from a JDM Impreza into my car, so it reads in km/h, and not mph.
I don't really want to pay $155 for the one from Graham Goode.

Does anyone else make one that'll convert the speedo from km/p to mph? Or, does anyone know how it works?

Thanks

Jim
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Impreza Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 01:29 AM   #2
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Hey Jim, I think MRT makes one as well, but never got aprice from one of them. The install requires splicing into the speedo sensor wire and tricks the ECU into believing it's reading kph when in reality, it's mph. lemme know what you find, I always wanted to get rid of that 112mph speed cut.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 03:13 AM   #3
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Jim, if you're going to order one, let me know, We may be able to save on shipping.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 03:15 AM   #4
lenyx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8221
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Belchertown, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Legacy 2.5i Ltd

Default

I'm in the same boat.. I know I've seen someone else besides graham goode selling one (not sure if it was mrt.. I don't think it was) but it wasn't much cheaper anyway.

I DID however.. just find this: http://www.kilburne.com/2410/info.php?p=2&pno=0

Scroll down to "Subaru Cable Converter". I know nothing about speedometers really so will this work on all Subarus?

Edit - If this does turn out to be something that could work for all of us I say we should try to stir some more interest and maybe a get a bulk discount/save on shipping.
lenyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 03:53 AM   #5
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

great find. Actually, it would be the electronic converters that would be useful. I contacted them about their speedo converters. It just might work. thanks alot. Jim, I'll keep you posted.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 06:49 AM   #6
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

A cable converter would only work on older cars that use a speedometer cable. Late model cars use electronic speed sensors and are cable-less.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 11:18 AM   #7
Impreza Rider
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 756
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashburn, Va
Vehicle:
2003 Legacy L wagon
2009 Kawasaki C14

Default

Steve, please do, I'm sure we could save on shipping.

This converter sounds like what I'm after:

Manufactured by Elite International
Km/h to MPH Speedo Converter
Changes all Kilometers Readings to Miles
For all Electronic Speedo Heads Except Nissan & Mazda
Also Delimits 90% of Vehicles

Comes with full Instructions, Easy to Install.
Price: 40.00


And it's only half the price of the Graham Goode one. Then I could have a 180mph speed limit
Impreza Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 11:53 AM   #8
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Got the info. it's connected to the tranny speed sensor from what I gather.
here-
Hi Stephen,
a. E0021 fitted @ Gear Box will convert speedo to MPH & de-limit as well.
b. If speedo is already in MPH you will need to fit a E002D @ ECU to de-limit.
c. We can supply wiring instructions for fitting & provided you have a basic understanding of auto-electrics you should not have a problem.
d. Prices for E0021 40.00 quantity 1-5 , 35.00 6-10, 30.00 10+.
e. Prices for E002D 45.00 " " 1-5 , 40.00 6-10, 35.00 10+
f. Swiftair Air Mail cost to U.S. 10 -15 depending on quantity.
Look forward to hearing from you - Regards Brian @ Elite International.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 11:55 AM   #9
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

I'm ordering one, who else wants to order one. I'll start a list
1.TaiChih
2.Impreza Rider
3.lenyx(?)
4. Davenow

Last edited by TaiChih; 02-12-2003 at 10:23 PM.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 12:06 PM   #10
lenyx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8221
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Belchertown, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Legacy 2.5i Ltd

Default

Hehe.. I told them to be prepared to get flooded with enquiry. Guess I was right

Yes I definitely will be in for one. So this will only affect speed readings right? Not rpm's? Like I said before.. I'm dumb when it comes to speedometers and whatnot.

Maybe we could post this over in the private classifides to get a bigger discount? I know we're not supposed to put gb's in there but it's not like any of us are making money off if it... we're just trying to extend the deal to as many people as possible. I just posted over in my local region to try to stir up interest.. so there's a start.

Last edited by lenyx; 02-12-2003 at 12:13 PM.
lenyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 12:12 PM   #11
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

I am checking with Nick right now. I don't want to post anywhere else yet, just in case he says no.
edit- and no it will not affect rpm reading, just speed sensor.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 12:30 PM   #12
subaruwrxparts.com
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 26010
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Stratham, New Hampshire
Vehicle:
2006 STi
Aspen White

Default

[North Ursalia]
Is this a conversion box or gauge faces? I don't know if this is only true of the v6 cluster or not, but after converting kph to mph, my cluster reads my vehicle speed perfectly, idependently verified by both OBD-II and the New Hampshire State Police (whoops ). You shouldn't need a box to convert kph ---> mph, just new gauge faces.


Brian
http://www.subaruwrxparts.com
http://www.wrxstiparts.com
http://www.subarubajaparts.com
[/North Ursalia]
subaruwrxparts.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 12:39 PM   #13
lenyx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8221
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Belchertown, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Legacy 2.5i Ltd

Default

I've had a heck of a time finding stock looking gauge faces to convert the 180kph clusters to mph, maybe i'm not looking hard enough? I'm also interested in having the odometer record miles instead of km.. less to have the dealer kicking and screaming about.
lenyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 01:13 PM   #14
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Brian- This would be a converter box/chip. I believe they also sell replacement guages to read MPH, with the speedo converter installed .
main purpose for me would be :
A. speed delimit the ECU at 108mph
B. change the odometer mileage in my JDM cluster to read MPH instead of kph(ease for oil change intervals, instead of doing math in my head)

Reading the speed in actual kph is not a problem, just convert. All you need to know is that 90kph is 55mph and 40kph is 25mph, and 60kph is about 40mph.
Now, I wonder, if I purchase this speedo converter, does that mean the kph on my guage will mean mph and therefore I'll have a 180mph guage?hmmmm.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 01:32 PM   #15
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Hi Stephen,
a. E0021 fitted @ Gear Box will convert speedo to MPH & de-limit as well.
b. If speedo is already in MPH you will need to fit a E002D @ ECU to de-limit.
c. We can supply wiring instructions for fitting & provided you have a basic understanding of auto-electrics you should not have a problem.
d. Prices for E0021 40.00 quantity 1-5 , 35.00 6-10, 30.00 10+.
e. Prices for E002D 45.00 " " 1-5 , 40.00 6-10, 35.00 10+
f. Swiftair Air Mail cost to U.S. 10 -15 depending on quantity.
Look forward to hearing from you - Regards Brian @ Elite International.
First, in the case of a WRX, I would absolutely NOT fit the E0021 at the Gear Box. The ECU (and TCM if you have an automatic) need accurate readings from the vehicle speed sensor. The E0021, if it works properly, should convert the 4,100 pules per mile that the vehicle speed sensor issues (regardless of whether its on a JDM or USDM WRX) down to 2,548 pulses per mile. If connected only to the VSS input at the instrument cluster, then when the speedo says your going 60 kmh, you're actually going 60 mph; and when the odo says you've travelled 60 km, you've actually travelled 60 miles.
Quote:
Originally posted by lenyx
I'm also interested in having the odometer record miles instead of km.. less to have the dealer kicking and screaming about.
You car's mileage will still not be readily ascertainable. Doesn't the odometer indicate "km" in the display? Your dealer won't kick and scream. But you will when he calmly explains that your car is ineligible for warranty coverage because "the odometer mileage has been changed so that mileage cannot be readily determined."
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 01:50 PM   #16
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Well, I am not concerned with warrenty issues as I have 99 RS, not WRX, and voided my warranty the first day I had the car.
Next, Jon. that is absolutely right. This IS exactly what I want for my car. I need it to read MPH instead of KPH. I just have to know that it's in Miles. if the kph then means mph, so be it, at least I'll have a 180MPH speedo guage
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 01:53 PM   #17
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Quote:
The ECU (and TCM if you have an automatic) need accurate readings from the vehicle speed sensor.
You may have a point... But what does the ECU use with this reading anyway? as far as speed goes? If they are doing this to JDM cars and bringing them to the UK to use, why not the US?
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 05:38 PM   #18
lenyx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8221
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Belchertown, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Legacy 2.5i Ltd

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jon [in CT]
You car's mileage will still not be readily ascertainable. Doesn't the odometer indicate "km" in the display? Your dealer won't kick and scream. But you will when he calmly explains that your car is ineligible for warranty coverage because "the odometer mileage has been changed so that mileage cannot be readily determined."
Yes I understand that. I'm planning on going to the dealer and having them document my mileage. I've already talked to them about it and they said that in the case of replacement gauge clusters they record the original cluster's mileage on the door frame. I'm going to go one step further and also get a notarized document of the mileage at the time of the swap.

As far as the car reading in km on the odometer.. I'm still trying to figure out the best way to prove it's in miles if I have to. I'm thinking set the trip odometer on a mph car, drive a mile, and then do the same in my car and show that it records the same distance. It's a big hassle, sure, but my dealer is generally pretty understanding of things I do with my car.

I would like to know where this wiring goes though. If it itercepts the signal going into the ecu would that mess things up such as air bag deployment? I'd much rather hear that it goes between the ecu and the gauge cluster.
lenyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 10:16 PM   #19
Davenow
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23676
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: de_dust and Orgrimar
Vehicle:
.

Default Lenyx dont bother with tem verifying your milage

It didnt do North Ursalia any good. They "lost" the paper work.
If you change your cluster, and go to the dealer with the jdm one installed, your warranty is done. PERIOD.
I MAY OR MAY NOT have a jdm STI cluster in my car, and IF I DO I will take it out whenever I go to the dealer. Yes an OD statement lowers the resale value of the car, but there is a guy in florida that can program the correct milage into your cluster (did it for my buddies GTI) so when I go to sell the car, I am just going to have the correct milage put on the ODO and never say a word.

Moral of the story? it takes 5 min to swap the cluster, so just put the stocker back in for service work, if they ask why your miles dont go up, just tell them you rarely drive it.
Davenow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 10:20 PM   #20
lenyx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8221
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Belchertown, MA
Vehicle:
2011 Legacy 2.5i Ltd

Default

Yes but have you found a shop that can program a subaru odometer? I've called a few places and they say they can't do it even though they do other makes.
lenyx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2003, 10:22 PM   #21
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Quote:
If it itercepts the signal going into the ecu would that mess things up such as air bag deployment?
airbag deployment is based on impact force, not speed.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 10:16 AM   #22
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

any dealership has this service. it's called speedometer service and calibration. If not, I know someone that can help out.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 10:17 AM   #23
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Got pending approval and four people so far, I guess. Just waiting for final word. thanks
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 03:04 PM   #24
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

Captain, you want in?
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2003, 06:00 PM   #25
WiredWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 20768
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Vehicle:
2009 IS-F
Black

Default

O.K. Sorry to interupt, but, I am thinking about getting the STI Cluster and installing it in my REX.

I have seen that someone mentioned that the car would then be limited to 108mph. Would that be a governer, or would it be that the Speedo won't go past 108mph.

Are there any negatives to doing the swap. I understand that the car will read in KPH instead of MPH, and the odo will read in km instead of ni. I can live with that, as long as it is accurate. I don't want the odo saying 10km, when it hasn't actually gone 10km.

What exactly does this unit do. I might be interested, depending on what kinda info I get.

Thanx
Michael
WiredWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else here not good with saving money? NiteKids Off-Topic 43 02-08-2009 04:00 AM
Graham Goode - AP Racing kit anyone? JIM THEO Brakes, Steering & Suspension 5 11-20-2005 08:10 PM
Graham goode Oil cooler kit DJIMPREZA Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 21 01-24-2004 09:32 AM
Speedo recalibration? Skeandhu Brakes, Steering & Suspension 9 04-19-2001 09:04 AM
17" wheels and speedo recalibration PunksRS WRX Forum Archive 1 02-13-2001 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.