Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday October 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Service & Maintenance

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2003, 07:04 PM   #1
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default Wow, where have I been? Torque meter for any ratchet (add on)

This is pretty dang cool. Lets you use any of your tools as a torque wrench! Plus its a remote display (52 inch cable).

http://www.sears.com/sr/product/summ...id=00944598000

* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 02:25 AM   #2
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

That's really cool, but OUCH! way too pricey.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 07:31 AM   #3
TimStevens
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4817
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Albanyish, NY
Vehicle:
2012 STI, '02 WRX
'91 MR2, '05 Speed Triple

Default

Wow... that's hella cool... and hella expensive!
TimStevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 11:08 AM   #4
LordBass
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3266
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Dover, NH
Vehicle:
2006 Jetta 2.0T 6MT
2009 Jamis Aurora Elite

Default

Expensive for our ghetto asses, indeed.. But not that bad if it's quality, and accurate.

lb
www.trancelab.com
LordBass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 11:40 AM   #5
Austin
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7089
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Western Wa
Default

I must've been living in the dark, too... I've never seen one of those. Now I must go buy one.
Austin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 05:11 PM   #6
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

If you guys think about it, that's not that expensive. Can't find the accuracy range but if it can read 0-250ft lbs and is still accurate up to 0.1 ft lbs, it's basically 3 torque wrenches worth of accuracy. Just have to get a couple accessories like a 1/2 to 3/8 adapter.


Quote:
Rotary torque sensor is non-contacting, having no brushes to wear out
Also sounds like it will never need re-calibration, in the long run this sounds like a winner.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 06:21 PM   #7
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

Its not expensive!

First, you most likely already have a large set of tools.
Second, if you look at a quality torque wrench its going to cost you 75-125 dollars anyways. This unit can measure the ENTIRE RANGE you would ever need, the overwhelming majority of wrenchs are not accurate at all at the lowest 10% and the highest 10% they are rated at.


I already own a breaker bar and large ratchet. If I didnt already own two Torque wrench I would have ordered it already. I still probably will.

The remote display alone makes this 100x better than any torque wrench. No stupid needle (that can interfear with objects around it) and no damn clicking.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 06:32 PM   #8
heffergm
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34672
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northern VA
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
WR Blue Pearl

Default

Eh. That's about all I can say.
I'll stick with my SK torque wrench. It'll last forever (mechanical), it can crack skulls in a pinch, and it's nice and accurate
heffergm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 07:34 PM   #9
ShotgunTC88
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30970
Join Date: Dec 2002
Default

$129 High priced?

Sheeeet, Check out the ol, "Snap on Truck" someday and see how much ol, Shotgun got greased for ONE dam tourqe wrench!!

Im gettin one of those today!


(Even if its just to impress the nieghbers.<GGGGGG>)

.02

Shotgun
ShotgunTC88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 07:57 PM   #10
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

heffergm: Last forrever because its mechanical? You've never broken a tool? Not a good reason against it. Ive broken ratchet/breaker/torque wrench and attachments many times.

Your mechanical unit will become less accurate as it ages. You also cannot compensate for inacuracy over a small range like an electronic unit.
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 02:48 PM   #11
rhdude
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6637
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Manassas
Vehicle:
2009 Acura MDX Sport

Default

I'd buy one if it were'nt so expensive...
rhdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 04:24 PM   #12
ws6fiero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33067
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MI
Vehicle:
1998 Legacy Wagon
Spruce Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tdxflex
Can't find the accuracy range but if it can read 0-250ft lbs and is still accurate up to 0.1 ft lbs,
Actually it says +/- 3% . So, say, 100 ft/lbs would be +/- 3 ft/lbs. Doesn't sount too bad, though. I don't know what normal torque wrenches give for accuracy.

I guess none of you guys are craftsman club members? This meter has been around for a while... it was in one of the craftsman club mailers at least a few months ago. There's really no reason not to sign up, actually. It's free and you get "special" deals.
ws6fiero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2003, 04:39 PM   #13
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ws6fiero


Actually it says +/- 3% . So, say, 100 ft/lbs would be +/- 3 ft/lbs. Doesn't sount too bad, though. I don't know what normal torque wrenches give for accuracy.

I guess none of you guys are craftsman club members? This meter has been around for a while... it was in one of the craftsman club mailers at least a few months ago. There's really no reason not to sign up, actually. It's free and you get "special" deals.
Quick browsing on the snap-on website, the tolerances for almost all of the wrenches is guaranteed <4%. Looking at some of the craftsman ones on the sears site, tolerances are also 4%, some of them 3%, basically everythings about the same tolerance. The big pro of the electrical sensing one is that there are no gears to it so it won't need re-calibration. If I didn't have torque wrenches already I would most likely buy this.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 11:29 PM   #14
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Well I was able to get one of these and first impression, it's hard to get used to. I've only used it for a few minutes so far since I don't really have anything I need to torque down but it refreshes so fast that you have to just listen and trust the audible beeps for when you reach your target torque setting. But as you get closer to your target it already starts beeping, and beeps faster as you get closer to it. I'm sure if I use it more often I'll get used to it, it has a few different modes, but right now I think I like my torque wrenches better.

Also, in the manual it says the range of the sensor is up to 150 ft-lbs, 3% accuracy from 50-150 ft-lbs, 1.5 ft-lb accuracy from 0-50 ft-lbs. And magnets and strong magnetic fields can cause damage to the sensor. The remote display has a big rubber casing to it like their multimeters, but the sensor has none.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Agent Orange! Wow where have I been? Other recs? zoomfactor Off-Topic 5 02-08-2005 01:37 PM
Where have you been... Mopho Off-Topic 15 01-02-2005 01:45 PM
Where Have You Been? WagonMonster Off-Topic 59 11-17-2004 11:35 PM
Alice In Chains... Where have you been all my life? WRXGuyInUSA Off-Topic 65 07-09-2004 06:51 PM
Hmm, where have I been? Is anything going on this weekend? delectron Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 0 08-20-2000 12:46 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.