Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-25-2003, 09:38 AM   #1
Romuir
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23994
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: VA
Vehicle:
2008 LegAcy Spec. B
Something Grey

Default Wiring Request: How do you wire up the Prodrive/ Hella FF1000?

Replaced the fogs with Driving lamps. I would like to have the new lamps come on with High Beam only using the High Beam stalk on the steering column.
Can't make heads or tails on their suggested rewire for this setup. The instructions talk about "35 wire connector" which for the life of me I can't find. Currently the driving lamps come on when the button is pushed and the low beams are on.
Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Romuir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2003, 12:38 PM   #2
Subie2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14750
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Anywhere but here.
Vehicle:
2007 Element SC
Root Beer Metallic

Default

Did you use the stock relay and wiring?

Chris
Subie2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2003, 12:56 PM   #3
wrxinfx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10515
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

check the www.rallylights.com - he's got some simple schematics. Scoobymods.com will have info as well.

I believe the FF1000's are 55w? If they are, you can use the stock wiring. To have them come on with the brights - there are some mods listed on scoobymods that can help ya there.

Casey
wrxinfx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2003, 02:08 AM   #4
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

i have my hella 500s wired the way you describe, but i'm using the relay that hella provided. all of the wiring is right at the battery because the drivers side headlight is where all the wires are being tapped and the battery + and ground. literally the wiring for the relay was under 10" long (except for the wire going to the pass light location). to me it was simpler to just do new wiring than to go under the dash and reroute wires there.

85- blue wire from headlight harness (common power)
86- red wire from headlight harness (switched ground for high beam)
diode across the 85 and 86 coil

30- battery and fuse
87- driving lamp

the only time there will be current flow from the 85 to 86 terminals is when the high beams are on. if you want me to break down all of the conditions let me know and i'll draw up a chart. the diode is there to supress current when the coil is energized/de-energized.


if you want to use the stock wiring, i think the relay is controlled by the high beam wire's ground. when that wire goes ground, then the lights turn off. so if you switch it with the low beam wire for control it should work but i really haven't put much thought into it.

Last edited by tdxflex; 04-27-2003 at 02:14 AM.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2003, 12:06 AM   #5
fragment
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8050
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Bugeye EJ207 - T3T04S
Vehicle:
2007 Wagon VF36

Default

I just got new 500's for my WRX 'cause I had to replace the front bumper after an accident. Can you tell me how you mounted them in the bumper? Also, I want to have my 500's come on with the high beams, but be able to defeat them using a switch. Would that modify your wiring much?

TIA

Steve

Quote:
Originally posted by tdxflex
i have my hella 500s wired the way you describe, but i'm using the relay that hella provided. all of the wiring is right at the battery because the drivers side headlight is where all the wires are being tapped and the battery + and ground. literally the wiring for the relay was under 10" long (except for the wire going to the pass light location). to me it was simpler to just do new wiring than to go under the dash and reroute wires there.

85- blue wire from headlight harness (common power)
86- red wire from headlight harness (switched ground for high beam)
diode across the 85 and 86 coil

30- battery and fuse
87- driving lamp

the only time there will be current flow from the 85 to 86 terminals is when the high beams are on. if you want me to break down all of the conditions let me know and i'll draw up a chart. the diode is there to supress current when the coil is energized/de-energized.


if you want to use the stock wiring, i think the relay is controlled by the high beam wire's ground. when that wire goes ground, then the lights turn off. so if you switch it with the low beam wire for control it should work but i really haven't put much thought into it.
fragment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2003, 01:46 AM   #6
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by fragment
I just got new 500's for my WRX 'cause I had to replace the front bumper after an accident. Can you tell me how you mounted them in the bumper? Also, I want to have my 500's come on with the high beams, but be able to defeat them using a switch. Would that modify your wiring much?

TIA

Steve

instructions come with the hella lights to do this, or actually i think they just have instructions on how to just use it with a switch (without the high beam control). you'll need an additional relay to control the switch, or in this case it might be worth it to do the fog light mod with the stock wiring. i don't know why you would want it controlled by a switch though.


if you want just general info of how to add aux lights, these are good links,

http://www.classictruckshop.com/club...h/foglites.htm

http://www.classictruckshop.com/club...osch/relay.htm
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2003, 10:42 AM   #7
fragment
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8050
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Bugeye EJ207 - T3T04S
Vehicle:
2007 Wagon VF36

Default

Thanks tdxflex. Actually, I was more interested in how you physically bolted the light to the bumper. Did you drill a hole through the bottom of the bumper cover and bolt it to the bumper beam? I really don't want to hack up the new bumper cover I just paid for and painted.
fragment is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2003, 11:07 AM   #8
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

i used the kartboy mounts in the stock location. i'm going to make a fiberglass light bar this week since it warmed up but not sure when that will be finished. i'm going to make it 3 parts, the two brackets to the car, and the the bar will actually be removable so i can install/remove it in a snap and i won't have to drive around during the day with all of those lights, just keep it in the trunk until i need it.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
couples; how do you split up the housework? jacobsen1 Off-Topic 152 06-08-2009 07:37 AM
newb boost question....how do you turn up the boost Meat Supply Newbies & FAQs 9 03-16-2009 07:25 PM
how do you hook up the hpbc w/a UTEC frdawg Engine Management & Tuning 1 04-17-2003 01:00 PM
AutoX - how do you heat up the brakes? bemani Motorsports 13 04-13-2003 01:31 AM
How do you take up the slack in throttle cable? 96Lconversion Normally Aspirated Powertrain 2 02-22-2001 08:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.