Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday November 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2003, 02:16 PM   #526
zacek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19467
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Chatsworth, CA.
Vehicle:
02 WRX
WR Blue

Default

FYI: i usually get 15-20 more miles per tank when I fill up with SHell.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
zacek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 11:27 PM   #527
qbbraveheart
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 49043
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Mt. Pocono, PA/Queens, NY
Default

hey all...new here

im getting an STi real soon

just wanted to know if my STi will have a chance of having this problem???
just wanted to make sure...theyre going to try and give me one from the lot thats been sitting for god knows how long but i want a new one fresh off the truck
qbbraveheart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2003, 12:57 PM   #528
Syck_Driven_STi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 46274
Join Date: Oct 2003
Vehicle:
2004 German
Blue Pearl

Default

wolvie, there is so little cheapo gas in the shared nozzel pumps it wont effect your engine.

as for gas quality. We have 93 here on regular stations. 94 octane Texaco,Exxon in 20 min drive-use this on sundays

We have:Exxon-Excellent 93; Amoco-Excellent 93; Texaco- good; Hess-Good; Shell-OK; Citgo-OK; Mobile-OK; Chevron-OK....

however, the funny thing is- some locations have better gas. I can "FEEL" my car responding better to my input. from throttle pulses to WOT. 93 octane does help compared to 91. I cant stand anything less. I had 95 Once. me and my engine liked it.
Syck_Driven_STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 12:28 AM   #529
Crash O Matic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52242
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Birmingham AL
Vehicle:
2015 STi
Blue

Question

Hi,
I have a STi and also a Dodge R/T truck. It had the same ping problem. Dodge released a fix (a flash). We soon learned it pulled back timing and everyone complained about loss of power. It is known as the dreaded "death flash" for 360 engines. We found a colder set of plugs,good plug wires, cap and rotor, and a free flow air box and GOOD gas cured the problem...wonder if same applies here?
Sold a Vette for the STi. never been happier
Cheers
Crash O Matic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2004, 02:51 PM   #530
Porter
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 486
Join Date: Nov 1999
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Roanoke, VA
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT
bug spattered

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Crash O Matic
Hi,
I have a STi and also a Dodge R/T truck. It had the same ping problem. Dodge released a fix (a flash). We soon learned it pulled back timing and everyone complained about loss of power. It is known as the dreaded "death flash" for 360 engines. We found a colder set of plugs,good plug wires, cap and rotor, and a free flow air box and GOOD gas cured the problem...wonder if same applies here?
Sold a Vette for the STi. never been happier
Cheers
The problems are unrelated, the STi ping was a software problem and had nothing to do with the plugs or physical ignition system.

I keep seeing people asking whether the current selling STis are having this problem.... the answer is NO. Please read the whole thread from the beginning and you'll find data on the changeover date.

Thanks!
Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2004, 09:32 AM   #531
turboICE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33979
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: N.NJ
Vehicle:
2006 STi,'11 OBS
WRB & Black/Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Porter
I keep seeing people asking whether the current selling STis are having this problem.... the answer is NO. Please read the whole thread from the beginning and you'll find data on the changeover date.

Thanks!
And I keep seeing people who want simple information that should be easier to find then searching through a 22 page thread sent here.

If the answer can be answered then it would be nice to have it updated at the beginning of the thread or seperately posted and displayed quickly.

I will readily admit not reading all 22 pages, but have not yet seen a build date cutoff or what information should be looked for on the ECU sticker to know if it is the old code or the new code. The recent sales don't matter for those who have bought cars that were on the lot for a long time - build date or ECU sticker information in a readily available place would be easier to point to than 22 pages of information that discuss the history of the problem but not the answer being sought now.
turboICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2004, 12:35 AM   #532
1sty
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52516
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Porter


I keep seeing people asking whether the current selling STis are having this problem.... the answer is NO. Please read the whole thread from the beginning and you'll find data on the changeover date.
Can you be a little more specific then that?
Its not like this a 3 page thread. There are 22 pages of this and not everyone has 4 hours to rummage through it. Evne a rough idea of what page that change over date was listed would be a great help.
1sty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2004, 04:26 AM   #533
STiNmyI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38571
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: So. Cal
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
Java Black

Default Recent Reflash My 2 cents

I got the reflash recently, and as many others have experienced, while the car does not ping and seems to accelerate smoother, it has lost some of its low end torque according to my a$$ dyno. Before the reflash the low-end torque made lag non-existent, but now the car reminds me of my old WRX requiring me to stay in a lower gear to keep the power up.

Today I had a weird experience where my STi died while driving on the freeway; it felt like it konked out as if one were starting from a stop in third and killed it; but I was in 6th gear and had to slow to merge, when I let off the gas, konk, dead car. I pulled to the shoulder and re-started the car again and I have not had the problem again (this was earilier today). This never happened before the reflash, so i have to pose the question if this has happened to any of you?

All-in-all, the re-flash made the car a better daily driver, but if it wasn't for the hopefully soon to be released 2004 ECU upgrades, I would be pissed because the car doesn't pack the same punch that it did before the reflash.
STiNmyI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2004, 09:18 PM   #534
stingr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 42339
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: North Idaho
Vehicle:
2004 WRX-STI
Java Black

Default

Yeah I agree-- let's just say I have four hours of time to look through all that garbage and I found no change over date listed for the re-flash in fact let me summ up what everyone has said----BLAH-BLAH-BLAH-BLAH I use this gas BLAH-What if I lose power BLAH-BLAH-BLAH no real information in 22 pages of BLAH--Where's Porter with a new real update??
stingr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2004, 09:24 PM   #535
BOFslime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23845
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando, FL
Vehicle:
2015 FLAT SIX
White

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stingr
Yeah I agree-- let's just say I have four hours of time to look through all that garbage and I found no change over date listed for the re-flash in fact let me summ up what everyone has said----BLAH-BLAH-BLAH-BLAH I use this gas BLAH-What if I lose power BLAH-BLAH-BLAH no real information in 22 pages of BLAH--Where's Porter with a new real update??
I agree.. i read though a lot of it.. it pretty much turned into page after page of the same thing hashed over and over. lot of speculating, lot of complaining, no real information.

EDIT: after reviewing some more, good information seems to start at page 8 (my nasioc is set for 50 posts/page)

of interest, porter posted this:
Quote:

If there are any STis in the Atlanta area who want the reflash, give me a call at work and we'll set up to do a full set of dyno runs on our 4-wheel Dynapack before and after, and we can even swap in a stock ECM for rechecking. The whole thing will be done in a climate controlled environment, and I'll make sure the numbers are accurate by requiring three-run repeatability at each stage.
I'm wondering if any results came of this.

Last edited by BOFslime; 01-20-2004 at 09:44 PM.
BOFslime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2004, 08:38 AM   #536
turboICE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33979
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: N.NJ
Vehicle:
2006 STi,'11 OBS
WRB & Black/Silver

Default

This should be confirmed, but my understanding from EcuTek is that if your ECU sticker ends with AJ242 it should have the new code. This does not mean if it ends with AJ241 that it doesn't though.

My ECU ID was not found when using DD ver. 1.37 EcuTek was able to tell from my ECU ID that even though my sticker says AJ241 that it has the AJ242 code. (and they sent me the beta 1.38 which includes my ECU ID)

To my previous point - you can not say that current sales are definitely OK. My car was bought in November with a single digit on the odometer - but the ECU is labeled AJ241. It must have got reflashed at some point based on EcuTek's feedback - but the dealer just stared at me blankly when I inquired if it had the new code.

AJ242 should be good to go. AJ241 you would need to have the ECU ID (its hexidecimal or something like that and can be retreived through DD somehow) checked by someone in the know.

This is based solely on my communications with EcuTek - which was the only place I was able to find useful responses.
turboICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 12:29 AM   #537
dashiet
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 45737
Join Date: Oct 2003
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
Black/Gold

Default

.

Last edited by dashiet; 02-06-2004 at 12:42 AM.
dashiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 07:00 PM   #538
drdray
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40759
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sac, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Silver/Silver

Default

Any one pings? I still ping and got re-flushed ECU.
drdray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2004, 10:13 PM   #539
1sty
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 52516
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hampshire
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drdray
Any one pings? I still ping and got re-flushed ECU.
I think a dyno trip would be well worth it in your case. If they have the wideband setup maybe they can see the issue.
1sty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2004, 08:10 PM   #540
lahnpenna
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 49649
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: boston area
Vehicle:
04 sti
black

Default

anyone know where i can find a dealer that has done this b4 in the boston mass area?
lahnpenna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 01:33 AM   #541
ANZAC_1915
Moderator
 
Member#: 456
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Vehicle:
2008 Forester XT
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Don't try this at home folks, but in the 7200 miles on the Alcan rally, and for almost half of those miles, my reflashed STi was given a diet of 89, 87 and sometimes stuff just labelled "gasoline", with maybe a bit of octane booster or gas drier thrown in and it only pinged once, lugging up a hill in 6th (I should have down shifted, 3 people in the car, 2 large bags on the back seat and trunk full of stuff).

Oh, and it felt pretty strong the whole time.

We averaged around 21MPG for the entire trip, even at -13F.

Glenn
ANZAC_1915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2004, 02:15 PM   #542
drdray
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40759
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sac, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Silver/Silver

Default

problem is that is it 70+F here and car pings now at even 65F. in december when weather cooled down to nice 60 and under, car wouldn't ping even if i tried really hard. now at 65+F it pings and the warmer it gets, the more pings. I change oil and keep an eye on coolant. Can runs fine, no heat issues, only thing I noticed is that it pings more weather warms up. CA weather is going to be 90+ pretty soon and I'm will hear all that ping again till next December. I been to dealership multiple times and finaly got a letter from SOA with case number and all, but all it says is that car should run on 93 and not 91. So, I'm guessing that when I come there with an engine problem they will say that I abused the car and didn't run proper gas. I guess it's just my luck.
drdray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 01:13 AM   #543
ANZAC_1915
Moderator
 
Member#: 456
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Vehicle:
2008 Forester XT
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Is your car reflashed? I had no pinging problems with my car in August temps.
ANZAC_1915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 02:48 AM   #544
wolverine
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 36571
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
Black & gold

Default

Quote:
I guess it's just my luck.
I guess it's mine too... I'm from sac as well. But, I've sort of learned how to deal with it. I have KnockLink installed, so it is pretty easy to tell when it starts acting up, like flashing the first yellow light... The key to not having it ping is to accelerate smoothly. What I mean is do not punch the gas WOT at 3k rpm; rather, I will be at like half WOT at 3k rpm, 3/4 WOT at 4k rpm and WOT at 5k rpm, shift at red-line, loose about 1k rpm and land at 6k rpm--no pinging if I drive like this. WOT at 3k rpm will ping 50% of the time for me.
wolverine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 04:01 AM   #545
Syck_Driven_STi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 46274
Join Date: Oct 2003
Vehicle:
2004 German
Blue Pearl

Default

unacceptable.
Syck_Driven_STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 01:59 PM   #546
drdray
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40759
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sac, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Silver/Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Glenn Wallace
Is your car reflashed? I had no pinging problems with my car in August temps.
Yes, car is reflashed.
drdray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 02:03 PM   #547
drdray
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40759
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sac, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Silver/Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by wolverine
I guess it's mine too... I'm from sac as well. But, I've sort of learned how to deal with it. I have KnockLink installed, so it is pretty easy to tell when it starts acting up, like flashing the first yellow light... The key to not having it ping is to accelerate smoothly. What I mean is do not punch the gas WOT at 3k rpm; rather, I will be at like half WOT at 3k rpm, 3/4 WOT at 4k rpm and WOT at 5k rpm, shift at red-line, loose about 1k rpm and land at 6k rpm--no pinging if I drive like this. WOT at 3k rpm will ping 50% of the time for me.
I don't drive that agressive all the time. Rarely I'd do that, but I'd shift at 6500 rpm. I think it's a bit risky to play with red line like that. If it keeps on pinging as it gets warmer, I'll call dealership and talk to the manager again. See what he says. SOA said to drive for 5k miles and ping should go away, well 5k is up. and ping still here. Soon as I get some time, I'll get a hold of SOA and dealership.
drdray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2004, 10:52 PM   #548
DjDharmaNY
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56255
Join Date: Feb 2004
Default

I see some people talking about qulaity of gas. My friend is a petroleum engineer and works for haliburton (the largest petroleum company). He has told me again and again that 93 is 93 no matter where you get it from. The only difference is that a non name brand may have had that gas sitting there for much more time and less care may have been placed at keeping quality standards (getting particles from the ground into the gas). As far as avoiding detonation, the guy with the srt is right. If you run colder plugs and keep the intercooler cold, you will less likely have detonation. Will it cure it? I dont know since im still in break in period and havent nailed it to know if I even have it or how bad it is. Turbo xs wrote a whole article on this and they suggest that even installing a turbo back exhaust would cure this problem so for those of you worried about performance, I do beleive that the reflash is avoidable as long as you know what your doing and how deep into det. you are.
DjDharmaNY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 03:16 PM   #549
wolverine
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 36571
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NorCal
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
Black & gold

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drdray
I don't drive that agressive all the time. Rarely I'd do that, but I'd shift at 6500 rpm. I think it's a bit risky to play with red line like that. If it keeps on pinging as it gets warmer, I'll call dealership and talk to the manager again. See what he says. SOA said to drive for 5k miles and ping should go away, well 5k is up. and ping still here. Soon as I get some time, I'll get a hold of SOA and dealership.
The 5k stuff is BS... Mine is at 9k and it would still ping like nuts if I go WOT at 3k rpm. Of course, I don't shift at red-line, unless I am racing... Shift point is set to 4.5k for normal driving. Keep us updated about what SOA handles your case... Thx.
wolverine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2004, 03:07 AM   #550
mw1029h
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51726
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: West Hollywood, CA
Vehicle:
04 STi "Cloaked"
Blk,"member of team blew"

Default

I spoke to my local subaru dealer GURU he said that this is normal on 91 and that it will not harm the engine in any way he also said that when it happens keep your foot on the gas after several trips in the detonation zone the ECU will make the adjustment however you may still have a little detonation you do have the option of getting the reflash but he said you will not be happy the car is noticeably slower. he suggests leaving it alone
mw1029h is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AccessPort v2.0 Update Released mike91401 South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC 10 02-08-2007 05:30 PM
04 STi ECU reflash confirmed (ping fix)??? stealitall Engine Management & Tuning 10 12-12-2006 06:04 PM
WTB 02-03 STi I/C splitter and STi Aspen white hood scoop.Also need 04 STi ecm Hondaslayer Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 8 07-30-2005 10:58 PM
Anyone local have an STi ecm lying around? Hondaslayer Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 3 04-01-2005 10:14 PM
Question for USDM STI ECM experts NMLegacy Subaru Conversions 3 11-16-2004 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.