Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2003, 02:23 PM   #1
GooseMan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2462
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles/Montreal
Vehicle:
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2005 Triumph Sprint ST

Angry geez! how long does it take to build a computer??

I ordered a new computer last monday....nothing special really...just a P4 2.4, mobo, 512mb RAM, ATI vid card, 80 gig HD and LG CDRW...like I said..no exotic parts or anything...

the guy said it'l be ready in a week, so I e-mailed him on monday, and he told me that it was ready, but they didnt have the RAM in stock (I assume Kingston PC2100 266mhz DDR is pretty common, no?) and would be getting it tuesday. So I e-mailed them again, asking if it was ready, so I can go pick it up. But he said no.

Now, I want my damn computer already. I got nothing to do tonite, it'll be perfect to set it up tonite. They said they'd call me when it was ready but I havent heard from them yet, and I dont want to bother them yet AGAIN

Should I bother them anyway? Or just be patient......cause I cant wait!

How long does it take to slap some RAM in and set up the adm BIOS and stuff?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
GooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:25 PM   #2
de Rookie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27636
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: OT FTMFW
Vehicle:
I haz 183
IggPoints

Default

I saw a sale for some computer parts in the ad for a local electronics store. 2 hrs later I was up and running

Mike
http://kanedasrealm.net
de Rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:26 PM   #3
Fish
RIP Sirkbac
 
Member#: 869
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Nashua NH
Vehicle:
1987 GPZ-750 TURBO
90' MX-5/11' DGM STi Sdn

Default

Not too long..

I can easily build a computer from start to finish in a matter of hours and have it up and running.

he's slacking
Fish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:27 PM   #4
-=C=-
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7719
Join Date: Jun 2001
Default

-=C=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:27 PM   #5
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Assembly should take about a half hour. Half of that time is spent screwing the motherboard onto the case. Then you just need to format the hard drive and install an OS.



The whole thing shouldn't take more than 2 hours.


-Matt
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:28 PM   #6
rhdude
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6637
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Manassas
Vehicle:
2009 Acura MDX Sport

Default

I built mine in around 2hours, then installing stuff took anout 2...
rhdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:42 PM   #7
Zahnster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2918
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Simi Valley, CA, USA
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Silver Sedan

Default

It takes longer for me to get to the store, buy the parts, and get home than it does to build the system and complete basic setup.
Zahnster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:44 PM   #8
WHTWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18571
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Irvine, Ca
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Aspen White

Default

Get yourself a tootsie pop. When you get to the center, check your doorstep.
WHTWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:44 PM   #9
GooseMan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2462
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles/Montreal
Vehicle:
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2005 Triumph Sprint ST

Default

well, to give the place credit, its a store, so I'm sure its not only MY computer theyre working on...but still

I'm the one who's installing the OS ayway! Theyre just putting it together and setting up the BIOS and whatnot

I'm calling them in an hour....

GooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 02:50 PM   #10
-=C=-
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7719
Join Date: Jun 2001
Default

tell them you need the computer tonight and if they don't have the RAM just discount the price for the cost of the RAM and you'll take the rest and go find your own Memory.
-=C=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:12 PM   #11
rogue
Rub it on your flippers
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 7977
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Vehicle:
100% Abuse

Default

Jeez, how much are you paying these retards?

They're just setting up the BIOS? That practically sets itself up these days!

All they're doing is screwing the parts together for you. You couldn't do that yourself?
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:14 PM   #12
StuBeck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Honda Fit

Default

Rouge, I can understand where someone wouldn't want to do it themselves. Theres a lot of things that we find horribley easy, that others see as impossible. The guys probalby have a lot of other orders, so they gave themselves some time just in case. Now they don't have the rigth parts, and he's getting ansy. I would tell them to just give you the computer without the RAM and install it yourself. That is def the easiest thing to do in a computer.
StuBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:20 PM   #13
rogue
Rub it on your flippers
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 7977
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Vehicle:
100% Abuse

Default

Stool: yes well, Goose isn't some brain dead slacker, I'd hope he could follow simple instructions. Considering every connector in a computer only fits the right slot in the right direction, even a Canadian should be able to handle it.
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:33 PM   #14
GooseMan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2462
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles/Montreal
Vehicle:
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2005 Triumph Sprint ST

Default

hehe...well, honestly I think I can figure out how to put a comp together myself. I've installed many CD ROMS, hard drives, sound cards and other crap over the years, so I dont imagine screwing the crap together would be all that hard.

BUT, for $40 more, they put it together, test it AND offer a 3 year warranty.

I'd hate to bring the parts home, put it all together myself, and have the thing crap out on me....they'd probably say that by me building I somehow fried the mobo or something...
GooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:43 PM   #15
rogue
Rub it on your flippers
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 7977
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Vehicle:
100% Abuse

Default

Oh, sure, for a 3 year warranty that's worthwhile.

I've lost a few bits of electronics over the years. Of course, I'm sure that warranty is pretty limited, but whatever.
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 03:46 PM   #16
GooseMan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2462
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles/Montreal
Vehicle:
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2005 Triumph Sprint ST

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rogue
Oh, sure, for a 3 year warranty that's worthwhile.

was that sarcastic?
GooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:05 PM   #17
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

just to piss you off, Goosie, i'll lie and say that i coulda put that biatch together for you in 20 minutes.
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:12 PM   #18
-=C=-
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7719
Join Date: Jun 2001
Default

call them and tell them you want to cancel your order and buy a Dell...
-=C=- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:13 PM   #19
GooseMan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2462
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles/Montreal
Vehicle:
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2005 Triumph Sprint ST

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gongzero
just to piss you off, Goosie, i'll lie and say that i coulda put that biatch together for you in 20 minutes.
I KILL YOU!

OK...I'm gonna call em right now. Fug it, I'll put the damn thing together myself. Hey, you gotta learn sometime, eh?
GooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:18 PM   #20
rogue
Rub it on your flippers
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 7977
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Vehicle:
100% Abuse

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GooseMan


was that sarcastic?
Er, nope, was serious... if they stand behind that warranty it's a good deal.
rogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:18 PM   #21
bluesunlion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 11377
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: North Texas
Default

IB GOOSIE asks how to assemble said computer.

(kidding!)
bluesunlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:23 PM   #22
GooseMan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2462
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles/Montreal
Vehicle:
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2005 Triumph Sprint ST

Default

ARGHH!

I just called....the damn memory still isnt in.

its just 2x256 266hmz DDR RAM!!!! thats like, the most common RAM!!!


GooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:27 PM   #23
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GooseMan
ARGHH!

I just called....the damn memory still isnt in.

its just 2x256 266hmz DDR RAM!!!! thats like, the most common RAM!!!


i thought the most common ram was doggystyle...
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:29 PM   #24
GooseMan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2462
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles/Montreal
Vehicle:
2012 Volvo S60 T5
2005 Triumph Sprint ST

Default

ask your mother
GooseMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2003, 04:41 PM   #25
gongzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25040
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Montreal, Canuckistan
Vehicle:
Up with skirts,
down with pants!

Default

geez man, who recommended these loser computer guys to you?

also, i'm tired of hearing my mom's whining about your tiny wang.
gongzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how long does it take to ship airmail to Canadia mr_disco Off-Topic 8 08-11-2004 09:49 PM
How long did it take to build rome??? DrBuzzad Off-Topic 24 09-25-2003 03:16 PM
How long does it take to drive to TXS bert_WRX New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 13 03-14-2003 01:52 AM
How Long Does it take to get to NED from Northern CT? BrysImpreza New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 1 05-05-2002 08:37 AM
How long does it take to get to Mt Snow from Worcester? mirror70 New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 4 01-24-2002 08:57 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.