Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday October 25, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-19-2003, 01:51 AM   #1
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default Oil pressure gauge install questions

Hey guys, already searched and found some good info but wanted to finalize my thoughts and ideas with you guys and see what you know and what other helpful info you can provide.

i have the VDO electrical oil pressure gauge, i have the sender and the plug adapter so i can screw the sender right in.

my question is where did you guys put your senders? i found the oil pressure switch, which i am assuming i use, but others have talked about and used the oil filter as the place they mounted the sender.

so what did you guys do? also if i do use the oil pressure switch location can i just use the wire thats already on there for my signal to the sender, like just tap into it?

oh yea, and is this right, i just need to have a power and ground for the illumination of the gauge, then just a single wire from the sender the back of the gauge to get the reading?

thanks for the help

Ben
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 11:03 AM   #2
Avenger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1234
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2000

Default

You can buy a T adapter and put it where your oil pressure sender is, this is where I t'ed my mechanical oil pressure gauge. Also on the passenger side right next to the throttle body you'll see a plug which requires you to remove with an allen key that is also an oil passage, you can put it in there, but I'm not sure what is the size of that port.
Avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 11:21 AM   #3
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

thanks for the tip, ill check that, is that spot used for any oil lines for the turbo though, i am installing this pre turbo and should have the turbo next week so i dont want take the oil feed line spot or anything. thanks again.

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 12:06 PM   #4
Shinji N
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3987
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Vehicle:
1999 Miata
Black

Default

Yeah, that spot in the back by the pcv breather hose is used for the turbo oil feed. Is the VDO bspt? It should be easy enough to find a male/female/female T so you can put it in the stock oil pressure location underneath the alternator.
Shinji N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 06:18 PM   #5
N/A
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 133
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Maryland (not by choice)
Vehicle:
2003 Echo-daily car
silver

Default

Yep I used the spot between the PS pump and the alternator. If you can pick up a 45 degree elbow so that when you install it that it will lean towards the PS pump so it doesn't get in the way of the alternator or keep you from loosening the alternator enough to change the belt.
N/A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2003, 08:02 PM   #6
Tats
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5692
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lovely Florida, NY
Vehicle:
WTF? YES! I am
better than you!

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PHATsuby
thanks for the tip, ill check that, is that spot used for any oil lines for the turbo though, i am installing this pre turbo and should have the turbo next week so i dont want take the oil feed line spot or anything. thanks again.

Ben
My AVO kit gets it's oil from by the alternator so My gauge is hooked to the back gallery.

Tats.
Tats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 12:53 AM   #7
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

The back galley is the most convienent and worry-free. If you can get those adapters from Subaru (which I believe you can now), then you're set. They're used for the normal oil pressure senders and are 1/8" NPT to whatever the block is (stupid foreign threads!).
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 01:51 AM   #8
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

i could use the back galley but isnt that the oil feed line for the ludespeed kits? i am getting a ludespeed so i would like to leave that untouched if that is the case until i install the oil line, i have a galley plug that came with the gauge, however if i use the currect pressure switch location isnt that galley plug already there and being used for the factory idiot light? if so i could just use this again right? assuming it is the same thread as the other galley plug i got(which is in a subaru parts bag, so i think it is) thanks for the help guys.

can anyone answer the other question i had, is it just a single wire from the sender the back of the gauge then for the reading? thanks for all the help so far

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 08:40 AM   #9
Tats
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5692
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Lovely Florida, NY
Vehicle:
WTF? YES! I am
better than you!

Default

You should have...

1 wire for power
1 wire for ground
1 wire for the signal to the sender.

And possibly

1 wire for the gauge light power
1 wire for the gauge light ground.

Tats.
Tats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2003, 10:54 AM   #10
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

cool, thanks tats, what did you guys use for your switched 12v source? mine is in my dash so i could just use the cigarette lighter right? thanks again.

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 01:02 PM   #11
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

another problem, i swear nothing goes right. so apparently the sender sits too high and the alternator doesnt clear it so it wont come down all the way. it seems like even if i angle the sender it still wont clear OR i wont be able to screw it in cause there isnt enough, please help!

thanks

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 08:06 AM   #12
N/A
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 133
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Maryland (not by choice)
Vehicle:
2003 Echo-daily car
silver

Default

I believe I already covered that. TaiChih and I went to Home Depot and got a 45 degree adaptor so that it angles towards the PS pump and doesn't get in the way of the alternator. You could also use a small line to relocate the sender. I'll go get a pic of the way mine is setup for you. I'll post it up later today.
N/A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 01:33 PM   #13
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

thanks for the help, i got it in, had to use 2 90 degree elbows and one of those 45's, prob a better way to do it but it is working now. i am getting higher pressure readings than what most people have posted, maybe its cause i have a legacy but everything seems fine, hope i dont have any leaks, i kinda just screwed it with gasket sealer and hope that it holds, if not i have that adapter on order and an extra gallery plug so i can change it if i need to.

thanks again guys!

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
oil pressure gauge install question bulldog2277 Newbies & FAQs 2 06-10-2008 12:08 PM
Autometer Oil Pressure Gauge Install Questions maxpower_454 Electrical & Lighting 4 11-28-2005 03:02 PM
Autometer oil pressure gauge install question sethb Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 02-08-2005 07:59 PM
Question about Oil Pressure Gauge Install R.C.Y.K. Electrical & Lighting 5 02-17-2004 12:39 PM
('93-'01) HEELPPP!!! Oil Pressure gauge install.... T-WReX 2.5RS Impreza Forum 2 05-07-2001 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.