Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday June 25, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2003, 01:04 AM   #1
JewPac42
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23260
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: -=3/1 Jew Crew=-
Vehicle:
Patr ick Willis
for Rookie of the year

Default RS-T question

Im thinking about buying a stock WRX turbo and installing it on my RS. The one question I have is will i need a new ECU?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
JewPac42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-02-2003, 01:49 AM   #2
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

it all depends on how much boost you are planning to run, but if you want to do it the right way, i would get a new ecu.

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 09:41 PM   #3
JewPac42
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23260
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: -=3/1 Jew Crew=-
Vehicle:
Patr ick Willis
for Rookie of the year

Default

I dont think i could run much more then 6-7 without endangering my engine. Would a link suffice?
JewPac42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 09:44 PM   #4
Hondaslayer
Interpretively Paraphrasing
Moderator
 
Member#: 4562
Join Date: Feb 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Auburn, WA
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy LSi
1998 Declasse Moonbeam

Default

I'll let ya know in a week,

My car is running good with just a voltage clamp and a RRFPR,but I decided to go Link+ and 440's to get it better
Hondaslayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 10:15 PM   #5
OKRS25
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36533
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Location: Oklahoma, Ex Alaskan RS-T'er
Vehicle:
2005 STi
WRB

Default

I am doing the same thing and running and am going to run an e-manage, I know of at least one other who is doing this and am sure there are more... Should provide enough management to hit some high boost levels. I think our goal has gone from 8 psi to 12 to 15 psi and I think it is attainable...
OKRS25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2003, 11:31 PM   #6
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

jewpac- a link plus will do just fine,its actually the norm for most RS-T's, plus there are a lot of guys here that have them and are basically experts so they can help you tune.

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 01:10 AM   #7
JewPac42
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23260
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: -=3/1 Jew Crew=-
Vehicle:
Patr ick Willis
for Rookie of the year

Default

Excellent, thanks for the help guys. Now I just gotta find someone to put it in and help me tune.
JewPac42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2003, 03:11 AM   #8
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

you can get a plug and play harness so all you do is literally unplug the 3 factory harness plugs and plug in the 3 harnesses on the Link Plus, makes install much easier, and depending on what you are gonna run and what your set up is i bet one of the guys on here has a map that you could use that would start you off great as a base map, maybe even the same setup so that you dont have to tune much to get optimum performance, plus you dont have to deal with figuring out how to get your idle for the most part it would just be tweaking their map a little.

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyone have an rs w/upgraded cams i can get a ride in sometime? and rs-t question... legacy2003 New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 0 04-26-2005 02:54 PM
EJ22T swap into RS, tranny question? ImprezedRS Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 14 06-05-2002 09:16 AM
Looking to buy a used Impreza RS - have questions VIPR1AB General Forum Archive 6 01-12-2001 10:56 AM
Want to buy Cobb Tuning Edition RS, have questions... Subecowboy General Forum Archive 26 12-21-2000 10:45 PM
Minnam 2.5 RS Turbo Question! VA_ACCORD Technical Forum Archive 9 08-05-2000 01:39 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.