Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 15, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2003, 12:47 PM   #1
onesillyracer2k2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19338
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
05 Legacy GT
GRP

Default ecutek possible problem?

Hey everyone,

Back in february, i had shiv tune my car with the ecutek for stage 1. It dynoed at 229hp and 238 lbs of torque and the air/fuel was tuned perfectly. This past saturday i dynoed my car without any mods since the last dyno, and it only put out 221hp and 228 lbs of torque and the car was so rich that the line graph basically was off of the dyno sheet. Now the weather conditions were much different,temps in the 60s and it was rainy but is it possible my car was tuned for the cold weather and will run like ass until it turns cold again? Should i send the ecu back to shiv to possibly reflash it again or am i just worrying too much?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
onesillyracer2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 12:21 PM   #2
ryjerk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16393
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Indianapolis
Vehicle:
2003 WRX / 03 EVO8
02 Aprilia RSVmille

Default

It sounds like your ECU is compensating for temp as normal. I would use the Live User 'adjustability' feature the adjust the trim levels (if you have that option/delta dash). Then you can get it reflashed with the up-dated values. It dosen't seem that your losing 'too' much power for me to think there is a problem.

Ryan
ryjerk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 12:40 PM   #3
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Colder weather will almost always offer better performance. Colder air is denser plain and simple.


The difference in power levels is so negligible that I wouldn't worry at all about anything. Infact you could attribute the changes to not only weather, but also dyno correction factors as well.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 02:03 PM   #4
NSR500
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19576
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Vehicle:
2002 Subaru WRX
Platinum Silver

Default

Did you reset your ECU during your latest Dyno session? Couldn't hurt to reset it and have it learn for your current weather conditions.
NSR500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2003, 02:07 PM   #5
lstepnio
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10972
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Tampabay, Florida
Vehicle:
2004 STi (fuxor3d!!)
2004 Forester X

Default

I notice a fairly major varience in performance between the Florida cooler/less humid mornings and the much warmer/humid afternoons.

I have trouble reaching ~15psi in the afternoons but when the temps drop I can easily hit ~16psi. This is al using the FBC with an AccessECU Stage II and supporting mods.
lstepnio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2003, 10:25 AM   #6
MastroWRX
Vendor
 
Member#: 12262
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Florida's source for Subaru
Default

The Ecutek job will compensate for external inputs such as temp, altitude, or more typical, a cheap tank of gas or whatever.

Was it the same dyno?

It's tough to compare numbers from different dynos as well.

We've rechecked early Ecutek jobs and they are very stable. It can't really "change".

Can't comment on Access, not sure how they do things.


Just some ideas....

Bill
MastroWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2003, 04:57 AM   #7
PaulRex
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 12454
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Vermont
Vehicle:
10 Toyota Taco
K8 SV650SF

Default

It was the same dyno, they actually had his old graph and you can see that he lost some power pretty much throughout the revband. It was alot warmer and it was raining on/off all day though.
PaulRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
05 ecutek ecu problem thisisthenewsic Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 2 08-19-2008 03:16 PM
EcuTEK reflash problems Jim Payne Commercial ECU Reflashes 1 09-16-2006 01:24 PM
ecutek boost problem dgp2003wrx Engine Management & Tuning 6 01-10-2005 02:24 PM
ecutek boost problem dgp2003wrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 01-08-2005 02:54 AM
vf34/Vishnu Ecutek Reflash Problem Tuned Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 9 06-19-2004 02:48 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.