Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday October 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2003, 11:50 PM   #1
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default Stumbling with ECUtek

Hey people, I just got a ecutek from a friend of mine with basically the same mods. Car runs great though around 4500 rpm she stumbles as if I hit the boost cut. Though I look at my gauges and IM only at 10lbs of boost. its not always at 4500 rpm but when I mash the throttle it is. Though if I rev up the rpms slowly she doesn't stumble and runs sweeeet. my question is. why is it doing this? my friend thinks its the downpipe difference. I have a turboxs and he has a godspeed, though i was told from Ken @ Vishnu its not the problem. i didn't have the restricter that Shiv gave him to put in his T hose and ken said that's the reason why its running that way. i would love to see if its fine but its poring over here and doing 80mhp is isn't the best thing to do. any advice to what's the problem would be nice.

Here the Basic mods my friend has and I have.

Friend
vf34
sti injectors
walbro fuel pump
greddy intake
greddy fmic
samco inlet hose
god speed downpip
perrin uppipe
subby sport pulleys

Me
vf30
stiinjectors
walbro fuel pump
greddy intake
greddy fmic
turboxs turboback catless
Vishnu uppipe (stage Zero kit)
Vishnu crank pulley



p.s if you ever ran to much boost and the cel poped up and the car shook badly thats what it feels like...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by wRxbeater11; 03-20-2003 at 11:57 PM.
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2003, 11:57 PM   #2
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

I would think it is the restrictor that you don't have from Vishnu. The restrictor allows the FBC duty cycle to be reduced. Otherwise, the FBC can run close to 100% duty cycle. It sounds like that's what is happening, which is why you get stumbling.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2003, 11:59 PM   #3
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

but you think it would make the car do that though? the lil restrictor is soo darn small!
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 12:07 AM   #4
supermarkus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6971
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STi
SSM

Default

In a stock WRX, misplacing the restrictor will do all sorts of weird things to your boost. Your problem being caused by restrictor certainly isn't outside the realm of possiblity, why wouldn't you believe it could happen. If that's the only difference between your car and your friend's car, where is the mystery?
supermarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 12:10 AM   #5
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

I figured this map from the ecutek would work b.c it is a basic map of both our car though slightly different.


-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 12:13 AM   #6
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

The Ecutek is programmed to expect the restrictor to be there. It's not just a regular restrictor. It's in essence a bleed valve. Your friend doesn't need it on his car anymore since he gave his Ecutek ECU to you. Just swap restrictors with him.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 12:14 AM   #7
supermarkus
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6971
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STi
SSM

Default

Yeah, but if you haven't got your vac lines right for your boost controller, you're gonna have funky boost problems. I literally just got back home from helping a friend out with his restrictor hose. The correct setup can make all the difference. Especially if that's the way Vishnu intended the boost controller to work. They massage the boost curves to make good power in lower rpms, if you aren't allowing the boost to fit their profile, you are defeating the ECU's tuning.
supermarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 12:17 AM   #8
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

Thanks for the fast replys guys. Hopefully this is the issue and everything turns out ok. I will find out tomarrow if its ok and i will post if anything comes up.

-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 03:48 PM   #9
dandbest
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1885
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Bayside, NY
Vehicle:
2014 WRX
Wicked White

Default Re: Stumbling with ECUtek

Quote:
Originally posted by wRxbeater11
Hey people, I just got a ecutek from a friend of mine with basically the same mods. Car runs great though around 4500 rpm she stumbles as if I hit the boost cut. Though I look at my gauges and IM only at 10lbs of boost. its not always at 4500 rpm but when I mash the throttle it is. Though if I rev up the rpms slowly she doesn't stumble and runs sweeeet. my question is. why is it doing this? my friend thinks its the downpipe difference. I have a turboxs and he has a godspeed, though i was told from Ken @ Vishnu its not the problem. i didn't have the restricter that Shiv gave him to put in his T hose and ken said that's the reason why its running that way. i would love to see if its fine but its poring over here and doing 80mhp is isn't the best thing to do. any advice to what's the problem would be nice.

Here the Basic mods my friend has and I have.

Friend
vf34
sti injectors
walbro fuel pump
greddy intake
greddy fmic
samco inlet hose
god speed downpip
perrin uppipe
subby sport pulleys

Me
vf30
stiinjectors
walbro fuel pump
greddy intake
greddy fmic
turboxs turboback catless
Vishnu uppipe (stage Zero kit)
Vishnu crank pulley



p.s if you ever ran to much boost and the cel poped up and the car shook badly thats what it feels like...
,

Melo

Here is the deal. When shiv was mapping Alex's car he could not get the boost to hold steady because of Alex's down pipe. So for this mapping to work on your car you would have to use a after market EBC or MBC. I would set the MBC to 16.5 and get to a dyno for A/Fs. And then add boost if you are really rich. Your stumbling because your only run 10psi in open loop with sti's.

Danny
dandbest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2003, 05:41 PM   #10
zacek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19467
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chatsworth, CA.
Vehicle:
02 WRX
WR Blue

Default

otherwise get it re-tuned!
zacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 12:39 AM   #11
Big Joe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3722
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: So. Cali.
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

I experienced the same thing you described, stumbling and hesitation when getting on it in the upper rpm range when going to Vishnu stage 2. After a couple of tanks of gas, the problems are all gone. I figured it was the ECU adjusting/learning.

joe
Big Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 01:21 AM   #12
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default Re: Re: Stumbling with ECUtek

Quote:
Originally posted by dandbest
,

Melo

Here is the deal. When shiv was mapping Alex's car he could not get the boost to hold steady because of Alex's down pipe. So for this mapping to work on your car you would have to use a after market EBC or MBC. I would set the MBC to 16.5 and get to a dyno for A/Fs. And then add boost if you are really rich. Your stumbling because your only run 10psi in open loop with sti's.

Danny
i was running my greddy profec b ebc and it did hit high boost though the problem happened more when i had that hooked up. after adding the lil white restrictor in the hose that connects the solenoid its almost gone. now only sometimes it stumbles once IM letting off the gas. though tomorrow morning IM changing the other restrictor that's in the tube on the turbo side. i have to of them and maybe i put the wrong one in.
other then that the car is amazing! Feels so strong and smooth(whens she's not stumbling) and another thing, dandbest?? are you gt??

-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 01:22 AM   #13
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by zacek
otherwise get it re-tuned!

no other place around here tunes ecuteks other then ralispec and they want $850 even though its already been tuned!


-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 01:23 AM   #14
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Big Joe
I experienced the same thing you described, stumbling and hesitation when getting on it in the upper rpm range when going to Vishnu stage 2. After a couple of tanks of gas, the problems are all gone. I figured it was the ECU adjusting/learning.

joe

hmm...hopefully mine will get use to everything and run 100% very soon.. did a cel pop up when it stumbled? i cant tell if i did b.c my cel has been on since im catless hehe


-melo
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 01:40 AM   #15
Big Joe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3722
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: So. Cali.
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
Silver

Default

Quote:
did a cel pop up when it stumbled? i cant tell if i did b.c my cel has been on since im catless hehe
I didn't get any CEL's went it coughed and stumbled. I'd pull the code and double check it's not only the 0420 code.

joe
Big Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2003, 07:35 PM   #16
Vishnu Performance
Vendor
 
Member#: 14494
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Vehicle:
WRX Porsche 996
blue & black

Default

Hi guys,

It's going to be tough to get a custom-mapped ECU to behave properly on any car besides the one it was mapped on. This is the difference between baseline remaps (which leave a sufficient margin for adaptation/auto-learning) and custom remaps (which are fine tuned for one car in particular and leave no such margin for maximum performance). For set-ups which use unusual combinations of non-stock intakes, FMIC, etc,. nothing short of a custom remap is going to cut it I'm afraid. We simply don't have a big enough sample pool to create basline maps for such a set up. And that's really the key to getting off-the-shelf remaps to work properly.

Wish I could be more helpfull...

Shiv
Vishnu Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2003, 03:17 AM   #17
wRxbeater11
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12682
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middle East, Asia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Vishnu Performance
Hi guys,

It's going to be tough to get a custom-mapped ECU to behave properly on any car besides the one it was mapped on. This is the difference between baseline remaps (which leave a sufficient margin for adaptation/auto-learning) and custom remaps (which are fine tuned for one car in particular and leave no such margin for maximum performance). For set-ups which use unusual combinations of non-stock intakes, FMIC, etc,. nothing short of a custom remap is going to cut it I'm afraid. We simply don't have a big enough sample pool to create basline maps for such a set up. And that's really the key to getting off-the-shelf remaps to work properly.

Wish I could be more helpfull...

Shiv

So Shiv say someone wants an ECU reflash and that person lives on the east coast.. would you do it? if so then the reflash that you do to that someone's ECU will be a "basic" map of the mods. which is why i was wondering why is my car stumbling when my friend and i had identical mods. though IM glad to say the stumbling is almost gone. does not stumble while in boost only sometimes when letting off the gas. i adjusted my hks bov to let it vent more air and still did it a bit. maybe it has to get driven so it can learn things. i don't no other wise IM in love with it.


-melo

p.s shiv i tryed calling you about, 128,384,504 billion times last week but Ken and Bret said you were out or not in =[ you need a vacation =]

Last edited by wRxbeater11; 03-24-2003 at 02:34 AM.
wRxbeater11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
JDM pink injectors, vf30 with ewg flange welded, 02 03 ecu with ecutek BIGDADDYG Engine/Power/Exhaust 15 10-15-2009 09:44 AM
Random stumbling with Hydra while approaching 0psi... ideas? jigga Other Engine Management 6 06-01-2007 07:20 PM
IDC with Ecutek or Cobb reflash? WRXTomatwork Engine Management & Tuning 4 03-29-2003 12:05 PM
Stumbling with ECUtek Part 2 wRxbeater11 Engine Management & Tuning 1 03-27-2003 05:25 PM
Att Vishnu stage II owners with ecutek!!! WRBLUEWAGON Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 03-18-2003 12:29 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.