Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday May 31, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-25-2003, 01:49 PM   #1
Jduke
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29699
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northern, VT
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
Red

Default UTEC compatible with Macintosh?

Hey all, I was wondering if the UTEC software is compatible with the Macintosh computers. Any info would be great!

Thanks,

John D.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Jduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-25-2003, 05:50 PM   #2
zaxrex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9898
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: VA near MD
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Water Injected Blue

Default

This might not be correct, but if the Mac has a HyperTerm emulator, it should work fine. But I have neither, so what do I know.
zaxrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 05:55 PM   #3
motoxphil
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5094
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Gaithersburg, MD, usa
Vehicle:
2002
11.96, 1.64, 115mph!

Default

Yes, you can use it with a Mac but you need a VT100 emulator (terminal software).

I don't have any specific recommendations but try a search.

Thanks,
Phil
TurboXS
motoxphil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 06:00 PM   #4
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Have a look at this thread.

http://www.wrxhackers.com/modules.ph...er=asc&start=0

regards
Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 06:06 PM   #5
BOFslime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23845
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando, FL
Vehicle:
2015 FLAT SIX
White

Default

I assumed connections to the UTEC were using the serial port (RS232 or db9) connector.

mac is legacy free and thus doesn't have this port

vt100 is just a 'type' of terminal session, and telnet is defaulted to this, OS X is for the most part BSD, so i do not belive this is an os limitation but a hardware limitation. on os9 your out of luck compleatly. buy a cheap pc laptop and be done with it.
BOFslime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 06:23 PM   #6
Fat Tits
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27046
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Default

Good Question!


_b
Fat Tits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 07:01 PM   #7
Jduke
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29699
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northern, VT
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BOFslime
I assumed connections to the UTEC were using the serial port (RS232 or db9) connector.

mac is legacy free and thus doesn't have this port

vt100 is just a 'type' of terminal session, and telnet is defaulted to this, OS X is for the most part BSD, so i do not belive this is an os limitation but a hardware limitation. on os9 your out of luck compleatly. buy a cheap pc laptop and be done with it.

Right on, yea thats what the unit uses. I have actually been looking at the cheap PC laptop direction. I looked around and basically what I found was what your saying. I am running OS 9 at home an OS X a work, but seems silly to switch, so I will be looking around (...ebay) for a used cheap PC.

Thanks,

john D.
Jduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 07:02 PM   #8
Jduke
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29699
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northern, VT
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
Red

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BOFslime
I assumed connections to the UTEC were using the serial port (RS232 or db9) connector.

mac is legacy free and thus doesn't have this port

vt100 is just a 'type' of terminal session, and telnet is defaulted to this, OS X is for the most part BSD, so i do not belive this is an os limitation but a hardware limitation. on os9 your out of luck compleatly. buy a cheap pc laptop and be done with it.

Right on, yea thats what the unit uses. I have actually been looking at the cheap ps laptop direction. I looked around and basically what I found was what your saying. I am running OS 9 at home an OS X a work, but seems silly to switch, so I will be looking around (...ebay) for a used cheap PC.

Thanks,

john D.
Jduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 07:21 PM   #9
driggity
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7453
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, CA
Vehicle:
2014 Scion FR-S
Hot Lava

Default

Here's a thread that talks about USB to serial connectors. I'd think that they'd work on a Mac.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...&highlight=usb
driggity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2003, 07:35 PM   #10
Jduke
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29699
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Northern, VT
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT Wagon
Red

Default

MacWise. thanks TurboXS (Pete).
Jduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WB compatibility with UTEC xcntrk75 Engine Management & Tuning 2 06-16-2005 07:57 AM
UTEC version 4 with 4.2 software compatable with 02 wrx? kx02wr Engine Management & Tuning 4 06-05-2005 10:31 PM
UTEC version 4 with 4.2 software compatible with 02 wrx? kx02wr Tri-State Area Forum 3 06-05-2005 12:06 AM
Newest Utec compatable with jdm ver.8 eng? serious Engine Management & Tuning 18 08-27-2004 12:25 PM
UTEC compatability Maulzar Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 3 03-01-2004 05:02 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.