Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2002, 02:11 PM   #1
Sirkbac
Rest in Peace
We love you.
 
Member#: 11971
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
02 Mazda Protege5
05 Honda CBR1000rr Repsol

Default 3dmark 2001 SE scores (3d benchmarking)

I was curious if any of you out there are as crazy about tweaking computer 3d Preformance as I am. I'm still getting this system settled in. My top score so far is 9199 using the default benchmark. www.madonion.com is where you can get the program (40mb....sorry dial up users). My system isn't overclocked any, the card on the other hand is. Basic system info:

Dual P4 Xeon 2.0ghz
512mb ECC PC800 RDRAM
Leadtek Winfast Geforce 4 Ti4600 ultra 128mb
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Sirkbac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:12 PM   #2
JGard
pooptastic
 
Member#: 1904
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2014 Lexus IS 350
'02 BMW R1100S

Default

Athlon XP 1700+
512MB PC2100 DDR
GeForce3 Ti200 64MB

score: 5091


Note: Card is overclocked 5MHz chip, and 10MHz memory.
JGard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:34 PM   #3
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

JGard, that score seems low considering your system specs. Are you running the default test? I think it should be more around 8000.

(I'm running a 1.3GHz Celeron (Tulatin) bottlenecked by old memory and a GeForce2 Ti. Even though the vid card is heavily overclocked, best I can do is 3655. You should be more than 1500 points better...)

- Kai
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:39 PM   #4
TimStevens
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4817
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Albanyish, NY
Vehicle:
2012 STI, '02 WRX
'91 MR2, '05 Speed Triple

Default

No... that sounds about right. It's almost totally dependant on your video card. I've got a 1.8+ AMD XP with 512 megs of DDR Ram and a 64 meg Asus GeForce2 and I scored low 4000's.

-tim
TimStevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:42 PM   #5
JGard
pooptastic
 
Member#: 1904
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2014 Lexus IS 350
'02 BMW R1100S

Default

Fishy has about the same specs as I do, and I believe he scored about the same. Oh, and I was running the tests at 1024*768*32-bits.

man, it was just fun to watch those tests, though! Some of those 3D graphics were UNREAL!
JGard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:45 PM   #6
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TimStevens
No... that sounds about right. It's almost totally dependant on your video card. I've got a 1.8+ AMD XP with 512 megs of DDR Ram and a 64 meg Asus GeForce2 and I scored low 4000's.

-tim
I know. I actually punched his system specs into madonion's online results browser, though, and the scores averaged around 8000 (with great variance, I'll admit, but none as low as 5000). Hence my confusion.

EDIT: I guess my point is he may not have the fastest geforce3 around, but ANY of those cards are significantly faster on 3D Mark than even the fastest geforce2's (like mine ).

Last edited by Kaiser; 08-22-2002 at 02:55 PM.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:52 PM   #7
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JGard18
man, it was just fun to watch those tests, though! Some of those 3D graphics were UNREAL!
Yeah, they *are* incredible. I remember when 3DMark2001 came out (a year, year and a half ago?), and guys with kickass geforce2's and the few lucky ones with early geforce3's were griping about how miserable their machines did. There were comments like "it's ridiculous how they made a benchmark that'll need a geforce6 or geforce7 to run well."

Meanwhile, there are people already getting 50+fps on the 'Nature' benchmark. Nvidia's amazing.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:55 PM   #8
TimStevens
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4817
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Albanyish, NY
Vehicle:
2012 STI, '02 WRX
'91 MR2, '05 Speed Triple

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser


I know. I actually punched his system specs into madonion's online results browser, though, and the scores averaged around 8000 (with great variance, I'll admit, but none as low as 5000). Hence my confusion.
Really? Hmm... I thought I was about average, if a bit below. I guess we'll have to wait and see if more folks post realistic scores on here...
TimStevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 02:58 PM   #9
Sirkbac
Rest in Peace
We love you.
 
Member#: 11971
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
02 Mazda Protege5
05 Honda CBR1000rr Repsol

Default

Yeah, the result browser is kinda useless for finding what a normal system will run. I've done alot of research in there. The top ones on various cards and systems are not realistic. for my system specs they are running up around 16000 for the top. But I've read the forum and about the systems that did those. The system has nothing but an OS, 3d drivers, a 3d card. Nothing else that isn't needed. some guys are keeping their computer in the freezer before benchmarking. The leinght some of the guys go to for a better score is unrealistic. I'm more looking for what a real world computer gets. The one's that do the 8000 for your specs, and 16000 for mine are solely for making a 3dmark score. If you look at the names, most of them work for 3dmark. 5k is about right for a real computer with Jgard's specs.
Sirkbac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:03 PM   #10
Marquis
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Lansing, MI
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5RS
Rally Blue Pearl

Default

Wow, I feel good now. With the defaults, my 2.72Ghz P4 (151FSBx18) with a Ti4200 (running at 320Mhz core/640Mhz memory) pushes 12083. And the box is DEAD stable. Prime95 and loops of 3dMark will run for days without so much as a polygon tear. Of course, it is watercooled (the video card too). But it's a portable box with no external widgets to help cool it. Plus it's hella quiet with only two fans running at 7v.
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:06 PM   #11
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

I know what you mean, Sirkbac, and I paged down a lot to get to the more realistic scores. The very lowest I could find, though, were in the 5600 range, so I still say JGard is missing some points somewhere.

Maybe switch to the latest reference drivers would help. I've never used any others: http://www.nvidia.com/drivers

Then again, he's still getting 1500 more than me so :monkey: him.

Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:09 PM   #12
atf78
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9017
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Sewell, NJ
Vehicle:
2011 WRX 5dr
302whp - 320wtq

Default

My system specs:
1.0 GHZ Athlon Thunderbird
512MB PC133 RAM
Gainward GeForce3 Ti200 128MB DDR

Score = 5153

With no overclocking whatsoever, I think that's pretty decent for my 2 year old box.

-Anthony
atf78 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:09 PM   #13
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Marquis
With the defaults, my 2.72Ghz P4 (151FSBx18) with a Ti4200 (running at 320Mhz core/640Mhz memory) pushes 12083.
I hate you.

Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:11 PM   #14
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by atf78
My system specs:
1.0 GHZ Athlon Thunderbird
512MB PC133 RAM
Gainward GeForce3 Ti200 128MB DDR

Score = 5153

-Anthony
See what I mean? A 400MHz slower processor and much slower RAM and bus (also important to 3DMark scores, btw), but higher points. Yet the same video card.

Sompin ain't right, JGard.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:15 PM   #15
Sirkbac
Rest in Peace
We love you.
 
Member#: 11971
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: MA
Vehicle:
02 Mazda Protege5
05 Honda CBR1000rr Repsol

Default

Watercooling has always had my attention. Many times have I priced out a setup only to not submit the order. My current bios doesn't really allow for overclocking so no real need for more cooling on the CPU side of things. I am upgrading the heatsinks on the vid card though and may in the end get a water cooling system for that and expand to the rest of the CPU later on. So any suggestions on getting score up? Using no real extra cooling right now I'm at 9200. I'm thinking I can go higher on the memroy clocking though.
Sirkbac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:15 PM   #16
JGard
pooptastic
 
Member#: 1904
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2014 Lexus IS 350
'02 BMW R1100S

Default

well, my computer has been running like crap lately.

I don't know why, either, I even reformatted and it still ran kinda slower than I was used to.

The only thing I can think of, is that my power supply is too weak. I had a 400W in there, which died, and sent me back to a 300W temporarily (also meaning I couldn't hook up my DVD drive).

So I bought a 450W last night online, we'll see what happens once I get that in.

I kinda don't think that's the problem, but it's really the only thing I could actually pinpoint as being a change... (aside from only one case fan, and an assload of dust)
JGard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:19 PM   #17
Thead
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16412
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
99 2.5RS
Slllooww Silver

Default

Athlon XP 1900+
512 MB PC266
Radeon 8500

score right about 8500. Was good back when I built it about 8 months ago. Not so good anymore..
Thead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:26 PM   #18
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JGard18
well, my computer has been running like crap lately.
I think you posted about this before, but what's going on with it exactly? Not enough power in the PS would cause all kinds of errors and other problems (not perf problems per se), so yeah, I doubt that's it.
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:28 PM   #19
eclipsefire
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5203
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Radio Prom Man
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

Well here are my specs:

AMD Athalon XP 1800+
768MB PC2700 DDR
nVidia GeForce 4 Ti4400

I scored a 7846.

I'm not sure if that's accurate or not, but
that's what I got.

- RPM
eclipsefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 03:37 PM   #20
JGard
pooptastic
 
Member#: 1904
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2014 Lexus IS 350
'02 BMW R1100S

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser


I think you posted about this before, but what's going on with it exactly? Not enough power in the PS would cause all kinds of errors and other problems (not perf problems per se), so yeah, I doubt that's it.
It's just been slower than normal (as an IT person, I hate hearing that phrase, but there's no other way to define it).

I'm running WinXP. The boot process (when it's on the black boot screen with the Windows logo in the middle), that stays on for WAY longer than it used to. When I first built this machine and installed XP, that screen would be up for 10 seconds, tops. Now, it sits there for almost 60 seconds. I reformatted, reinstalled, still takes forever. Ugh...
JGard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 04:17 PM   #21
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Have you tried swapping out the major components to narrow down which one is causing the problems? (The HD, RAM, etc. to make sure something isn't faulty?) Might also be good to run a thorough system check on it (Norton Utilities WinDoctor or the like).
- Kai
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 04:20 PM   #22
JGard
pooptastic
 
Member#: 1904
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2014 Lexus IS 350
'02 BMW R1100S

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kaiser
Have you tried swapping out the major components to narrow down which one is causing the problems? (The HD, RAM, etc. to make sure something isn't faulty?) Might also be good to run a thorough system check on it (Norton Utilities WinDoctor or the like).
- Kai
haven't really tried swapping, mainly because I don't really have many spare parts laying around.

I mean, the HD is new, the Video and sound are new. I guess the only thing it could be is either the processor or RAM.

When I first built the computer, it wouldn't turn on at all, so I reseeded the RAM, and then it did. So maybe one of the chips isn't in there too well? *shrug*, I dunno...just a little upsetting, ya know?
JGard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 05:26 PM   #23
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

My laptop ownz joo all.

Yeah, that's right biznitches. My PIII 700MHz got it goin' on wit a fly dope S3 Savage integrated graphics chip. Uh huh. It be kickin out 354 3D marks of software T&L mintyness.

(watching it struggle through the tests was hilarious, btw; i could count the frames per second )
Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 05:54 PM   #24
Corn-Picker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8679
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Morgantown, WV
Vehicle:
2010 The most hated
vehicle on the internets

Default Re: 3dmark 2001 SE scores (3d benchmarking)

Quote:
Originally posted by Sirkbac
I was curious if any of you out there are as crazy about tweaking computer 3d Preformance as I am. I'm still getting this system settled in. My top score so far is 9199 using the default benchmark. www.madonion.com is where you can get the program (40mb....sorry dial up users). My system isn't overclocked any, the card on the other hand is. Basic system info:

Dual P4 Xeon 2.0ghz
512mb ECC PC800 RDRAM
Leadtek Winfast Geforce 4 Ti4600 ultra 128mb
I got a 9276 with my firewall running and a few internet explorer windows open I'm quite suprised my computer scored higher than yours quite honestly. I'm running an AMD 1800+ with 512 megs of DDR RAM and a PNY GeForce 4 Ti 4600. Also, I have not done any tweaking? What kind of tweaking is possible? I need Morrowind to run faster...

Last edited by Corn-Picker; 08-22-2002 at 06:03 PM.
Corn-Picker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2002, 05:57 PM   #25
eclipsefire
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5203
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Radio Prom Man
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default Re: Re: 3dmark 2001 SE scores (3d benchmarking)

Quote:
Originally posted by Corn-Picker


I got a 9276 with my firewall running and a few internet explorer windows open I'm quite suprised my computer scored higher than your quite honestly. I'm running a AMD 1800+ with 512 megs of DDR RAM and a PNY GeForce 4 Ti 4600. Also, I have not done any tweaking? What kind of tweaking is possible? I need Morrowind to run faster...
How did you run that? I have almost the exact same setup a AMD 1800+ 768mb pc 2700 ddr ram and the PNY GeForce4 Ti4400 and I ran only a 7846. How did you do this?

Is it possible for the heat to ruin the memory on my card?

- RPM
eclipsefire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
video card problems, low 3dmark scores... Random Off-Topic 3 12-13-2005 03:18 AM
your highest score in 3D-pong rickeyj23 Off-Topic 3 01-15-2004 09:10 PM
Latest Nvidia drivers (40.72) 3dmark score Sirkbac Off-Topic 16 09-30-2002 05:28 PM
('93-'01) 2000/2001 RS or 2001 sentra SE alkemyst Impreza Forum 26 06-22-2001 02:16 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.