Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2003, 11:41 AM   #1
SteveKerr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13581
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2002 Imprezza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default AOL IM Question

Everytime I try to log onto AIM, I get a warning saying THE AIM SERVICE CANNOT BE REACHED.. I am trying this from work, however I can access AOL IM on their website as the AIM EXPRESS thing, but sometimes on that I cannot log in and sometime it works. Does anyone know if theres a way to fix this? I am probably behind a firewall, but is there a way to get my AIM working instead of using AIM Express? Thanks for the help!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SteveKerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:42 AM   #2
Jonn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22275
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Default

your work has blocked the AIM port.
Jonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:43 AM   #3
moktod
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34768
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: i am everywhere
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
White

Default

you need a proxy server. talk to the network guys.

-moktod
moktod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:45 AM   #4
Soon2bSubbieowner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21812
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Vehicle:
2011 Mazda2

Default

this started happening to me too yesterday at work. It has never been blocked before.
Soon2bSubbieowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:46 AM   #5
moktod
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34768
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: i am everywhere
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
White

Default

if no network changes have taken place and you are using windows, give it the old "Windows one fingre salute" and reboot

windows blows.

-moktod
moktod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:47 AM   #6
SteveKerr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13581
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2002 Imprezza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

yeah same, I see other people using it at work, bah! and my aol.com always goes down like for a long time here and then it goes up at random times.. so weird
SteveKerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:47 AM   #7
AWDPilot
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25058
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
'15 DGM WRX Premium
9 and counting

Default

Change it to log in using port 80
AWDPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:56 AM   #8
SteveKerr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13581
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2002 Imprezza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default still

Still didn't work, it had port #5190, adn then I just canged that to 80 and it didn't work!
SteveKerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 11:58 AM   #9
Soon2bSubbieowner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21812
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Vehicle:
2011 Mazda2

Default Re: still

Quote:
Originally posted by SteveKerr
Still didn't work, it had port #5190, adn then I just canged that to 80 and it didn't work!
Same here, and I restarted. Where do you work?
Soon2bSubbieowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 12:00 PM   #10
SteveKerr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13581
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2002 Imprezza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

a small computer company in long island..
SteveKerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 12:28 PM   #11
DrBiggly
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 11482
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Acute Stickeritis

Default

Go to:

http://www.aim.com

Use AIM express in the meantime. See if that works.
DrBiggly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 12:37 PM   #12
SteveKerr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13581
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2002 Imprezza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

the older version of quick buddy sometimes works for me on that site, but right now it says its all down boo
SteveKerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 12:40 PM   #13
RATyson
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34390
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: South East
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

It's probably the AOL virus.
RATyson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 01:06 PM   #14
Soon2bSubbieowner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21812
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Vehicle:
2011 Mazda2

Default

When i go to aim.com and then click on aim express, then hit start it says page not found
Soon2bSubbieowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 01:49 PM   #15
AC Lerok
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7918
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Haterz no like.
Vehicle:
2007 FSXT
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

set AIM's proxy info to be the same as whatever you've got in your IE proxy info box.
AC Lerok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 01:56 PM   #16
JLMarx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 11853
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
World Rally Blue

Default

No, no, it's much easier than setting proxy info or any of that. (Well, it was for me, and I am behind a defense contractor firewall.)

Go to Preferences -> Sign On/Off -> Connection, then press the "Auto Configure" button. Takes a minute or 2, but it works perfectly for me everytime.
JLMarx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 02:00 PM   #17
highspeed11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30937
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Livermore, Ca
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
GRP

Default

Shouldn't ya'll be working and not chatting?
highspeed11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 02:29 PM   #18
Chewy-WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19426
Join Date: May 2002
Location: ATL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Black
I luv the Ice Gnomes....

Default

Thanks OT, I've been having that problem for a year. AutoConfigure Kicks A$$
Chewy-WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 02:34 PM   #19
Robin WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39230
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Default

This is what I had to do to get AIM to work at my office:

1) Go to: My Aim > Edit Options > Edit Preferences

2) Select: 'Sign On/Sign off' from the Category list on the left side

3) click the 'Connection' button

4) click the 'Auto Configure' button

5) box pops up click 'ok' then wait for it to locate port

6) click 'ok' on all the boxes to get out

Hope this helps!

~Robin
Robin WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:00 PM   #20
SteveKerr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13581
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2002 Imprezza WRX
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

mine worked and then shut down and I can't get it to work again, oh well
SteveKerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:09 PM   #21
North Ursalia
Miss You Mom
Oct 1940 - Feb 2008

Super Moderator
 
Member#: 809
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: NH, Land Of Many Trees
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS, '14 For
92 5MT SVX

Default

If your Network Admin is worth his salt and he didn't want folks using AIM, he or she would block the authentication server, not the port. Blocking ports is for amateurs . I'm not going to tell you where to find them, but in any event no matter which method is being used, there are free open proxy servers all over the Intarweb you can use to get around whatever LAN staff does to you .


Brian
North Ursalia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:28 PM   #22
AWDPilot
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25058
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Shrewsbury, MA
Vehicle:
'15 DGM WRX Premium
9 and counting

Default

*cough* or you could just use a jabber server
AWDPilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 03:33 PM   #23
AC Lerok
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7918
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Haterz no like.
Vehicle:
2007 FSXT
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

i can't believe that any workplace would disable IM . . . it's an invaluable tool for me at my job, i'm IMing other developers on the team and taking user support IMs all day.
AC Lerok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 04:01 PM   #24
JLMarx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 11853
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Arlington, VA
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
World Rally Blue

Default

SteveKerr, if the program loses its connection to the service, just run the Auto Configure again and it should connect right up again.

AC Lerok, the is a VERY good reason to prevent people from using AIM at my job. Unlike phone conversations and email, there is no way for security to monitor my AIM conversation (unless they are actively watching my desktop, which I know they can do remotely). So, I could pass sensitive information and leave no record of it.

(Disclaimer, because I don't want to lose my job: I have never passed any sensitive or even work-related info across AIM. In fact, I use it very rarely anyway.)
JLMarx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2003, 04:05 PM   #25
AC Lerok
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7918
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Haterz no like.
Vehicle:
2007 FSXT
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JLMarx
AC Lerok, the is a VERY good reason to prevent people from using AIM at my job. Unlike phone conversations and email, there is no way for security to monitor my AIM conversation (unless they are actively watching my desktop, which I know they can do remotely). So, I could pass sensitive information and leave no record of it.

(Disclaimer, because I don't want to lose my job: I have never passed any sensitive or even work-related info across AIM. In fact, I use it very rarely anyway.)
alrightythen, secret squirrel.
AC Lerok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need AOL IM to IM people or can I use my AOL account? Eric SS Off-Topic 6 07-06-2004 03:18 AM
I need some help (Windows/AOL IM related) andywrx Off-Topic 3 08-23-2003 12:37 PM
All of you with AOL IM, here's an icon for ya. Cthulhu General Forum Archive 8 01-28-2001 10:49 AM
All of you with AOL IM.... Icon for ya.... Cthulhu Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 1 01-28-2001 02:52 AM
AOL IM I-club Downloads Now Available! Paisan General Forum Archive 75 07-26-2000 12:12 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.