Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday September 3, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-23-2003, 04:12 PM   #1
anaakel
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37275
Join Date: May 2003
Location: estonia
Vehicle:
1997 legacy
grey

Default quick help needed with ecu replacement

can I replace my legacy 97 2,0 ecu with other ecu that has different number? or should the number be exactly the same?even if the cars year and engine is the same?both cars are without the immobilaizer.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
anaakel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 02:04 PM   #2
FTWNeon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 130047
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
1997 Legacy GT
Red

Default

Hate to resurrect this old of a thread but I've been searching and I've had no luck finding an answer.

Do I need the same number ecu or will a different one work? Will it matter if the computer came out a car with an auto and is going in a manual?

Ex, I think mine is a 5N, could I use a 4N computer?
FTWNeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2007, 10:25 PM   #3
Storm
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 5218
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: SAUL'S Motorsports
Vehicle:
96L Most Over-
Developed Beater

Default

In the few that I have swapped around, it hasn't been a problem. I don't know what the differences would be within a model with the same trans but auto/manual would likely have different timing and fueling curves to better suit the shifting of the transmission.

You won't blow anything up....if that's any concern.

Jay Storm
Storm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick Help Needed (CRUISE CONTROL/ECU/SWITCHES) pezcore General Community 4 04-24-2010 11:02 PM
Quick help needed! Should I replace 1 tire only? enXiks Tire & Wheel 6 03-03-2007 01:35 AM
Quick help needed! Should I replace 1 tire only? enXiks Newbies & FAQs 17 03-02-2007 09:45 AM
quick help needed with o2 sensor dire Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 10-08-2006 11:06 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.