Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2003, 08:00 PM   #1
99WRXEJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34545
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Worthington, Ohio
Vehicle:
1999 GC8
74f

Default jdm swaps done, but need to reset ecu! help

the 96 wrx swap is done but the ecu needs reset, any ideas.
thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
99WRXEJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2003, 11:38 PM   #2
mcu81
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5796
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Moonshineville
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ & 2004
WRX

Default Re: jdm swaps done, but need to reset ecu! help

pull the negative on the batt for 1 hr?

Quote:
Originally posted by 99WRXEJ20
the 96 wrx swap is done but the ecu needs reset, any ideas.
thanks
mcu81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 09:23 AM   #3
99WRXEJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34545
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Worthington, Ohio
Vehicle:
1999 GC8
74f

Default

thats what i figuard to do but, when i talked to the head tech at the suby dealship he said i need to use the scan tool to reset it, cause the codes burn on to a chip, and my data connecter dosnt work since the swap so i cant use a scan tool.
99WRXEJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2003, 09:26 AM   #4
Puckaveli
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1518
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Stow, OH
Vehicle:
00 2.5RS
Silver

Default

Well if you have CEL it would be advisable to look and see what they are. Are you using the JDM ecu or your US one?
Puckaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2003, 08:22 PM   #5
99WRXEJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34545
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Worthington, Ohio
Vehicle:
1999 GC8
74f

Default

fixed it!

thanks though
99WRXEJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 02:12 PM   #6
2yLiTe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 660
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Windsor, Ontario CANADA
Default

can you share your fix?
2yLiTe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2003, 06:57 PM   #7
99WRXEJ20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34545
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Worthington, Ohio
Vehicle:
1999 GC8
74f

Default

i took the battery out overnight, while changing spark plugs, and in the morning when i hooked it back up the ecu reset.

I dont know, all i care about is that it reset.

sorry for the lack of info but i have none to give.
99WRXEJ20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
swap done.. but i have a problem..help! xtian Subaru Conversions 43 02-23-2006 06:56 PM
just installed uppipe+turboback. do i need to reset ecu?? garie Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 12 12-21-2002 07:13 AM
Need to reset ECU w/K&N? tekriter Normally Aspirated Powertrain 6 04-06-2002 09:51 PM
Cool just got HPMBC- Dont need to reset ECU right David@Vishnu Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 1 01-22-2002 09:26 PM
do i need to reset ecu? kid22 Technical Forum Archive 3 05-19-2000 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.