Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday November 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2003, 08:49 AM   #1
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default Re-flashing flashed ECU (ecutek)

Hey there, i plan on swapping ECU with a friend that's putting his wrx to stock though we do plan on swapping ECU's since he wants a stock ECU and his has already been flashed with a ecutek software. my question is since we have the same setup only didn't brands of parts how much would it cost to get it re-flashed to my car? for example i have a vf30 and my friend has a vf34... since they spool differently they would have to be adjusted ... let me know people thanks.


-=melo
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 11:26 AM   #2
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

If he got the Ecutek reflash from Vishnu, a reflash should only cost $175 since it's already been flashed once.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 11:57 AM   #3
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

Yes it was flashed by Shiv when he came to nj a few weeks ago.. thanks



-=melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 01:37 PM   #4
STR8OUT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15533
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: W.C., PA - taco heaven
Vehicle:
2010 Dodge Ram Hemi
boat, dirt bikes, bobcat

Default

The VF30 and VF34 are exactly the same except for being ball bearing. You shouldnt need a reflash it you are setup the same.
STR8OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 03:50 PM   #5
zacek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19467
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chatsworth, CA.
Vehicle:
02 WRX
WR Blue

Default

i second that!
zacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 08:58 PM   #6
dookiebob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21767
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2002 STi wannabe
Midnight Blue Swirl

Default

Different brands of parts will give different parameters to tune. Although the VF30 and VF34 are almost identical, the fact that your other parts are different would make me personally go for the reflash.

I think $175 is a good deal for some peace of mind.

-Bob
dookiebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 11:09 PM   #7
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

I figured since both turbos spool at different times the ecu had to be changed.. another thing, who can reflash my ecu? rallispec? im in nj


-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2003, 11:24 PM   #8
dookiebob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21767
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2002 STi wannabe
Midnight Blue Swirl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wRxbeater11
I figured since both turbos spool at different times the ecu had to be changed.. another thing, who can reflash my ecu? rallispec? im in nj


-melo
Yes, Rallispec can reflash your ECU... they did mine (as well as a full TXS stage 4+ level install) and I am SOOO happy with their work However, I don't know their policy on reflashing an ECU that was initially flashed by someone else. You should contact them for details on that.

About the turbo spool time, I don't know the answer for that for sure... I know the VF34 spools a few hundred RPM sooner, but I do not know if that in itself would require a reflash. On the other hand, your other mods (being from different companies than your friend's pieces) would prompt me to get a reflash.

-Bob
dookiebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 02:33 AM   #9
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

contacted ralispec, wel sicne it was flashed by a different place they would have to start fresh. so in other words swaping ecus will be pointless when i can get it flashed on mine for $800...might just go with a utec seems to be easier..plus bm can tune it...
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2003, 07:09 PM   #10
SC WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15258
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2012 Non-Subaru

Default

Why don't you just Fed Ex it to Vishnu?
SC WRX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2003, 11:10 AM   #11
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SC WRX
Why don't you just Fed Ex it to Vishnu?

vishnu cant tune a ecu thats has a greddy intake unless its on the dyno. since the intake itself changed the way the sensor reads. Went through the same issue while i still ran the unichip back in the day...


-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2003, 06:21 PM   #12
dookiebob
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21767
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2002 STi wannabe
Midnight Blue Swirl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wRxbeater11



vishnu cant tune a ecu thats has a greddy intake unless its on the dyno. since the intake itself changed the way the sensor reads. Went through the same issue while i still ran the unichip back in the day...


-melo
I think the simple solution is to take the intake off

Your car will be easily reflashed by Vishnu if you do.

-Bob
dookiebob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2003, 02:03 AM   #13
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dookiebob


I think the simple solution is to take the intake off

Your car will be easily reflashed by Vishnu if you do.

-Bob

would love to but nothing will fit for my greddy fmic =[



-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT: Ecutek flashed 03 ecu for Stock ecu + $250 D Money Engine/Power/Exhaust 23 01-16-2009 11:00 AM
ECUTEC flashe STi ECU west005 Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 07-13-2005 04:02 PM
Prodrive PPP3 We flash the ECU! MastroWRX Engine/Power/Exhaust 2 05-28-2004 10:03 AM
Can anyone in DFW flash my ECU for $$$? Justin962 Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 14 03-08-2004 12:43 PM
COBB re flash on ECU sonicsub03 Engine Management & Tuning 3 01-04-2004 09:56 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.