Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday December 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Bay Area Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2003, 04:45 PM   #1
5150wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33102
Join Date: Feb 2003
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
wrb

Default Ecutek Re-Flash

Who has it? What are ur impressions and do you have any complaints. Is the power very noticable.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
5150wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 04:51 PM   #2
Crawford/I-Speed
Vendor
 
Member#: 12347
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
ECU ReProgramming
Dynapack AWD Dyno

Default

Quote:
Who has it? What are ur impressions and do you have any complaints. Is the power very noticable.
There are quite a few cars in the bay area that have the ECUtek, including myself. Heck , I was giving people rides at UCKK last night. Reviews from passengers were, all good, of course

People complain about not being able to tune it themselves.

The power is very noticable, like night and day. From a stock wrx, expect about 20plus whp gain. Of course the more mods you have the more hp you can get.

Chris
Crawford/I-Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 05:15 PM   #3
aWolfInSheepClothing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22131
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: lurking in the dark..
Default

Chris,

Since you have used the LINk and now the ECUtek, So what do you prefer now? ( LINK or ECUtek )
aWolfInSheepClothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 06:10 PM   #4
Crawford/I-Speed
Vendor
 
Member#: 12347
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
ECU ReProgramming
Dynapack AWD Dyno

Default

for my daily driving....ECUtek

For the track, I have used both ECUtek and Link (yes I still have my Link)

I can tune faster (on the fly) with the link, if i want to. The ecutek takes a little longer to tune.


I keep the ECUtek in my car because I do way more street driving than track driving. The ECUtek is smoother, gentler and I get better gas milage (City driving: link was 200 per 13.5 gallon tank. ECUtek is 250 per tank. Both setups are running 13.5psi for street)

Chris
Crawford/I-Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 06:45 PM   #5
aWolfInSheepClothing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22131
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: lurking in the dark..
Default

ok sounds like you prefer to use ECUtek since it is more user friendly (streetable) altho it takes longer to tune and may cost more to get it re-flashed if other mods are added?
aWolfInSheepClothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 06:56 PM   #6
subarud
Gone.. But not forgotten
 
Member#: 9863
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mendacity, U.S.
Vehicle:
02 WRX Blue & Fast
91 S10 Red & Abused

Default

I-Speed (Bill) just tuned my car for a comparitive turboxs stage 3 car. My mods are turboxs tmic, turboback and uppipe, sparkplugs, and blitz sus intake. After 2+ hours of road tuning my car felt great. Not only is it a lot quicker but it is a lot smoother! I noticed the biggest difference after tuning in 3rd and 4th gear, they pull a lot harder now. 1st and 2nd pull extremely quick, the WRX is insane from 0-80. I am still wondering what turbo to get, so come summertime I will have a new turbo and fuel mods. Then I will get dynotuned and reflashed.

~Evan
subarud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 07:02 PM   #7
Crawford/I-Speed
Vendor
 
Member#: 12347
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
ECU ReProgramming
Dynapack AWD Dyno

Default

We are always putting things on cars and playing around with tuning.

We have the link and we can flash ECUtek. I don't pay anyone to flash our stuff. Well, techincaly we had to pay ECUtek for the software and hardware.

The ECUtek takes longer to tune because I cannot drive and tune at the same time like I can with the Link. Using ECUtek, I have to pull over, shutoff the car, look at my ECUtek map, add a little magic here and there, upload it, the start the car and drive around.

chris
Crawford/I-Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 07:07 PM   #8
Lowball
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24198
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Wagon Mafia - OG
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sport Wag
Black to reality.

Default Ecutek

I have the ECUTEK Re-flash and dyno/street tuned as of Monday. I do have other mods as well. Equivalent to a Vishnu Stage 0 without the pulley. Things I noticed on the drive home from Vishnu.

Very noticeable power increase.
Very drivable.
Very smooth.

I was going to go with the EXED but Shiv talked me out of it. Main reason being that I donít plan on tuning myself. At this point I really donít want to mess with tuning. They installed the EXED and the ECUTEK system and they both gave about the same amount of hp after tuning. So I went with the ECUTEK. The ECED is still a piggy back to the factory ECU but user tunable.
Lowball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 08:28 PM   #9
aWolfInSheepClothing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 22131
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: lurking in the dark..
Default

I am in the market for an aftermarket ECU and just wanted to compare to see what is best for my car. How much is ECUtek?

Great info guys! keep them coming!
aWolfInSheepClothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2003, 10:05 PM   #10
Crawford/I-Speed
Vendor
 
Member#: 12347
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
ECU ReProgramming
Dynapack AWD Dyno

Default

It depends on who flashes your ECUtek. In the bay area it is $750.
A few things to keep in mind when you get a flash.
1. Will it come with an initial free tune (street or dyno)
2. Will you be adding parts to your car in the near future? if so, be advised that whomever flashes your ECUtek will be the only person to re-flash it in the future. Thus, you will be subject to whomever's tuning (re-flash) rates.
3. Ask around. See if you can find someone near you and get a ride in their car. See where they went to get the ECUtek done and how much they paid. Ask their opinion of how they spent their money.

chris
i-speedusa.com
Crawford/I-Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2003, 07:19 PM   #11
4evryng
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 31116
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: S.F. Bay Area
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Shag Wag
Larry, Kiss Our Apps!

Default

Hey Lowball,

Did you get some dyno time at Vishnu? Just curious as to the kind of hp gains you achieved.

4evryng
(aka Ron - we met at MPJ when you had the uppipe installed)
4evryng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 01:09 AM   #12
Lowball
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24198
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Wagon Mafia - OG
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sport Wag
Black to reality.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 4evryng
Hey Lowball,

Did you get some dyno time at Vishnu? Just curious as to the kind of hp gains you achieved.

4evryng
(aka Ron - we met at MPJ when you had the uppipe installed)
Hay 4evryng (Ron) -

Yeah I got a little dyno time at Vishnu. Very nice hp gains over stock. With the mods I have it's about the same as the stage 0. Very nice and smooth, very drivable. About 200 at the wheels.

Vishnu is having a dyno day on the 1st I think.

Lowball
Lowball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 02:36 AM   #13
topcover
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8999
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 EJ25 FXT Wagon
Platinum Silver, Stage2

Default

Wow!!! Have to say that the Ecutek reflash is like night and day on my Vishnu Stage 2. The powerband is much larger and as many have said... etremely smooth. Car drives like stock only HELLA fast.

I had noticed some more turbo lag since going from Stage 0 to Stage 2. Since the reflash it is barely noticeable. Was able to pull out about 250whp after about 70 runs on the Vishnu dyno. BTW, that makes about 125 runs so far on my car.

Great job by Shiv and the team. Car drives like a dream. Highly recommend the reflash. This is me driving ---->
topcover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 03:20 AM   #14
Crawford/I-Speed
Vendor
 
Member#: 12347
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
ECU ReProgramming
Dynapack AWD Dyno

Default

I keep trying to tell you all how smooth ECUtek is.

why doesn't anyone listen to me...*sigh*

Happy driving
Crawford/I-Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2003, 03:24 AM   #15
1WRX2NV
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17110
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: San Jose, CA
Vehicle:
02 wrx sedan
midnight black pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by topcover
Wow!!! Have to say that the Ecutek reflash is like night and day on my Vishnu Stage 2. The powerband is much larger and as many have said... etremely smooth. Car drives like stock only HELLA fast.

I had noticed some more turbo lag since going from Stage 0 to Stage 2. Since the reflash it is barely noticeable. Was able to pull out about 250whp after about 70 runs on the Vishnu dyno. BTW, that makes about 125 runs so far on my car.

Great job by Shiv and the team. Car drives like a dream. Highly recommend the reflash. This is me driving ---->
Thats GREAT!! Hey which turbo are you using?

-freddie
1WRX2NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:10 AM   #16
topcover
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8999
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 EJ25 FXT Wagon
Platinum Silver, Stage2

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by I-Speed USA
I keep (blah) to tell you (blah blah) all how smooth (blah) (blah) ECUtek is.

why doesn't anyone listen to me...*sigh*

Happy driving
I'm sorry... what did you say? j/k!!!!!

Just supporting what you said with personal testimonial!!!!
topcover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2003, 02:10 AM   #17
topcover
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8999
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 EJ25 FXT Wagon
Platinum Silver, Stage2

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 1WRX2NV


Thats GREAT!! Hey which turbo are you using?

-freddie

VF30
topcover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom EcuTek re-flash and possible issues Chuck H Engine Management & Tuning 1 11-05-2004 11:48 PM
Heading to the tuners, ECUTEK Re-flash time AZ-wagon Engine Management & Tuning 5 08-06-2004 02:59 PM
2004 WRX Ecutek Re-flash MISSMYS4 Engine Management & Tuning 1 05-06-2004 10:51 AM
Difference between vendors ECUtek re-flash? Drews_WRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 04-08-2003 05:37 PM
Ecutek re-flashed my chip WRXzard Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 1 10-29-2002 02:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.