Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 29, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-03-2003, 07:17 PM   #1
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5354
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Santo Domingo. R.D
Vehicle:
2000
Silverthorn Metallic

Default Ideal Vacum Lines

HI, i am ready to begin installing everything, i am not really sure yet, of where should I tap for my vacum lines for everything I need to install. And is there any benefit for hooking them up on a certain way?

These are the thing i need to get boost readings for:

J&S Safeguard
Boost Gauge
Turbo Timer
FMU
Boost Controller(EBC)
BOV
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-03-2003, 09:16 PM   #2
Avenger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1234
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2000

Default

There are two vacuum fittings on the passenger rear of the intake mainfold that you can use for vacuum source.
Avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 01:40 AM   #3
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5354
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Santo Domingo. R.D
Vehicle:
2000
Silverthorn Metallic

Default

Yes, Ive seen them, but they are both on cyllinder 3, I dont like the idea of hooking everything to an intake runner. Maybe having so many Tees there might not give me the best readings.

Are there any other places where I can tap to get boost readings?
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 02:26 AM   #4
Avenger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1234
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2000

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Santo Domingo 2.5 RS
Yes, Ive seen them, but they are both on cyllinder 3, I dont like the idea of hooking everything to an intake runner. Maybe having so many Tees there might not give me the best readings.

Are there any other places where I can tap to get boost readings?
The only other place I can think of is where the map sensor sits. But then you'll have to take it off put a pipe in there and tee the map into a vacuum line.
Avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 03:47 AM   #5
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
16 WRX (white)
04 FXT (red)

Default

The most preferable location is in the center plenum of the manifold, obviously. I don't think I have anything on my #3 runner because of all the errors in the readings... my Haltech used to vary between 3.2-5.1psi when I was only boosting 4.5 solid because of the valves opening and closing. FPR's also vary pretty quickly on there as well.

I actually have an external MAP sensor and intake air temp. sensor, so I made a plate to replace my MAP sensor that has several other vacuum line inputs, and I have a double T on the other port near the TB.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 10:11 AM   #6
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5354
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Santo Domingo. R.D
Vehicle:
2000
Silverthorn Metallic

Default

so if I dont make a plate for the map sensor. The only place is the intake runner? Arent there any other places where i can just cut the lines and tee on them?
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 09:00 PM   #7
Avenger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1234
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2000

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Santo Domingo 2.5 RS
so if I dont make a plate for the map sensor. The only place is the intake runner? Arent there any other places where i can just cut the lines and tee on them?
There are no other places. Unless you drill the mainfold.
Avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2003, 09:38 PM   #8
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5354
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Santo Domingo. R.D
Vehicle:
2000
Silverthorn Metallic

Default

Can you all please post where have you tapped the lines for each different thing (Fmu, Bov,etc..)????

I think You might need better readings for some things, and for some other you might not. What have you guys done?
Santo Domingo 2.5 RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2003, 03:17 AM   #9
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
16 WRX (white)
04 FXT (red)

Default

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...ghlight=vacuum

I changed mine since I posted this, obviously.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2003, 10:26 AM   #10
Joncas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5349
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Central New York
Default

8 - what were all those 1 way check valves for? (atleast they looked like little check valves - filters?)
Joncas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2003, 12:57 PM   #11
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
16 WRX (white)
04 FXT (red)

Default

Joncas - Where are you looking? I don't think I have a single check valve in my system in my car...
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2003, 04:28 PM   #12
Joncas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5349
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Central New York
Default

My bad.... in your linked post is a picture of Revision's car.
Joncas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock boost controler vacume line routing SupraTT&WRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 03-08-2004 11:20 AM
Vacum Line, More Boost? MarcsRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 05-05-2003 06:28 PM
('93-'01) 4x4 vacume lines Big-C Impreza Forum 0 10-23-2002 06:18 PM
Justy 4x4 vacume lines? Big-C Newbies & FAQs 0 10-22-2002 02:23 PM
Changed vacume lines, affected boost? Ethan Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 9 01-11-2002 01:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.