Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2003, 10:46 PM   #1
whiterabbit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16755
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: yo mama's house
Default does the utec use the factory boost solenoid?

does the utec use the factory boost solenoid? or does that get bypassed. I have a feeling that my solenoid might not be working right. If my factory boost solenoid is messed up will the UTEC sitll work properly?

The reason I ask this is because I think my FBS is messed up cause its only hitting .8bar of boost. And I am running on a full catless setup.

thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
whiterabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:02 PM   #2
nmyeti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4980
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Default Re: does the utec use the factory boost solenoid?

Quote:
Originally posted by whiterabbit
does the utec use the factory boost solenoid?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally posted by whiterabbit
If my factory boost solenoid is messed up will the UTEC sitll work properly?

No.
nmyeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:10 PM   #3
dj_noose
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17302
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Camp Hill, PA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
you know... the blue one

Default

I think it's both. The UTEC comes with an ABC (auxillary boost controller) which sets the max boost pressure. When I just installed my UTEC I was getting like .06mpa of boost. I had to play with the abc for a while to get it to go up to .11mpa. I know the UTEC controls the soleniod though cause I've heard of people not using the abc and running stock boost pressure. I believe stock pressure should be around .09mpa, that's what mine would run most of the time for 2nd gear and up. Did you do an ECU reset? If not, it might take a day for the ecu to relearn. I wouldn't say it was bad, you're not that far below stock. Probably 1.5psi below stock, try a reset and give it a day.
dj_noose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2003, 11:52 PM   #4
whiterabbit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16755
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: yo mama's house
Default

crap...ugh

so is it true that a stock boost solenoid goes bad if left unhooked for a while?

thanks
whiterabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 12:43 AM   #5
dj_noose
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17302
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Camp Hill, PA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
you know... the blue one

Default

i wouldn't think so
dj_noose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 01:33 PM   #6
RiftsWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6124
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Glendale Hts, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2000 NFR AP1 S2000
'07 Honda FIT sport (5MT)

Default

Aye, I had mine unhooked for almost 9 months while I used an AVC-R... then got my production beta of the UTEC, and hooked it all back up, and VIOLA! Works like a charm to this day.

Just to clarify, the ABC doesn't necessarily set the max.. it "shifts" or "skews" the entire "curve" of that's programmed into the UTEC up or down accordingly.

Hope that helps,

Jorge (RiftsWRX)
www.ProjectWRX.com
RiftsWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 03:31 PM   #7
WRXzard
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 14855
Join Date: Jan 2002
Default

Possibility 1. Check the little restricter connector. I heard that the little restricter coupler causes an issue with the stock boost solenoid. You will get the .8 limit. Put it back or try to replace it. I got this from England.

Rifts, did you disconnect everything or just the hose. I wonder if people are leaving the power connection on causing the FBS to run constantly and the hose flapping in the wind. I saw this on one car and wonder the effects.

WRXzard
WRXzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2003, 04:49 PM   #8
whiterabbit
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16755
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: yo mama's house
Default

I dont remember if I left my FSB connected electrically.

I am getting a UTEC soon so I' will give it a try. and I'm going to try out my friends FSB on my car to see if that is the culprit. I am using the stock hoses on the wastegate and turbo nipple so it should still have that brass restricter inside. And I replaced teh 3/16th mod with the factory piece too and reset the ecu. Went for a run and still only hit peak of .8 in 3rd and 4th.

Which little restrciter connecter are you referring to WRXZard?
whiterabbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2003, 06:32 PM   #9
BMRKLR
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27429
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: LI, NY
Vehicle:
2005 STI
silver

Angry

Somebody please respond to this. I'm having the same damm problem, I can't seem to figure this one out. Is it possible that the factory solenoid is screwed up, or can It be something with the actuator? The only time I get more then 6psi is if I floor it, and even then it spikes like hell. Everything worked fine with my greddy profec B? This is really starting to bother me!!
BMRKLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 08:47 AM   #10
dwx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8343
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2005 2012 Jeep
2013 DGM BRZ

Default

Make sure you have the stock restrictor piece in place in the line that runs from the turbo to the T in the wastegate/solenoid/turbo vacuum arrangement. It's a tiny brass fitting that restricts air coming through that line, you should be able to feel it in there with your fingers.
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 04:27 PM   #11
John Sever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22866
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2007 Victory
Vegas 8 Ball Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BMRKLR
Somebody please respond to this. I'm having the same damm problem, I can't seem to figure this one out. Is it possible that the factory solenoid is screwed up, or can It be something with the actuator? The only time I get more then 6psi is if I floor it, and even then it spikes like hell. Everything worked fine with my greddy profec B? This is really starting to bother me!!
Yeah, make sure the restrictor is in place like the las person said. That was my problem when I installed my UTEC after I had a MBC on the car.

As far as only getting more than 6 lbs if you floor it. It's supp;posed to be like like that. It has that feature(like the stock ECU) so that you aren't sacrificing reliability by being at full boost all the time. You're supposed to floor it too get lots of boost
John Sever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2003, 06:51 PM   #12
BMRKLR
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27429
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: LI, NY
Vehicle:
2005 STI
silver

Default

No #$#% smart ass!! But what about the spikeing problem?
BMRKLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 02:37 PM   #13
John Sever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22866
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2007 Victory
Vegas 8 Ball Black

Default

I have a stinky ass...nuthin smart about it.

Are you in closed or open loop boost control? With the closed loop on most of the spiking I had went away, still does it ocassionally but no more than a # or so. With the open loop(standard mode) I was getting some nice 2-3 lb spikes in 4th gear especially. Switch to closed loop and try that.
John Sever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 07:55 PM   #14
Schleppy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15858
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
SPB

Default

Here's a quick and easy question:

With the latest version of the UTEC and using closed loop boost control, do you have to use a manual boost controller, or can the UTEC control the boost and allow the car to run 15.5lbs (or whatever the STG1 UTEC package is set to that gets you the extra 35hp)

Thanks!

-Sean
Schleppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 08:20 PM   #15
gpatmac
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 18446
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Alexandria, VA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon
psm

Default

The UTEC, utilizing the factory boost controller, can control boost so that 15.5lbs, or whatever boost you set, is not a problem.

You can use an MBC, but then 1/3 of the UTEC's capabilities are not utilized.
gpatmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 08:49 PM   #16
Schleppy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15858
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
SPB

Default

Ok cool. I was kind of dissapointed when I read that you had to install an ABC with the UTEC, but that must have been for an older version that didn't have the closed loop boost control...

Thanks!
Schleppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2003, 09:03 PM   #17
gpatmac
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 18446
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Alexandria, VA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon
psm

Default

No,

The ABC is recommended by TurboXS. Not to sound patronizing, but the 'A' stands for auxilliary. It is not so much a boost controller as it is a 'fine-tuner'. In their earlier software, where open-loop boost control was all that was available, the ABC assisted those who were driving in higher elevation.

I believe I've got my facts straight.
gpatmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2003, 06:40 PM   #18
John Sever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22866
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: NOVA
Vehicle:
2007 Victory
Vegas 8 Ball Black

Default

I think the factory solenoid only has the capability to go to 15.5 psi..after that you must have the ABC installed...
John Sever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Improve factory boost solenoid for $2.88 SnortWagon Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 717 01-11-2014 11:58 PM
How do you test the Factory Boost Solenoid? stealthECC Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 02-13-2008 11:24 AM
Utec+MBC+factory boost solenoid? CMJ Engine Management & Tuning 7 09-04-2004 11:27 PM
Removing the factory boost solenoid silvercharged Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 11 08-14-2002 12:28 PM
Improving the factory boost solenoid - part 2 SnortWagon Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 07-16-2002 12:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.