Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday June 2, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2003, 12:39 AM   #1
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default GD gauge cluster in GC

How much modification, if any is needed to get a stock 2002 wrx gauge cluster into an RS. Also, how much is a used wrx gauge cluster anyway. Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 04-22-2003, 08:09 PM   #2
Hyper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15822
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MOCKBA
Vehicle:
1999 WRB GM6
2.12cc V9 Type RA

Default

PITA

lot of cutting, trimming

it had to be done in this car, because the owner got V7 drivetrain and so wiring would be a bi0tch with RS cluster
Hyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 08:13 PM   #3
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

so all it is, is some cutting and trimming of the dash. How well does it fit now, pretty snug.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 08:32 PM   #4
Hyper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15822
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MOCKBA
Vehicle:
1999 WRB GM6
2.12cc V9 Type RA

Default

"some"? oh no

the cluster itself has different shape and points for screws, so the top part had to be custom made
Hyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 08:57 PM   #5
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

oh, well then, it is now officially out of the question. Looks good though.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 09:39 PM   #6
RebelINS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2953
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Rochester, MI, USA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
2005 Impreza WRX STi

Default

I can imagine the amount of work that went into making that fit, but I would agree that that looks really nice!

-Wes
RebelINS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2003, 10:28 PM   #7
Hyper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15822
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MOCKBA
Vehicle:
1999 WRB GM6
2.12cc V9 Type RA

Default

yeah, from fall to winter
little OT, but quite interesting
this is the only GC8 with STI 7 drivetrain in Russia, with all mods it's kicking ~320hp and acceleration is 4.8 secs to 100kms/h
soon to be done FMIC and fuel management
Hyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 03:47 PM   #8
rocketman1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12813
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Cocoa, FL
Vehicle:
SUBE 00WRS,02WRX
.......STM...........Blue

Default pics

did you ever get any other pics of dash...?
rocketman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2003, 06:00 PM   #9
Hyper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15822
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MOCKBA
Vehicle:
1999 WRB GM6
2.12cc V9 Type RA

Default

nope
Hyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 07:08 PM   #10
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

man how much does it cost to have the dash covered in that suede material?
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2003, 11:12 AM   #11
Boxologist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21118
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LI, NY
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spiralsmurf
man how much does it cost to have the dash covered in that suede material?
talk to cindergarden.
Boxologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2003, 05:01 PM   #12
RUBEN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 31170
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Global
Default gd cluster in a gc

did the cluster plug in or did you have to modify the harness
RUBEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2003, 12:34 PM   #13
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

The instrument panel harness will have to be deciphered then changed to use your existing wiring with the correct plugs.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 11:00 PM   #14
PUMPKINS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 45647
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Indonesia
Vehicle:
1995 IMPREZA WRX
blue

Default

have noob question here:
so if i use GD drivetrain.. i have 2 use GD cluster and vice versa??
can i fit all GD dash to GC??
PUMPKINS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2003, 12:26 AM   #15
Homemade WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 33782
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing LLC
Vehicle:
96 bastard child
search FIRST, then PM!!!

Default

well no and no and yes and yes....You can use the GD chassis with a GD gauge if you choose...but no you don't have to because the speedsensor trigger is mechanical in both cases. The gauge can fit obviously as shown in the picture above but no it is not a direct fit....It requires cutting,etc.....
Take it easy, Micah
Homemade WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 01:21 PM   #16
FatCatTurbo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10467
Join Date: Sep 2001
Vehicle:
DOHC 2.0 Hybrid
JDM

Default

Micah, the speedsensor is mechanical on the GC and the GD?
FatCatTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2004, 06:12 PM   #17
Homemade WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 33782
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing LLC
Vehicle:
96 bastard child
search FIRST, then PM!!!

Default

no the speedsensor is mechanical on the 93-96 impreza's...98+ are all electrical
Homemade WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 06:04 PM   #18
PRODRIVEN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 111
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Cincinnati - San Diego
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5 RS
EJtwentyfied -> '04 STi

Default

What kind of triple gauge is that?
PRODRIVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 06:08 PM   #19
Homemade WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 33782
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing LLC
Vehicle:
96 bastard child
search FIRST, then PM!!!

Default

It's an STI gauge cluster from a GD impreza
Homemade WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 07:39 PM   #20
Hyper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15822
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: MOCKBA
Vehicle:
1999 WRB GM6
2.12cc V9 Type RA

Default

Is it?
I recall they were saying Defi
Hyper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 09:12 PM   #21
Homemade WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 33782
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing LLC
Vehicle:
96 bastard child
search FIRST, then PM!!!

Default

oh my stupid....looks like the ones they make for the WRX....Ocori I think...but for the GC chassis I'm not sure?
Homemade WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 11:10 PM   #22
moss
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10197
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gtown, MD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soon2Bgreat
oh, well then, it is now officially out of the question. Looks good though.
What do you need that cluster for? If you want one, buy a V5 or 6

keith
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
02-04 gauge cluster in GC ? dcgear Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 13 11-02-2007 07:24 PM
STI gauge cluster in GC blueribbon Interior & Exterior Modification 3 07-23-2006 01:32 PM
WRX gauge cluster in a GC... can it be done? stilyn_scooby Subaru Conversions 3 08-19-2005 04:04 PM
GD cluster in GC Lachlan Interior & Exterior Modification 1 08-07-2005 10:51 PM
gd wrx gauge cluster in a gc? suby ej25 Subaru Conversions 7 12-18-2004 02:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.